We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - shame about the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location - shame about the staff!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

A lovely hotel in a great setting.
Reception staff were slow and disorganised, while the restaraunt staff seemed to move around a lot, but not do anything - especially the supervisor!
Rooms were clean but just the same as everywhere else.
Would highly recommend the local pub - 'The White Horse' with it's great food, friendly staff and bar prices much friendlier than the Chase.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a suite in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    538
    381
    132
    75
See reviews for
149
823
20
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edremit (Trimithi), Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Don’t be mislead by the photos of Ettington Chase the building that you see is just the reception. The rooms are in large extensions attached to this building by long and I mean long corridors. We went on deal from Hotelshop UK, 1 night DBB and a free bottle of wine for £99.00 (Great Value). Hotel room and bathroom large and clean. Had to take the only booking in restaurant at 21.00 and then had to wait 20 minutes. Food Good, breakfast next morning excellent. Did not drink at the bar as prices ridiculous. Saw two nice looking Pubs in the village, but didn’t try (Both within easy walking distance). Hotel is 7.5 mils out of Stratford. All in all a good place if you can obtain it on a cheap deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I was almost put off going to this hotel because of some of the reviews on this site. Having just returned from a 2 night break, I don't understand what people were complaining about. On arrival the receptionist was efficient and friendly. Our room, a suite in the main house, was beautiful with huge bathroom and comfortable bed.The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. The swiiming pool, sauna and changing rooms were clean. Although on the second day were very crowded with a large party staying at the hotel. On the second night we ate at the White Horse a 5 minute walk away, once again food was good and reasonably priced. To sum up The Ettington Chase is a large conference style hotel, therefore is a little lacking in olde world charm but for a weekend break near Stratford it is ideal.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite as it was a special weekend away for us,which i think was worth the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbach cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Spent two nights here, supposedly refurbished but our ensuite had cracked tiles,damaged shower rail and peeling ceiling. The TV, which was supposed to get no end of sky channels, was hopeless despite us having reported it on the first morning. The toilet paper was thin economy stuff and there was a hair in the bath.
The staff on reception were very helpful, as were those in the dining room but we only had breakfast and were surprised that the only bread was white sliced which made terrible toast.I found the decor dark and dismal, a lot of brown in the bar and dining room.
Good position for visiting Stratford and surrounding area though and was quiet. Dinner in the local, just down the road was excellent. All in all I couldn't recommend thid hotel, despite the lovely pictures on the website. The lovely old part which was reception was badly let down by the rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notquiteretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stay mid-week in this large corridor(ed) hotel. We stayed in August and enjoyed our swim, sauna and jacuzzi everyday before breakfast. The buffet breakfast is fantastic and sets you up for the day (go before 8am). Our room was roomy and the quietest we had stayed in. Ettington has now become our first favourite hotel over the renowned Tortworth Court nr. Bristol which failed us recently. DO visit the White Horse Pub, within walking distatnce, for an alternative to the hotel evening meal. We had an excellent meal there attended by the excellent staff. We booked earlier in the day and were greeted and shown to out table, in the bar, with a reserved sign on it! Beer was great too. Within driving disttance of Stratford Upon Avon. We are going to try the bus from the village next time! Do visit The Encore Restaurant in Stratford for a great choice and great food.

Room Tip: Don't be put of by the distance to the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Would stay here again, all staff very well spoken and polite, very clean. Had evening meal included on fist night stay and must say i was impressed, wish we had ate in on our second night instead if wasting £65 on the countess of evesham

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maccadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We picked out a 2 night B&B from an advert in I think the Daily Mail, at a cost we thought very competitive as the deal included an evening meal for us both on the first night , my wfe and I went and we are seniors,
The hotel complex is very long, on 2 floors with a small comfortable room, and long corridors.
The room had no view, perhaps because we were on this deal, but we were not there to look out of the window for hours.
Hotel set in very pleasant grounds and with an easy drive to either Stratford or South to Banbury. The "free" meal was very very good and would have cost us £50 had we to pay.
The whole restaurant complex was very good the breakfasts, buffet type had a varied and pleasant array of cold and cooked foods.
Great weekend, my Birthday in August 2011, we will go again if I see the offer.

Room Tip: Check the view if you intend staying around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salmon186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,287 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,097 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing