We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special memories” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre

Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Centre is home to Lancaster NX611 and a museum based on a WWII airfield with original control tower, Escaping Society museum, Home Front exhibition, Hampden restoration project, memorial chapel and many memorabilia exhibitions. The Centre is open Mon-Sat. Closed Sundays. During the Summer the Lancaster performs taxy runs usually once a week. It is possible to have a taxy ride on the Lancaster, booking is essential as rides get booked up months in advance.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Special memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Trip to not only see 'Just Jane' but also to hear her, brought back memories for our elderly relations, fantastic to see this 'plane so close.
Museum very busy today but plenty of room to move around & so many things to see.
Information has been well researched, unique pieces of correspondence bring the past to life.
A very interesting collection with a personal touch, it almost felt as if you were intruding upon ghostly remains and yet you should look at them, read the accounts and appreciate the sacrifices made. Museums are often cold and factual this one is almost emotional, which is a rather odd description I know.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoubyKittiwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    90
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
Level Contributor
109 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

On holiday and passing by,stopped and visited.not disappointed.Very interesting and informative to see what life was like at a war time bomber airfield.From the hanger,with displays of vehicles and other exhibitions,to the control tower,as it was during the with a "radio commentary" to the aeroplanes and the other huts,with the interesting displays.Saw thw Lancaster parked up and I think a Dakota on the runway.Well worth a visit,more so if there is an event on

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit on a Flying Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of the Best days out for ages. Get up close and i mean close with a Lancaster - Bring your camera and step back in time. A really great day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Having spent most of my adult life facinated by military history generally and the WW2 bomber offensive in particular, this place was and is a must see. The centre would be a wonderful place to spend a day browsing the myriad displays and exhibits even without a Lancaster sat on the apron. That fact that you are able to see and hear one of the greatest aircraft ever built within spitting distance is quite amazing.

I was one of the fortunate few able to taxi inside NX611 and I can quite honestly say that it was one of the most visceral and facinating experiences of my life.

The dedication of the team at East Kirkby is total, the forethought of the Panton brothers to preserve and maintain this icon is a stellar achievement and should be applauded. The Lincolnshire Aviation Museum is a fitting tribute to the 55,573 aircrew of Bomber Command who made the ultimate sacrifice. Among that number is Fred and Harold Pantons elder brother Christopher who was killed on the disasterous Nuremberg raid in March 1944.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Properlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A fascinating day out. So much to see here, you need a full day. We were really lucky on the day we visited and saw a Dakota (we think) which took off from the airfield. We also saw the Lancaster Taxy run as well, brilliant. This would be my number one attraction in Lincolnshire

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing