We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend near Stratfordupon Avon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed for a weekend in an executive room in the main Arts and Crafts house which was lovely. Rooms in the new extension were reported to be small and unexceptional by our colleagues. Hotel is very modern and contemporary not for someone looking for a character hotel, Food was good, staff very attentive and helpful, Breakfast was good with the exception of no mushrooms for the cooked breakfast even though I had pointed it out the previous breakfast morning, too expensive they said! Drinks a bit expensive though at the bar! Good outdoor market on the airfield nearby which some of our group went to, Lots of National Trust properties nearby to visit which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a executive accomodation in the main old house, bigger beds and rooms. Rooms overlooking the...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you were happy with your room and the standard of service provided by the team here. I will pass your comments re mushrooms at breakfast onto the menu production team at head office to discuss at the next breakfast menu review later in the year.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are exploring all the area around Stratford has to offer.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager - Ettington Chase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Ettington Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We found this hotel on super breaks and got a deal for £72 each for two nights, dinner each on the first night and breakfast each both mornings! The first thing we noticed as we turned up and signed in, is the photo of the hotel on the website, which is a stunning old building is pretty much the reception area, the bedrooms are in a very expansive extension built onto the side of this, so if you are going, expecting to be in this older building you probably wont be. Having said this the grounds were beautiful and the hotel itself also. Our bedroom was clean and nicely presented and had the usual facilities. The swimming pool was lovely and at the most there was 6 people in it while there, so plenty of room. The sauna and jacuzzi were also added bonuses all kept spotless.

We had dinner the first night, this was very nice food and couldnt fault the service at all and was pretty quick, glad we had it in the deal though as the menu was very expensive, breakfast both mornings was also very good, with plenty on offer and again great service.

I would say that this hotel does very much cater for businesses and the conference part as the hotel feels very functional, however we had a great stay and I would recommend the hotel to others!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyMar1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that our product and service more than met your expectations and please be assured your positive comments will be fed back to the operations team here in Ettington.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager - Ettington Chase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Good gym, adequate swimming pool (although not for serious swimmers as the shape makes doing lengths difficult). We were very impressed with dinner, very good quality and portion size. Room was clean, shower good and we slept well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaguemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback

Im glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ettington Chase Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We found this hotel on a deal which was £98 per person for 2 nights accomodation, 2 meals each night- both of which were from the a la carte menu in which we could have 2 courses, breakfast was also provided both mornings and a bottle of wine each night, which we were allowed to take to dinner with us. This deal was brilliant as the food was fantastic and the hotel was lovely with a nice swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. It was a lot bigger than we expected, and had a modern feel to it inside. The hotel itself was not too far from the town centre of Stratford, so was very easy to get to it. There were lovely green grounds surrounding the hotel and a tennis court, so on a sunny day was simply beautiful. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant! Very attentive to your every need and very pleasant.
However if we had not had this brilliant deal, I think it would have been an expensive stay as we heard the breakfast alone was £14.95 per person and the main menu and drinks were also very pricey- over £4 for a magners!

Very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to review the Ettington Chase Hotel

Your comments are valued, and have now been forwarded to the restaurant team. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and that it was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Ettington Chase Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a lovely weekend at this venue. Our son and his lovely bride married there on the 2/3/2012. Hotel lovely,food very nice and staff excellent. We found customer service brilliant staff could not do enough for us. Our room in the older part of the hotel was clean,bright and very comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ettington Chase Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I would give this hotel 3.5 out of 5 - not 3 and not 4. It is better than average but not quite very good. This is not a character hotel but we had a good deal and found the room quite adequate but too hot. I don't know how the hotel was heated because the radiator was not on but it annoys me greatly when you cannot control the degree of heat in your room, and this made sleeping rather difficult.
Staff were very pleasant although restaurant staff need to be better trained - i.e. waiter should pour the wine for tasting not just fill up the glasses, water was forgotten. Food for dinner was fine but nothing very special. Jelly dessert was very poor - almost completely solid. Breakfast was a buffet and everything gave the impression of having been cooked hours before - not very good but ok. This should be better.
Nice location. Very nice pool and jacuzzi and we enjoyed them.

Room Tip: Very large hotel - couldn't really say.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liberdade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed two nights on break which included dinner on first night. Hotel 6 miles south of Stratford in middle of nowhere really but it is nice and quiet. Stayed in massive extension, room OK but not inspiring. Used the spa facilities which were very good but unsupervised and sauna set in strange position. Dinner as stated on menu overpriced but service pleasent and main course of sea bass excellent. Wine really overpriced nothing under £18.50 for basic plonk.
Slept well in quiet room. NO HOT WATER in morning. Later explanation that boiler 'tripped' during night - so now shower or shave.
Breakfast a disaster. At 8.30am (due to finish at 9.00 am) basically nothing left and slow to refill. Stayed before when had lovely breakfast including fresh fruit and usual cooked English. Seemed that cost cutting going on.
Spoke to Deputy Manager who was charming and he said one off that so many people arrived at one time and Restaurant could not cope. Later note in room saying that breakfast time extended to 10.00 am for rest of that week!
Second morning totally different relaxed and plentiful breakfast including frest fruit and fresh fruit salad. Mentioned to Restaurant Manager absence of yogurt, he apologised saying delivery not arrived. He then sent member of staff to local shop (really) to obtain natural yogurt for us. Really helpful.
So overall they redeemed themselves. If you are looking for good value quiet hotel near Stratford then warts and all this is excellent value - just compare prices to Statford.

Room Tip: All rooms similar and quiet
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time in completing the review on tripadvisor

We appreciate any feedback that helps us improve our service for our guests. Please rest assured that we have put actions in place to prevent this happening in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ettington Chase Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,338 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,805 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: £53 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing