We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganised & Poorly Trained Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disorganised & Poorly Trained Staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is nice enough, and the facilities are good, but the staff seem disorganised and unknowledgeable.

This started when we arrived, and despite having already paid in full in advance, we were asked to pay again.
The following day the receptionist couldn't tell us where the nearest bus stop was (five minutes outside the hotel in the village), or provide us with a timetable.

Part of our deal was a free dinner, but no-one in reception, or even the restaurant manager could tell us how many courses were covered as part of this deal.

When booking taxi's the receptionist didn't take our name, meaning another guests could jump into our taxi first, we eventually waited 45 minutes, having been told it would be 20 as a maximum.

The breakfast manager was excellent, and the room was comfortable, but you will have to do a lot of your own research if you want to stay here

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    518
    366
    127
    71
See reviews for
146
782
18
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Ettington Chase for 3 days in order to take in some Shakespeare in Stratford as well as visiting family in Leamington Spa. The hotel is only 6 miles on an easy road away from Stratford, and close enough to pop in daily. The hotel itself was fantastic. The staff were unfailingly polite and courteous, often going out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. The food in the restaurant and bar were of a very high standard and not as pricey as many 4* hotels, although breakfast was £15 a head, but it was lovely and we didn't need any other food till about tea time. There's an informal bar with a modern, chilled feel, or 2 pubs just down the road. The room was huge, modern and spotless, with a large bathroom, tea and coffee, an iron and ironing board and free WiFi (it times out after 30 minutes, but is easy to sign on to). Views are beautiful, over lush countryside, and there's a short golf course and plenty of space for running and jogging. My favourite bit has to be the leisure facilities - we used the gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna every day and felt like we were floating on air afterwards.

Truly amazing. Stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback, your review is full of facts & information for any other guests that will be visiting us and will prove very useful

The positivity is very much appreciated. I shall ensure that your feedback is communcated to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards

Ettington Chase Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i stayed at this hotel with friends overnight on Friday and Saturday with breakfast included which was very nice and had something for everyone. The serving staff both in the restaurant and the bar were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The evening meal was also very nice and resonably priced.

I found the seating along the corridors very relaxing and comfortable for enjoying drinks with friends, eventhough the seating is away from the bar the staff ensure that you have everthing you need.

Location is ok, short walk from 2 pubs, we ate 1 night in the chequers and the food was very nice. Is also a short drive to Stratford about 5 mins.

The rooms were very clean and spacious the down side is that we had an ironing board but no iron but i am sure that if we asked for one it would have been provided.

I have stayed at quite a few hotels like this one and try to get away once a month and this is the best hotel for food and breakfast in particular and the friendliness of staff. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel, It is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Ettington Chase Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a recent overnight Saturday stay at this hotel with dinner included, which was excellent, our only complaint was that we were seated much too close to two other couples, everyone felt uncomfortable, the tables could do with a little re arranging. We were told by a waitress in the restaurant that we could get coffees after the meal from the bar but the barman said this was not possible.The bar feels as if it is in one long corridor, some armchairs/sofas might cosy it up a little. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We used the swimming pool/jacuzzi before breakfast on Sunday morning and had it all to ourselves...bliss! Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maisie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a very pleasant overnight break at this large hotel set in lovely countryside not far from Stratford-upon-Avon. Warm welcome at Reception but should have driven the car right up to the main door as it's quite a trek from the car park. Extensive grounds but not specially interesting. We found our room.......320.......confusingly on the second floor. Lovely warm room, everything in working order, flatscreen tv etc. We had arrived at 5pm and, after a cup of tea in the room, we went straight to the swimming pool. This is a great asset to the hotel! We had the whole place to ourselves for 45 minutes and the water was beautifully warm. A separate jacuuzi with strong jets was also appreciated.
We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the menu looked appetising and reasonable. This was one of the quietest hotels we have ever slept in! We both gad a great night's sleep with no corridor noise or door slamming or heating gurgles!
The bathroom was gleamingly clean, large and well-equipped.
Breakfast was served till 9 o'clock which was fine for us but might be a bit early for some. The dining room was very large and this enabled us to eat without feeling hemmed in. We had the usual buffet breakfast. The fresh fruit salad was particularly good and the cooked section was quite extensive although my personal favourite item....mushrooms....was not present. Staff were pleasant enough at the table but a bit slow at replenishing buffet items. A queue formed at the toaster but the sliced bread took a long time to arrive from the kitchen. I drank grapefruit juice because the orange juice jug was empty on the two occasions I tried to get some. No pastries were available. However, all other breakfast items were of a high standard and in plentiful supply.
We enjoyed our time at this hotel......only £59 via laterooms........but felt the hotel lacked a bit of atmosphere/character. We guess it hosts a lot of conferences as it seemed to have lots of huge, unused rooms.
We would certainly return as our experience was a good one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Bit a ted very worn bedrooms. Staff pleasant. Location great

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great location close to Stratford, nice bedrooms and food. Excellent staff member Pauvel - super service and a real asset to the hotel - listens to customers and really goes the extra mile to make you feel appreciated. Many hotels could learn from the service experience of Pauvel. I stayed here on Wednesday 8th Feb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keevin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,447 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,181 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,735 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing