We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality in the country”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Travelling directly along a road from Stratford through the little village of Ettington you come to Ettington Chase, just off the main road. Whilst on the property you feel like you are in the middle of the countryside, and it is not possible to hear any traffic from the main road. The grounds are large and include a tennis court and small 3 holes of golf. The main building is beautiful, holding the suites and reception, but the main rooms, leisure facilities and restaurant are in a large extension which has been tastefully matched to the original building. There are plenty of parking spaces as well as a separate entrance to the rooms which was appreciated, as this meant you did not need to walk the long way round past the restaurant.
The room was tastefully decorated and fairly large, with several different storage areas. The bonus within the room was your own personal safe, an iron, ironing board and trouser press. Improvements could be made in bathroom, as there were several marks on the suite, but these did not impede its functionality. A warning: the shower is very powerful and can hit the other end of the bath, so do be careful! However, there is a bath mat provided. A nice touch was finding Earl Grey teabags in the refreshments, which are not often found at other hotels.
In our particular deal we had evening meals included, which we would definitely recommend. The menu is rather expensive, but we were able to order three courses within the £25 per person allowance, and all were very enjoyable! While we waited for the starter we were provided bread with oil and balsamic vinegar, which staved off any hunger. We did notice quite a few conference attendees, but Ettington Chase is advertised as a conference venue and as we were staying in the week there was several conferences each day. The breakfast buffet was also included with our package, and offered plenty of variety with some rather nice sausages.
The staff were all friendly, in particular the evening and breakfast managers were very efficient and personable. The check in and check out was very simple and quite quick which was perfect.
The leisure facilities were a bonus, and when we used them it was quiet. There was a reasonably well equipped gym as well as a sauna, which was located between the changing rooms. The only negative is that you need to go all the way to reception to pick up towels for the leisure facilities, which meant we had to walk through the conference attendees and then back again.
The location for this hotel is about ten minutes drive from Stratford-upon-avon with several pubs along the way. If you can get a deal then it's really good value, particularly with first night evening meal, leisure and breakfast all included.

Room Tip: Rooms away from carpark better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARKJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Many thanks for your kind remarks.
I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.
Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    510
    364
    127
    70
See reviews for
144
773
18
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

HOTEL:
As mentioned by many people - the exterior photos of this hotel are very misleading seeing as the lovely old building holds only the reception and the rooms are in what what I'd guess is an '80's construction. Saying that our room was fine and had all the usual things you'd expect, despite the gorgeous bathroom shown on the pictures was no-where to be seen - ours (in a standard double room) was a clean but very average one.

The staff were friendly, and the location is great, only a ten minute drive in to Stratford Upon Avon where we spent an afternoon. The pool was lovely too, I wouldn't say luxurious but nice and clean and a good temperature for spending a couple of hours in.

I'm also not so sure why people are surprised and complaining about conferences being held there seeing as it's called a conference centre!

RESTAURANT
Unfortunately our stay was tarred by our evening visit to the restaurant. After reading the mixed reviews on here we'd decided earlier in the day that we would try the pub down the road, but soon the heavens opened and we didn't fancy going out in the pouring rain, so we changed our minds and booked a table, despite the prices being pretty hefty. We looked forward to our romantic evening meal in a room that looked lovely.

Our main courses arrived and we both ordered the lamb shank. Within minutes we both turned to each other and said the meal was completely tasteless, We're not super fussy, but at £15 for a main course you'd expect it to have a bit of flavour! Despite this we continued to eat but before long, my bread plate was filled with an entire pile of fat - my lamb literally had more fat on it than lamb (sorry to be so graphic). Even this wouldn't have got my back up, I mentioned it nicely to the waitress when she collected our plates and the manager was called over. She apologised saying it must be a 'one off' and would we like free dessert to make up for it. It was very clear in her actions that this was for both of us. We thought that was a nice gesture and ordered them, all would have been forgotten. When the bill came though she had taken ONE dessert off stating that it was my meal that had been ruined so only my dessert was free!!!!!!! I have never, in all my years known such a stingy gesture and it ruined our meal completely. The money was not the issue, it was the principle of it all. We were going to relax in the bar afterwards for a nice coffee but didn't want to spend another penny in that place!

So all in all, would we visit again? maybe the hotel, would we touch that restaurant? never!

Room Tip: Ours was a standard double and although not luxurious, it was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineDBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us.
I very much appreciate your positive comments with regard to our staff and leisure facilities. We are currently in the process of upgrading our suite of photographs available on all our travel partner websites to greater reflect the range of accommodation we offer here at Ettington Chase.
I must apologise for the confusion with regards to the way the complaint with your main course was handled. We have fed back your comments to the restaurant management team who also apologise for any inconvenience caused.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Stratford of the Heart of England.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager - Ettington Chase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eversley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed for a weekend in an executive room in the main Arts and Crafts house which was lovely. Rooms in the new extension were reported to be small and unexceptional by our colleagues. Hotel is very modern and contemporary not for someone looking for a character hotel, Food was good, staff very attentive and helpful, Breakfast was good with the exception of no mushrooms for the cooked breakfast even though I had pointed it out the previous breakfast morning, too expensive they said! Drinks a bit expensive though at the bar! Good outdoor market on the airfield nearby which some of our group went to, Lots of National Trust properties nearby to visit which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a executive accomodation in the main old house, bigger beds and rooms. Rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you were happy with your room and the standard of service provided by the team here. I will pass your comments re mushrooms at breakfast onto the menu production team at head office to discuss at the next breakfast menu review later in the year.
I do hope you will consider staying with us again next time you are exploring all the area around Stratford has to offer.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager - Ettington Chase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We found this hotel on super breaks and got a deal for £72 each for two nights, dinner each on the first night and breakfast each both mornings! The first thing we noticed as we turned up and signed in, is the photo of the hotel on the website, which is a stunning old building is pretty much the reception area, the bedrooms are in a very expansive extension built onto the side of this, so if you are going, expecting to be in this older building you probably wont be. Having said this the grounds were beautiful and the hotel itself also. Our bedroom was clean and nicely presented and had the usual facilities. The swimming pool was lovely and at the most there was 6 people in it while there, so plenty of room. The sauna and jacuzzi were also added bonuses all kept spotless.

We had dinner the first night, this was very nice food and couldnt fault the service at all and was pretty quick, glad we had it in the deal though as the menu was very expensive, breakfast both mornings was also very good, with plenty on offer and again great service.

I would say that this hotel does very much cater for businesses and the conference part as the hotel feels very functional, however we had a great stay and I would recommend the hotel to others!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyMar1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that our product and service more than met your expectations and please be assured your positive comments will be fed back to the operations team here in Ettington.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
General Manager - Ettington Chase
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Good gym, adequate swimming pool (although not for serious swimmers as the shape makes doing lengths difficult). We were very impressed with dinner, very good quality and portion size. Room was clean, shower good and we slept well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaguemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback

Im glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ettington Chase Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We found this hotel on a deal which was £98 per person for 2 nights accomodation, 2 meals each night- both of which were from the a la carte menu in which we could have 2 courses, breakfast was also provided both mornings and a bottle of wine each night, which we were allowed to take to dinner with us. This deal was brilliant as the food was fantastic and the hotel was lovely with a nice swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. It was a lot bigger than we expected, and had a modern feel to it inside. The hotel itself was not too far from the town centre of Stratford, so was very easy to get to it. There were lovely green grounds surrounding the hotel and a tennis court, so on a sunny day was simply beautiful. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant! Very attentive to your every need and very pleasant.
However if we had not had this brilliant deal, I think it would have been an expensive stay as we heard the breakfast alone was £14.95 per person and the main menu and drinks were also very pricey- over £4 for a magners!

Very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma8621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to review the Ettington Chase Hotel

Your comments are valued, and have now been forwarded to the restaurant team. Im glad you enjoyed your stay and that it was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Ettington Chase Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a lovely weekend at this venue. Our son and his lovely bride married there on the 2/3/2012. Hotel lovely,food very nice and staff excellent. We found customer service brilliant staff could not do enough for us. Our room in the older part of the hotel was clean,bright and very comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Guest Relations Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ettington Chase Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing