We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B in beautiful countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clun
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Farmhouse
Ranked #7 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful B&B in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stay at the Old Farmhouse at least twice a year. It is full of character. The owners are very welcoming without being intrusive and they provide an excellent breakfast. Large attractive bedrooms with splendid views of the Shropshire countryside. Gardens filled with birds to wander round.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9zeus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2011

A superb 4-night stay in a beautiful setting with friendly hosts, clean & comfortable rooms, lovely bathroom with a proper bath tub, delicious breakfasts, surrounded by fantastic walking country. Would recommend it highly, and all 6 of us would love to make a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwalker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We usually stay at the Old Farmhouse twice a year ( August & November in 2010). The owners are always very helpful & welcoming and knowledgable about the local area. The Old Farmhouse is a wonderful place to stay in the beautiful hills of Shropshire, situated in a very peaceful area but close to the village of Clun. The accomodation is very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean, with ensuite bathrooms with plenty of hot water. The cosy lounge is very welcoming after a days walking and the garden is a delight. Breakfast is plentiful, delicious and freshly cooked. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeT102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

In September 2010, my husband and I spent a delightful four nights at the Old Farmhouse, our base for hiking and sightseeing in the area with friends. The owner was very friendly and accommodating and most helpful with suggestions, directions and local information. Our room was cozy, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was always tasty and substantial and tailored to our specific requests. The Old Farmhouse offers quaintness and privacy and is an ideal place to relax and enjoy the English countryside.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soderpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We look forward to a break in the country at Woodsid as we kknow that we can rely on exceptonally good standards there. We visit on average twice a year. All visitors receive a very warm welcome and the accommodation is of an excellent standard. The breakfasts are delicious, cooked to order - just what you need to set you up for a good walk over the hills and through the woods or just for a relaxing day in the lovely gardens or conservatory.
There's a great pint of real ale waiting a the White Horse Inn in Clun Square which is 20 mins walk away.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidaymakers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Lovely house in idyllic location for walking and relaxing. Good clean facilites - room with ensuite. Peaceful setting with well tendered gardens and large pond. Welcoming owners and a hearty breakfast served. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beltonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia WA
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 4 very comfortable nights here last September and enjoyed this lovingly restored old farmhouse. The bedroom was spacious and with nice large "en-suite". The sitting room for the guests had a beautiful attached sun-room where we enjoyed local cheeses and ciders we had purchased while out and about. Two evenings, we walked down the lane to the town for dinner at pubs. Breakfast was excellent and Colin was accomodating to our differing tasts/interests. The House had a refrigerator for use by the guests where we kept our wines, ciders, etc.

We would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
0.8 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
4.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
331 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse

Property: The Old Farmhouse
Address: Woodside | Clun, Clun SY7 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Farmhouse Clun, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing