We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Muker Village Stores & Teashop
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Muker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fine location in Muker a small village in Swaledale. Before we arrived at the teashop we had an enjoyable walk through the meadows and along the river before visiting the Farmers Arms next door for a refreshing pint of quality ale. This nicely built up our appetites for the meal at the teashop which consisted of Welsh rarebit followed by Old Peculiar fruit cake with Swaledale cheese accompanied by a fine pot of tea. Food was excellent with the fruit cake probably being the best I have ever tasted. Highly recommended and looking forward to returning next time I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david54196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    16
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this lovely place in the middle of a bike ride. Lovely people serving, beautiful setting and delicious sandwiches!! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank alicethecamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
205 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just how an traditional tea shop should be”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely traditional village tea shop that serves handmade and homemade food using local ingredients where possible and all served with care and attention.

We stopped here after several hours drive winding our way through the dales. Promptly shown a table in the front room, we proceeded to order tea for 3 and 2 expresso coffees.

The tea for 3 was enough for 5 with an large tea pot and another pot for hot water. Proper china cups and saucers added to the experience. The expresso was also very good, strong yet not excessively bitter. Just for hot drinks this place puts bigger chains to shame.

We also ordered 5 sarnies. Doorstop sized, local bread, and crammed full of filling, these were enjoyed by everyone in our party, and certainly hit the spot for us as a lovely enjoyable lunch. We were so tempted with the cakes, but as we already quite full from the sarnies, and were driving and not walking we couldn't justify the extra calories.

If you want an identikit starbucks or costa, don't stop here. But for an experience of a real traditional village tea room, personal and geniune service, form an orderly queue.

Helpful?
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Always love returning to Swaledale and ensure at least one visit to Muker Teashop where the welcome is always warm and friendly, a cosy coal fire is burning on cold days and the food is delicious. We managed 3 visits this past week [lunch and two teas] having had long, enjoyable walks in the surrounding countrtyside. Boots / muddy shoes are not a problem. Never have to remove them. Leek & Potato soup with bread from the local Hawes bakery was absolutely scrumptious; so too the fruit scone with butter, jam and cream! The scones are so light they melt away. However the best on the menu for me is always the Old Peculiar fruitcake with Swaledale cheese on top. As usual, we bought an Old Peculiar fruitcake to bring home with us - having already bought cheese from the Hawes Creamery! A lovely spot in a super location. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We often come here after our trips to the lakes. What a location even on a rainy day. The teashop is lovely. Yorkshire rarebit Wow! The food and service is always outstanding!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 472lindam472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muker Village Stores & Teashop also viewed

Muker, Yorkshire Dales National Park
North Yorkshire, Yorkshire
 
Bainbridge, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Muker Village Stores & Teashop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing