We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ash Lodge

The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking. Back of the lodge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The Lodge in its beautiful setting.
Front of lodge with decking.
Back of the lodge.
Side of lodge with entrance porch.
Front decking overlooking the river - bliss!
Bright, airy lounge with outstanding views all round.
Hallway
Modern kitchen and dining area.
Beautiful oak dining table and chairs.
Twin bedroom with mirrored wardrobe doors.
Double bedroom with en-suite.
View of double bed with luxury pocket sprung mattress topped with memory foam.
Roomy shower with lots of pressure.
Decking catches the sunshine late into the evening.
View from the side decking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel S
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil and relaxing”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a really relaxing couple of days off at ash lodge. Really tastefully decorated with comfortable furniture and a really well kitted out kitchen. Without a doubt the best feature is the decking overlooking the river. Wonderful location, comfortable and peaceful, not to mention a great pub down the road! We will defiantly be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you Daniel and Emily for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Ash Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn A
Stoke-on-trent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5* Relaxation”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with excellent accommodation and wonderful views, then this is the place to stay.
The cabin is cosy and luxurious. Had everything you could ever need including homely touches like books, games and DVDs available for use. Bedding and furniture of a high quality and very comfortable.
The lounge view is stunning with the babbling river one side and hills and sheep on the other.
We enjoyed sitting on the decking with a glass of wine and just the sounds of the river and birds for company.
Will definitely come back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thanks to the guests for their great review. Really pleased they had such a lovely time relaxing. We look forward to welcoming them back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic tranquil retreat from everyday life, a place to recharge, perfect.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely Easter weekend at the lodge, fishing, looking for otters, bird watching and generally just enjoying the glorious location of the lodge. Every need catered for by the owners, one of the best lodges I've visited. Hope to be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the setting, the lodge, just perfect
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
So glad our guests enjoyed their stay. The wildlife around the lodge is wonderful. We've actually seen the otter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley W
Abercynon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My fiancé and I have just got back from a weekend at Ash Lodge and I couldn't wait to write a review. We were blown away by the views and how luxurious the lodge itself was. The owners have thought of everything and we needed for nothing for the entire weekend!
I loved the décor and the entire lodge was absolutely spotless, everything is brand new. I was also a big fan of the memory foam mattress it was so comfortable and the bed lining and towels smelled so fresh :) Ash lodge in our opinion has the best plot on the site, it has panoramic views of the countryside and looks out onto the river that has daily visitors from ducks and geese. We were recommended by the owner David to try the Crown inn pub just a 5 minute walk down the lane for evening meals and Sunday lunch. Unfortunately we didn't book early enough for Sunday lunch so it was fully booked but we really enjoyed an evening meal on Saturday. I recommend the mixed grill it was delicious!. tip) make sure you are hungry the meals are very big and also book well in advance to avoid disappointment, as it can get very busy with the locals. The owners also provided lots of information on places to visit in the surrounding area and things to do. We visited Clun castle then ate Sunday lunch in the White horse Inn in Clun which was lovely also and would recommend. We also visited Ludow and bishops castle, there are many places that we would have liked to have visited but just couldn't squeeze them in, in time. For you walkers out there you will love this area! I am not particularly one for walking but after reading the welcome book and seeing the recommended walks I decided I would give one a go, and I'm glad I did, the views are breath taking! I could probably go on and on about how much we loved our weekend in Ash Lodge, we really didn't want to leave! We are already planning our next visit :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
We are bowled over by such a lovely review. We really appreciate their very positive comments and look forward to welcoming them back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Thanks to these guests for their kind review. Glad to hear they would like to return sometime. I think the review meant to say fast running river and not lake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pinkhorto...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well...where to start!
We arrived to a beautiful site, in beautiful surroundings. The lodge is beautiful, beds are so comfy, its very clean and very well presented.
The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need, from bottle stoppers to night lights for the children!
They have even left a personal cupboard which has few bits in case you have forgot anything...we used one thing and replaced.
Towels are provided and extra are available, the bedding is fresh with spare should you have any accidents which is again so thoughtful.
I have stayed in lodges before and not half as well equip as this. All the items provided are of great quality. They have also provide a hoover and torch as well as cleaning products and dishwasher tablets.
Its just a lovely area to explore and a lovely homely, cosy lodge to come back to, the river right next to the bedroom window at night is so relaxing.
Really beautiful place, my children aged 5 and 3 loved it as did my husband and I.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views are amazing
Liked least: nothings at all its beautiful
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Its nice to know the trouble we have gone to make the lodge comfortable is appreciated by our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GandS_Col...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning lodge in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights in this stunning lodge in its idyllic location. We wanted a luxury lodge with home comforts to chill out in and explore the countryside and this was exactly what we got. The lodge is done to a extremely high standard with excellent furnishings. The owners have included everything we could have asked for and plenty more. The lodge is situated next to the river and has stunning views of the Shropshire landscape. Our young son spent lots of time watching the water and the animals in the fields beyond. We have stayed in many lodges and this is by the far most luxurious and homely. This lodge really was home from home and we are looking forward to returning soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2014
So glad our guests enjoyed their stay in our lodge and we really appreciate their kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;