We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brillliant pub- home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brillliant pub- home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for three nights over New Year and loved it so much we've decided to return this New Year too. This is an amazingly friendly community pub that people just drop in, have a drink and talk and joke with each other- there are few of these proper pubs left. Good selection of great ales and ciders, together with great snacks.
Food was brilliant- fresh and local, cooked to perfection. Steak was the best I've had.
We had the Blue Room which is over the back of the pub. It was a very pleasant room with generous space and plenty of storage.
Overall, whatever you want from a pub, this is it. The warm welcome from everyone makes it feel as though you've grown up there. Everyone in the pub trade would do well to see what Jack and the team do here,
Thanks all, keep it up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
84
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

we booked in for three nights originally.But then decided to stay another night. Jack and Hannah and all the rest of the team made us very welcome it was as though they had known us for a long time. The locals! were very friendly and helpful. It has a great atmosphere. This is a gem of a place. If we was asked to find a fault about the white horse it would be impossible. we enjoyed our stay that much that we have booked to go back in may for 4 days

Room Tip: we stayed in the blue room its at the back so its very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at the Hurst Mill farm , which was excellent, and wondered down to this pub every evening for a home brewed pale ale and a pork pie - beautiful - their hot chocolate is also to die for ! I particularly like their menu because it stated the origin of all the produce which was locally sourced. Had a couple of lovely meals there - very tasty and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanneaReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

What a wonderful meal. My friend and I stopped for lunch, great pub, great food, warm welcome. Lovely village location. Nice atmosphere. We waited no time at all for a truley wonderful meal, a must for walkers and dogs are allowed, they also allow children but no where's perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumpet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here for a break last week, and quite frankly loved every minute of it. The area is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, the food fantastic and great value for money. Jack, Hannah, Matt and the team went out of their way to make us feel welcome, as did the locals! The pub has its own micro-brewery, so we sampled some ales, which were fab. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Remember this is a traditional Inn, a pub with rooms. It is noisy sometimes until 11pm, but we recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Arrived at the end of a 90 mile cycle ride from Cheshire . A warm welcome and secure lock up for
my bicycle . Nice to walk into a busy pub . Great beer and cider . Food plentiful and tasty . Try the sausages from the butchers next door , excellent. Nice comfy bedroom . Knowledgeable staff . Very impressed . Will be back .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Went for day trip and stopped here for lunch following TA reviews. Staff were great, nice choice on menu and the food was OK nothing outstanding nice enough. Had the suet pudding of the day which was OK but don't think it was home made

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I'm sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Thanks for your comments. We are as we state not a gastropub, but we do serve hearty warming food. I can assure you the Suet puddings were homemade and should you not believe me please pop in and see us make them. usulaay before 12.00am
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn, Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn, Rooms

Property: The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn, Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse Inn, Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn, Rooms Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing