We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite the quietest place under the sun but Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mont Albert, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite the quietest place under the sun but Lovely”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We enjoyed our all too short stay in Clun. The Hospitality of the staff and quaint environs was appreciated. we just coulnd not figure out how the shower worked. The live entertainment added something ad I would have no hesitation in returning the 12,000 miles.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for your kind words, I'm so sorry you had problems with the shower. Please let me know the problems that you had and I will check, to me they all seem to be working well, but I know how to work them. Might have to write some instructions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
84
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at the White Horse Inn. The pub itself has a great friendly atmosphere and traditional feel. The food was great, especially the mint ice cream from Churchstoke. Our room was huge with warped old glass windows, a cute crookedy door, a huge sofa, and good local information. Super cozy blankets. We had no problems whatsoever with noise.

The inn is pet-friendly and there was a bit of dog hair in the carpet but there's really no way you can get it all out. Considering there were pets allowed in the rooms it was impeccably clean!

We hope to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CNHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Lastyear we went to Shropshire for our honeymoon so this weekend I took my husband for a surprise birthday visit back to the ludlow beer festival but we stayed in a different area.I chose The White Horse Inn(a very good choice)which is very oldy time looking pub and,dog friendly, the accommodation rooms are lovely and modern,very clean with everything you would need for your stay.We had breakfast in the mornings.The food is delicious,and hot and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.We booked a table for the evening ,so much choice,,price wise it was very reasonable..it came hot and tasty,very enjoyable,,the locals are friendly and chatty which is so nice (the pubs in Much Wenlock the locals dont bother even to say hello) my husband would like to say thanks to big Steve who we met and chatted to,such a character,
What else can we say...its a lovely place to stay,eat and to meet the locals
A big thankyou to all the staff at the White Horse Inn,,Clun...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My first visit to Clun and my first stay in a proper inn - nice to be able to have good food and drink and then toddle off upstairs to bed. Being a real ale pub, there were great beers for my husband and choice of ciders for myself. Jack the proprietor was friendly and helpful, as well as all the other staff. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay and I must say that the vegetable lasagne and garlic bread were the best I've had in a long time. The restaurant was never busy so we could dine in peace, although we had to move places twice as two of the round tables were really wobbly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room which was pleasant enough, no frills but comfortable. The website said t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samatee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Well, I loved this Inn/Pub/Hotel! We stayed in Clun for 6days, lovely village! The Pub, Well, Great food, Their Own Ales (Clun Bitter), Friendly staff and even more 'friendly' locals! Whenever you go to this part of Shropshire, call in!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This pub must be one of the most friendly I have stayed in. As a group of 20 we ate here on two evenings and were served tasty food, promptly, efficiently and in a cheery olde worlde setting. We were welcomed and entertained by the friendly locals who seemed to come and go throughout the day until after 1am. The rooms above the bar were a little noisy until after midnight, but it was pleasant to hear people having such a good time. The red room was a little tired and the water pressure in the shower was low, but the other rooms seemed to have been refurbished.
An excellent breakfast was served by plenty of attentive, cheerful staff and overall this was a real value for money experience.
Not for those requiring peace, quiet and luxury but if you like a place with a "buzz", a warm welcome and good food, all at a budget price, give it a try.

Room Tip: Blue room at the back probably quieter. Purple room and red room had extra single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and will continue to visit primarily for the fun and friendly atmosphere provided by both staff and locals. It's essentially a great dog-friendly place to stop for walkers and visitors alike!

It's clean, safe and hospitable. Factor in that it's a real ale B&B and that the food is unbelievably priced for both its quality and quantity and its a must for anyone visiting the area whether you have a dog or not.

Tip: it's popular with the locals and whilst they're happy to vacate a table if your eating, book in advance for a spot in the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GingeLuvMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn, Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn, Rooms

Property: The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn, Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn, Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn, Rooms Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing