We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub and B&B”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Pub and B&B”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic pub and B and B. We stayed there at the start of the second half of our offas dyke walk and had a great time, the owner was there to meet us and dinner was excellent. The pub is lively and all friendly so made to feel welcome by locals also. Some rooms were above the noisy bar so do take advice if you want an early night on which room to take. The ones next to the road seem to be the quietest. Only criticism we had was that there was. Shortage of staff for breakfast which was excellent but just slow to get to us. Harsh as would have liked to give a 5. I'm sure a one off.

Ps if your are staying there, do go to the castle. It's beautiful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rooms out the back are above the smoking den (and where the manager's dogs do their business) so some noise and smoke. Beds and room OK if sparse and bathroom alright but with a strange shower (the head was massive). Breakfast average - no sausage offered ! Only two meals - curry or fish and chips - on the night we were there so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We got a booking wrong, so this was a last-minute choice. We certainly were lucky! The Granary Suite was large and comfortable (but mind your head). Bev was very helpful (she did our laundry), the food was very good. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived having had a long day, walking the Shropshire Way( and getting lost) Bev was very kind and a pint of Three Tuns beer soon restored. Although there is no food available on a Monday night it was only a short walk to the White Horse. Delicious breakfast cooked to order, nice clean comfortable room although the emergency light was very intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

An impromptu visit to the Sun Inn last week after 30 years and we couldn't have been treated better. The welcome, the tray of tea and the delicious food later on in the evening set us up for a great night's sleep and the fantastic breakfast the next morning sent us happily on our way.

As vegetarians we're used to encountering problems, even in this day and age, when we stop at short notice, but here it was no problem, a lunch item was quickly added to the dinner meal so we should have additional choice in the already unusual menu. There's a good selection of locally made beers. The breakfast was comprehensive with a choice of cereals and a large jug of orange juice already on the table beautifully laid for our arrival. This was followed up with a freshly cooked vegi breakfast and plenty of toast.

And all this for a very reasonable amount.

Beverley, we didn't meet Duncan, was a gracious, friendly and helpful host and we will certainly return to this beautiful part of the country when we can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret-MaryArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Warwickshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We arrived late on a Friday evening for a two night stay and had an evening meal before last orders for food were taken. We both had steaks (sourced from one of the two village butchers), which were cooked exactly as requested and nicely charred on the outside for extra flavour.

The inn is owned by the local Three Tuns Brewery and has an extensive range of their beers. All those I tried (five over the weekend) were very well kept and a credit to whoever is responsible for the cellar.

Bev's hospitality was faultless and a problem with the heating was rectified after the first night, as well as a discount given for that night before we even broached the subject ourselves.

Just a few observations for improvements, which would make a stay there even better... firstly, the Granary Suite comprises two large rooms and an en-suite bathroom. For us we didn't get the benefit as we were out walking most of the time, so consider whether you want to pay the extra for the size. Given the size of the bedroom we were struck by how small and basic the double bed was - a large, feature bed would make a big difference. Although there was a very large walk-in wardrobe there were only two coathangers - a few more would be handy.

Finally - breakfast. Lovely bacon but this was the first time that we'd had a full English at a B&B without a sausage or two! We thought this was strange, especially when there are two butchers in the village. Perhaps there's a reason for not serving sausages but we were a bit disappointed and subject to much ribbing from friends who stayed nearby and really had the full English.

However, those are minor quibbles compared to the effort that Bev puts in to make your stay enjoyable. You'll want for nothing - apart from sausages at breakfast it seems! ;-)

Room Tip: Granary Suite consists of a large lounge and a large bedroom. Nice to have so much space but are you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzardFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Sun and am struggling for words to describe how perfect it was. Stayed in the lovely oak beamed granary room which is absolutely gorgeous. The hosts, Bev and Dunc really go out of their way to may your stay special. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are a lovely couple. The meals are spectacular and extremely good value for money and the service is quick, friendly and efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend the Sun to anyone looking for a first class place to stay. Will definitely be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
13.5 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
888 reviews
5.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
2.9 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#1 of 3 in Bucknell
45 reviews
8.0 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: 10 High Street | Shropshire, Clun SY7 8JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing