We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal and Drinks”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ettington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Easily found in Ettington near Stratford-upon-Avon, The Chequers Inn is the ideal place to visit, with its perfect balance of good quality, affordable and delicious food along with a tasty drinks selection, and friendly service.Whilst the décor is stunning with subtle French undertones and beautiful tapestries, the comfy armchairs and relaxed, pleasant staff give the Chequers that welcoming, homely feel. Diners are presented with the choice of seating either in the relaxed setting of the bar or the well appointed restaurant. There is additional seating in the large garden, overlooking the chef’s herb and vegetable patches.The Chequers al a carte menu is a selection of modern European dishes along with some traditional English favourites.
rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Meal and Drinks”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were staying in a nearby hotel so that we could spend some time exploring Stratford upon Avon and The Chequers Inn was recommended to us for good food. The atmosphere is wonderful in this very busy bar/restaurant. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is excellent and very well presented as is the rest of the establishment. The attention to detail with the decor carried on even through to the rest rooms......ladies decorated in art deco style and gents decorated in a classic car theme. The whole place was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I had a burger and it was the best home made burger i have ever had. My husband had lightly battered fish which was plump, white and very tasty and cooked to perfection. I would definitely make a point of visiting this restaurant again if we are in the area and would not hesitate to recommend it to other people. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    118
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“frequent visitor”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Everytime we go the food and ambience is first class. saw Santa arrive Christmas eve too! Service is always excellent and have had romantic meals for two there as well as family lunches. Menu is varied and refreshed regularly. Even if you are not eating the good selection of real ales is well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jangoode23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited on-spec whilst staying locally and, despite being very busy were found a nice table in the restaurant without a wait. Service was very friendly and efficient (the staff all worked together well as a team), the food tasty with a wide selection on offer, portion sizes were generous. Highly recommended but best to book as we'd have been disappointed to miss-out such on a lovely evening. We'll certainly return if we're in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickyWiseGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

having a short break in Ettington recently we arrived in time fo lunch and the seared steak roll was even better than it sounded beautifully presented and delicious the staff were friendly and we were so impressed we booked fot the next evening and were not disapointed, there was a good choice of dishes both starters and main courses sadly we just couldn't manage a dessert as well but everything looked great, the staff were attentive . We would delinately recommend this in to anybody looking for a good evening out at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really good cooking”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just popped in for lunch and was very happy with the appearance, service and food - quite unexpected in the middle of 'nowhere'. Perfection would have been a wider selection of ales, but still 5 stars from me. The IPA was fine. I rate pubs and restaurants by testing their beefburgers which is a fairly universal currency. The Chequers' equalled the best I've ever had - from my wife!

Lovely ambience both old and new, very hospitable chef/patron.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cspknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing