We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Shropshire”
Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Farmhouse
Ranked #7 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We usually stay at the Old Farmhouse twice a year ( August & November in 2010). The owners are always very helpful & welcoming and knowledgable about the local area. The Old Farmhouse is a wonderful place to stay in the beautiful hills of Shropshire, situated in a very peaceful area but close to the village of Clun. The accomodation is very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean, with ensuite bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The cosy lounge is very welcoming after a days walking and the garden is a delight. Breakfast is plentiful, delicious and freshly cooked. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeT102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

In September 2010, my husband and I spent a delightful four nights at the Old Farmhouse, our base for hiking and sightseeing in the area with friends. The owner was very friendly and accommodating and most helpful with suggestions, directions and local information. Our room was cozy, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was always tasty and substantial and tailored to our specific requests. The Old Farmhouse offers quaintness and privacy and is an ideal place to relax and enjoy the English countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soderpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We look forward to a break in the country at Woodsid as we kknow that we can rely on exceptonally good standards there. We visit on average twice a year. All visitors receive a very warm welcome and the accommodation is of an excellent standard. The breakfasts are delicious, cooked to order - just what you need to set you up for a good walk over the hills and through the woods or just for a relaxing day in the lovely gardens or conservatory.
There's a great pint of real ale waiting a the White Horse Inn in Clun Square which is 20 mins walk away.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyholidaymakers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Lovely house in idyllic location for walking and relaxing. Good clean facilites - room with ensuite. Peaceful setting with well tendered gardens and large pond. Welcoming owners and a hearty breakfast served. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beltonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 4 very comfortable nights here last September and enjoyed this lovingly restored old farmhouse. The bedroom was spacious and with nice large "en-suite". The sitting room for the guests had a beautiful attached sun-room where we enjoyed local cheeses and ciders we had purchased while out and about. Two evenings, we walked down the lane to the town for dinner at pubs. Breakfast was excellent and Colin was accomodating to our differing tasts/interests. The House had a refrigerator for use by the guests where we kept our wines, ciders, etc.

We would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlyCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I stayed at the Old Farmhouse for a short mid-week break on my own. I was made very welcome, the house had such character and the gardens were beautiful. The local knowlege of the owners was invaluable, they could recommend short and long walks, give an idea of the history as well as other places to visit. The area was so quite and peaceful, one of the best nights sleep I have had!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanorkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We visited the Old Farmhouse in February for the third time, as always it was a great welcome, clean, warm and charming.
We slept well and woke to a grand breakfast cooked by Conor (host).
As we were out walking each day we took our evening meals in The Castle Hotel, Bishops Castle and the White Horse pub-hotel in Clun; both served a good dinner and I would recommend either.
We are looking forward to our return to the Old Farmhouse in May 2011 for another walking weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North-Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse

Address: Woodside | Clun, Clun SY7 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Farmhouse Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing