We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a way to spend a weekend, bliss!

A great way to spend the weekend away from the city and immerse yourself within nature and learning... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Gareth D
If you thought you couldn't make a knife...

Brilliant four days of making. From a scrappy piece of recycled metal to a beautiful knife and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kempy1968
,
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Read all 315 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
314
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
314
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stag do venison axe throwing knife making amazing weekend great fun these guys from start to finish knife skills laid back bush craft end of the day his team fantastic experience deer stalking second to none great value for money
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

What a great experience, I couldn't recommend this more to anyone who loves nature and is interested in learning all about wild bushcraft. We did the overnight experience with my husband and other people we met on the day. Jamie and Ad were very enthusiastic, friendly and showed us loads of techniques to light fires, building your own shelter, cordage out of natural fibres, we learnt about medicinal uses of plants, axe throwing!, preparing wild fresh game, cooking bread and baking it on your own fire, making wooden tools - loved it. Everything was great, I truly enjoyed every second of it, the guys as I said, were really attentive and that made the whole experience amazing, they really made us feel comfortable and answered all our questions. I would love to learn more, we did camping before but this was our first experience learning about wild bushcraft and would definitely be back to do another course - such as a 'survival course'! 5 star! Thank you Jamie and Adam! Xx

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank LuHermida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

I went on a stag weekend in North Wales, hosted by Jamie, a couple years ago and found the whole thing fascinating and really good fun - something properly different. I then used them again on a stag weekend in the New Forest, hosted by Ian, for a different group of friends and they really delivered again. Really easy to deal with, always happy to go the extra mile to get it right. The butchery is fascinating, and the food is always fantastic - I cannot recommend them enough!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Just would like to say a huge thank you to Jamie, Ad, Ed and Pete for putting on such a fantastic weekend. It's not easy managing 30 of us but they pulled it out of the bag.

Jamie made the planning process smooth and pain free. All of my many questions were answered promptly.

We chose to stay at the Oswestry site which is a little less glampy than at the Forge but we had the benefit of staying on the edge of some woods with all our activities with the exception of gorge walking taking place within the woods.

Our arrival was pretty staggered with some of the bunch not arriving until pretty late in the night but a nice hot venison stew was waiting for them. There was no shortage of snacks and drinks available and there was also an ice box to keep all our drinks cool.

We also had the chance to get our fire making prowess on the go by using ferro rods on cramp balls, but also the more challenging bow drill method.

As the forecast was touch and go the chaps had set up plenty of shelter all over the place. And during the Saturday night while it rained continuously throughout the night. We were all plenty warm and dry under the tarp next to the fire with a bottle of whisk, so much so it took some convincing from the others that the tent would be a better place to sleep!

The woods made for some good terrain for doing the air rifling, axe throwing and archery. The targets were great fun and the quality of the equipment was superb. The 3D deer was a particular favourite of mine.

Finally the reason we chose to return was not only because of the incredible hospitality, it was the food that they put on. The venison is out of this world. Honestly I don't know how they manage to create such good food in the middle of the woods under a tarp.

I really can't recommend them enough, they really outdid themselves. Thank you once again!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Clifbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Visited the farm and were welcomed by Ed and Ad, two great guys, shortly after arrival we were pointed on the direction of where we would be camping, the facilities available put anything we have ever attempted ourselves to absolute shame. Large tarps meant there was a dry area to gather round the fire( once the lads had instructed us how to make one bushcraft style) and another covering the cooking facilities, not that we had to cook ourselves as our hosts ran around after us the entire time. Beautiful, relaxing setting to enjoy a few beers and gather round the fire. The tents where we spent the night were spacious , dry and equipped with enough air beds to fit the 5 of us comfortably. The activities we decided to part take in were clearly explained and very entertaining as the guys added some fun competition into each event. Definitely recommend the axe throwing and butchering the dear. Very interesting and entertaining. Had a great time and this is in no small part due to our hosts so thanks Ed and Ad, class weekend,
Fraz

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank FRAZ2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2019

What a great experience! Recently joined a small group of friendly and enthusiastic people with my 18 yr old son for a long weekend of knifemaking fun. Jamie and Fergus have a great laid back attitude that put everyone at ease. They are very knowledgable and skilled and are very keen to help you do as well as you can on the course. We both came away with knives we were proud of. We had a fun educational weekend with super company and good food. Were looking forward to booking our next course with Jamie and Fegus next year. Thanks both. Jon

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Apprentice_knifemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews