We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pub B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Jack and his team, run a very welcoming pub in this delightful south Shropshire village. Excellent food served by very good staff with the bonus of beers from the pubs own micro-brewery. The room was modest as we expected, clean and more than adequate. Breakfast was first rate and again served by attentive staff.
we recommend this pub and we will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you so much, look forward to seeing you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
84
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

our group of 8, including 4 cyclists had great accommodation at the pub as well as a great dinner. Locally source food, Peas given by the ladle rather than counted out!

Great pub atmosphere as all the locals dropped by. Full of color.

great service throughout along with one of the best English breakfasts. The real deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for one night over the weekend. Excellent base for walking as Offa's Dyke and Shropshire Way as on the doorstep.
Lovely traditional proper pub with well cooked pub grub and great real ales from the brewery out back!! Made to feel very welcome by owners, staff and locals.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Thank you for your comments we are very lucky here with the great walks. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room was a bit tired and noisy.Food ok and the beer was good.Staff very friendly though and a special mention for the breakfast waitress who was very cheerful.Breakfast was good.Probably wouldn't bother staying here again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Sorry that you found us noisy, we do advertise on the website that we are a lively pub, as we like people to come and enjoy their stay. We are quieter during the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton England
Level Contributor
404 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Located in the heart of the picturesque village of Clun in South Shropshire this Inn offers four rooms, mine was comfortable and well equipped and excellent value. The pub has its own brewery and has four of their own excellent Clun Brewery ales on plus guest ales and offers an extensive menu plus specials.
Clun, like many villages in the county isn't covered in yellow lines so parking is free but limited and the village is located on the Shropshire Way walking route and there are the remains of Clun Castle a short walk away. There is a Costcutter and Post Office across the square and the pub does off sales of Brewery bottled beers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh-Harrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
Thank you. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night beacause our usual accomodation was fully booked, What a find. This will be our 1st choice in future!
The rooms were really comfortable as were the beds. Everywhere was very clean and we were made to feel very welcome.
The food is fantastic. The breakfast was really delicious.An added bonus at the White Horse is the fact that they stock Real Ales! The bar was full and there was a great atmosphere.
Thank you-we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHECheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
Thank you, will be good to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Everything was perfect. Very friendly, clean and good food. I am especially grateful to you for returning the ipad I stupidly left in the bar. Thank you so much for your patience and help. We had a realy lovely stay and especially enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar which felt like a rel local.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonihowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackLimond, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn, Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn, Rooms

Property: The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn, Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse Inn, Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn, Rooms Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing