We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Centre is home to Lancaster NX611 and a museum based on a WWII airfield with original control tower, Escaping Society museum, Home Front exhibition, Hampden restoration project, memorial chapel and many memorabilia exhibitions. The Centre is open Mon-Sat. Closed Sundays. During the Summer the Lancaster performs taxy runs usually once a week. It is possible to have a taxy ride on the Lancaster, booking is essential as rides get booked up months in advance.
lichfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Home of the Lancaster bomber NX611 "Just Jane" I had booked a taxi ride for my son last year and on the 10th of July we arrived to a very warm welcome from the staff and had a fantastic day at this Gem of a small museum. It is small enough to get around easily but has a large amount of artefacts and to be so close to this superb Lancaster Bomber when she starts up and taxies out is an incredible experience.
All the staff are a credit to this centre and very helpful.
Thank goodness the family rescued this Lancaster and have maintained it and restored it to its former glory
I would defiantly recommend a visit to this venue and I am looking forward to a return visit soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    96
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth every penny.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are interested in aircraft, then this place is well worth a visit. Entrance fee of £7 and worth every penny. To hear those four Merlin engines start up and roar into life is amazing, and watching the Lancaster taxiing along the runway rounded off the visit. It would be great if they could raise enough money to see "Just Jane" in the air once again. There is so much to see and a lot of time and effort has been spent on displaying just how it was in wartime and the sacrifice that these young men made. Attention to detail and radio commentary in the control tower and other displays all added to the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Today's I had the pleasure to visit this marvellous place following the recommendation of another reviews from Trip Advisor and I love it, worth every penny.
I think that all the British should be very proud for all the work put in that place.
The coffee shop is very good as well being an excellent place to have light meals or a cup of tea.

Helpful?
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Special memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Trip to not only see 'Just Jane' but also to hear her, brought back memories for our elderly relations, fantastic to see this 'plane so close.
Museum very busy today but plenty of room to move around & so many things to see.
Information has been well researched, unique pieces of correspondence bring the past to life.
A very interesting collection with a personal touch, it almost felt as if you were intruding upon ghostly remains and yet you should look at them, read the accounts and appreciate the sacrifices made. Museums are often cold and factual this one is almost emotional, which is a rather odd description I know.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoubyKittiwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

On holiday and passing by,stopped and visited.not disappointed.Very interesting and informative to see what life was like at a war time bomber airfield.From the hanger,with displays of vehicles and other exhibitions,to the control tower,as it was during the with a "radio commentary" to the aeroplanes and the other huts,with the interesting displays.Saw thw Lancaster parked up and I think a Dakota on the runway.Well worth a visit,more so if there is an event on

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing