We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“On the coast with a beautiful beach!”
OTHERS
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OTHERS
OTHERS OTHERS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jennujuet...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MOST DEFINITELY NOT BEACHFRONT”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying our stay was great! But.......
Upon our arrival there we're " a few issues" largest issue was.... Where was the beach??? I called to speak with a rep from the rental office about how to get to the beach. I was confronted by a nasty lady, telling me the beach was right there! I explained that it was most definetly NOT right there, that I coul d hear the beach, see it in through the neighbours yard a ways off, but had absolutely no access to the beach on my side. She proceeded to argue, and tell me that she would send someone to show me the beach and that I should be there as she wouldn't send someone again. I left my group of friends at the place we went for dinner, went back to the house waited.... Waited...... Waited some more..... Called her back and she said oh he's working, we'll send someone tomorrow. "Are you kidding me"!!! Needless to say it was now dark.... I was mad.. Plus had 3 small children disappointed to deal with ugh was a bad start! Next day a guy shows up takes a look around says "no access" lol hey no kidding!!! Later in the day two guys show up with giant machete and start chopping at the jungle. We left and took a taxi to another beach as there was NO ACCEESS TO "OUR BEACHFRONT" another day later and the two guys had litterly hacked a path though the jungle to the beach to accommodate us!

WOW! WHY WAS THIS NOT DONE BEFORE WE ARRIVED????

One last complaint: there was no comfortable place to relax other then in bed. There was a little group of us, and it would've been nice to have a sofa rather then a thin concrete couch, with a few cusions.

On to the positives.... The beach was lovely once we had access. I enjoyed coffee down there many times first thing in the morning. Watching the waves, and wildlife was a beautiful way to start the day. On multiple occasions we had large troops of Howler Monkeys come through the jungle canopy and that was a wonderful treat. Also the Tucans were plentiful along with crabs, possums, armadillos, numerous other creatures.

We also rented bikes, a great choice for the are. Gave us some freedom to get around. We went to a few other beaches and into town. Also we visited the sanctuary jaguar rescue, we highly recommend a visit here. You can also walk to the sanctuary it is roughly a 10 min walk.

We went into manzanilla and went to the national park along the coast. It is a hike along the beach and you've got to pay to get in. There was many beautiful spots to snorkel, and just take in the scenery, also a few look out points. This area can only be reached by car or bus.

All in all we did have a good time here. I would not recommend this house for someone seeking "actual beachfront".

I would however recommend this house to others seeking an escape to disconnect from the everyday, and those looking for a jungle retreat with beach access.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your comment, it helps me reminding the difference between ocean view and beach front. Especially on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, you will find few properties beach front WITH ocean view as the littoral is very protected, by law. So Casa Koda is a beachfront property as it is located within 200 meters from the beach, in a maritime zone protected area, with a luxurious tropical vegetation between the property and the sandy beach of Cocles. That said, we were very sorry that a tree had felt on the path and closed the access to the beach, once we had prepared the house for you. As a environment respectful company, we can not cut trees before they fall. At 8:30 am the following morning, employees were there cleaning it. This is exactly why we have teams of cleaning ladies, gardeners and maintenance guys.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkinyol...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Water does not arrive to both bathrooms at the same time”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There is not sea sight from the House.
Both bathrooms have not enough water to work at the same time.
Hot water doesnt work properly.
I stayed there with other five friends.
Fair space.
Main room and bathroom are quite superior to the other two.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
I would like to thank you to give me the opportunity to clarify what is the difference between beach front and ocean view. In Costa Rica, as you know, we do have a lush vegetation. That said, it means that the house is located at less than 100 meters from the beach but there are trees between the house and the beach (in which you will probably see a sloth). So, you do not see the sea from the terrace but you can relax enjoying the breeze and listening to the sound of the waves.
Regarding the water for both bathroom, most of the time it works perfectly but it's true that sometime the water provider does not provide enough pressure.
We will be fixing the hot water issue by adding an extra heater within few days. Again many thanks for letting us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephane...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“On the coast with a beautiful beach!”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in February 2014

I spent a week at Casa Koda. It is beautiful house nestled in the jungle on the coast. The beach is only a 1 minute walk from the house and the ocean is beautiful. Groceries and the town are just a quick car or bike ride away. We saw monkeys and toucans every day. The house is large and very well taken care of with an excellent patio to take in the view and enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. I will definitely visit again and looking forward to taking my son.

Stephane Armand
Toronto, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the beach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spent two weeks in this beautiful house located right on Playa Cocles! Very close to many great restaurants and grocery store as well as an easy 3km walk or bike into Puerto Viejo. The house was very well kept and clean and a pleasure to stay at. Heard howler monkeys in the morning too! I will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joawalker
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in February 2014

Gorgeous house nestled in between palm trees right on the beach. Every day, you fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up in the morning to the monkeys in the trees. The house has everything you might want and need and is very well situated. It's private but near the town and some of the best restaurants you can dream of. We had a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R
1 review
“Riding beach cruisers in paradise”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in January 2013

We spent 2 weeks at casa koda and it was truly amazing! Steps from the beach, a few minutes bike ride to a grocery store for all your basic needs. 20 min bike ride into puerto viejo. Excellent restaurants everywhere and unspoiled beaches.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villalex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;