We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed one night on a Travelzoo deal including BB & EM. Set in its own grounds on the outskirts of Ettington this hotel offers a good standard of accomodation. Our room (218) was spacious enough although the bathroom was a little tired. As a base for Statford upon Avon and the surrounding area it is well placed. Food in the Tempus restaurant was good both Dinner and Breakfast. Staff are helpful. I have stayed at another Principal Hayley Hotel in Cardiff of which I cannot compare to this as that was a 5* and in my opinion this Hotel is a bit below its 4* rating, but still a nice Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    538
    381
    132
    75
See reviews for
149
823
20
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you get a cheap deal (90 or less for two including evening meal and breakfast), then consider it ONLY if you also use the pool and sauna. As others have pointed out this is no more than a Travelodge with a pool. Staff we encountered were polite and cheerful yet incredibly informal greeting us as "Hello guys" at the restaurant or "You arright" at reception which actually gives the right image of the hotel. Pool and jaccuzi are nice though the sauna was rather small, but cosy and not hot or steamy (via water on coals) as it should be. Rooms (dusty I places) are soulless with minimalist and cheap decor. Mattresses are unbelievably soft and bouncy - almost like a water bed. Incredibly uncomfortable. Our view out of a small corner windows was limited to another part of the hotel modern red brick building but we did not care as we stayed one night only. Bathroom was rather dated with bath tub and in bath shower and no mixer taps. Old style toilet. Free wifi was a pain and slooooow. You have to register on a web page and get a 30 minute connection which you can have many times. What's wrong with just a painless connection? Digital combination safe in wardrobe did not work. TV and tea/coffee making facilities were adequate. Hair dryer and trouser press ok. No mini bar or fridge. We had a "free" bottle of wine as part of our deal which we (like several others), took to the restaurant (without extra charge) to have with our inclusive two course evening meal. It would have been better to provide he wine in the restaurant anyway; Most people are not secret alcoholics to have red wine in their room! Food was good (reasonable choice) and the restaurant and service provided (by mostly young staff) was pleasant. Buffet breakfast was good with all the usual English and continental offerings amply supplied. We did not consume anything beyond that included in our prepaid package. To sum up: Good for a night or two with the offer of a an inclusive meal, breakfast and a swim/sauna. That's about it!

Room Tip: If you want a pleasant view, then ask or you might end up looking at skips, others windows, and cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sargardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Room was rather austere and the atmosphere very 'corporate' in the rest of the hotel. 3 bed room had unmatched bedspreads - all rather dated. Dripping tap and flashing light - but quickly sorted. Breakfast - disappointed at finding empty servers, no croissants. It was after 10 but breakfast supposed to be available till 11. Pool nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiddlegirlHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, the first two on a Superbreaks package, and the third extra night booked at the hotel because we were having such a lovely stay. We were there so that my wife could rest after an operation for a fractured femur. She was on crutches and we needed a disabled-adapted room. Although we had requested this when making the booking the request had not been passed on to the hotel. Nevertheless the member of staff at the reception was most helpful and sorted out a suitable room in no time at all. We found the room to be spacious, clean and comfortable and, though on the second floor, easily accessible by using the lift.

We had three breakfasts and two evening meals in the restaurant and enjoyed all of these meals. The service was good and the food of a high standard.

I used the swimming pool and sauna in the leisure centre and though the pool is not massive it was certainly large enough to have an enjoyable swim. The fitness room is quite small but does have a lot of equipment in it. The changing area was clean with good showering facilities.

Overall we found the attitude and service of the staff to be pleasant, efficient and helpful. Even when we pulled the emergency cord in our room by mistake a member of staff arrived promptly to check on our well-being and readilly accepted our apology for her unnecessary journey.

Having read other reviews about the hotel we are surprised at some of the comments, as they certainly don't match up to our really good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Island_Hopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for one night on a Sunday just for a quick break. It was lovely, clean and staff were very friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (at 3PM), but wasn't much of a problem, we just went for a swim in the pool and sat in the sauna/jacuzzi for an hour! All the leisure facilities were lovely. Hotel was clean and the room adequate. Only issues were that the shower only managed to stay hot for one of us and the room was really hot (despite the radiators not seeming to be on). But for the price we paid (£89 including breakfast) i thought it was pretty good. Breakfast was lovely and it was only a 5 minute drive into Stratford which was a bonus, free parking and a well stocked bar!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaxi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for review. I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.
Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned for a two night stay at the Ettington Chase Hotel.

ROOMS
Clean, modern. Alittle dark from the small window. Bed far too soft as quoted in other reviews. We failed to have a good nights sleep and were grateful to get home to our own bed.
Avoidable visits to reception had to be made each day for extra tea and milk as we were only provided with the means for one cup of regular tea each for each day - maybe we are fussy but we would have a least one or two cups in the morning and another before bed.

Bathrooms clean but felt grubby. In need of a refurb. Shower head was appalling squirting water every which way! We instead showered in the Leisure facility showers as it provided a better jet of water. Very disappointing to be forced to use communal showers in a 4* hotel.

LEISURE FACILITIES
Pool good. Clean, good size, pleasant temperature. Jacuzzi and Steam Room nice extras.
Opens til 10pm which is excellent for a 'wind down' swim before bedtime.

What really let the leisure facility down was the changing area.

Extremely grubby and desperately in need of refurbishment to be anywhere close to a 4* standard.
My local council run swimming baths it more luxurious! Lockers faulty, locks not working, keys getting stuck, one guest had her clothes stuck in the locker. door entry code to ladies changing faulty with people being locked in/out.
No private changing area. A VERY SMALL communal changing area centred around one tiny bench.

STAFF
On arrival - blunt, rude, unwelcoming.
On departure - didn't say a worked as she snatched the key to check us out. "Did you enjoy your stay?" wouldn't have gone amiss.

On a telephone enquiry within an hour of arriving, the receptionist was unhelpful, telling me - "I don't know. Look in your welcome pack".

ONLY ONE gentleman on the Sunday night shift pleasantly greeted us with a smile and 'Good Evening' as we returned to the hotel. We were ignored every other time we walked through reception despite it being empty of guests on all but one or two occasions.
NOTE TO MANAGEMENT - that gentleman stood out because he was pleasant, polite and made us feel welcome. Best of all, his greeting didn't cost you a penny. It is a shame the other reception staff are not as generous with warm welcomes.

Most people will overlook a bit of grubby grouting if they feel the staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The most shocking encounter with staff was when a young female member of staff removed my swimming towel (provided by the hotel) from the changing room whilst I was in the shower.
When I emerged to dry off, I saw her with the towel. Asking if it was mine she told me 'I had to take it because you left it unattended'. I explained it had been in my locker, but I had placed it on the bench directly outside the shower for when I had finished. 'I'm sorry you mustn't leave towels unattended' she told me not returning the towel. After some persuasion she gave it back although her reluctance implied I was asking for the keys to the safe rather than my swimming towel. The situation was embarrassing as I was half naked from the shower with other guests around. Goodness knows what I would have done if she had left the changing room by the time I had finished in the shower. Walk to reception in my swimming costume prehaps?

OVERALL IMPRESSION
The photos on the hotel website are misleading.
The beautiful, characterful building shown houses the reception area but guest rooms are located in the Nursing Home-esqe extension that they neglect to show you on the website.

Very quiet, secluded - car ESSENTIAL if you are contemplating going into Stratford or Warwick.

A WEDDING was taking place on the first day/night of our stay.
Alittle awkward that you must pass through the bar (used by wedding guests) and wedding reception overspill room to get into out of the hotel.
Returning to the hotel passing an entrance hall full of wedding guests' empty bottles and glasses is off putting. Leaving the leisure facility with wet hair from swimming, wearing casual work out clothes also feels inappropriate when you bump into the Bride and her guests since you are led straight into the bar.
The VOLUME OF THE MUSIC was ridiculous with the bass pounding through the hotel as the party was in full swing. Our relaxing evening swim was not so relaxing since the leisure facility is next door to wedding function room. Similarly, the music could be heard into the guest rooms.
We agreed to live with it. After all it was their wedding day and they had undoubtly paid a lot of money to be there and there wasn't much the hotel could have done to change the situation.
Still, at £150 for Room Only, we to had paid a lot of money to be there and this was an undesirable situation that to hotel should strive to address in future.

Based on the poor food reviews on this site we chose not to eat at the hotel, enjoying instead nice meals and breakfasts in Stratford upon Avon.

Would we recommend it? It isn't the worst hotel in the world, but we think you could find better for the money.

Would we stay again? Probably not. A shame, as a few minor changes would have meant that we would have returned on out next visit to Stratford. The Ettington Chase has also deterred us from using other hotels within the Principal Hayley chain.

Room Tip: Be sure to check for special offers - the hotel run a promotion for Breakfast, Meal and complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidays635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you felt the staff let the hotel down. I have shared your feedback with my management team who in turn have revisited the customer service training of their staff.
Should you decide to return to Ettington Chase again in the future then please contact me directly on stuart.fleming@principal-hayley.com and will ensure you have a more positive experience on this occasion.
Kind regards
Stuart Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poulton-le-fylde, lancs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel with a Travel Zoo offer which stated two course dinner worth £20 was included in the price together with a bottle of wine on arrival.
The hotel was lovely and clean, and we had a great nights sleep, even with a wedding reception one night. The bed /room was comfortable, king size and quiet. The only slight hitch that we had ,was that the meal included through Travel Zoo was not of the a la carte menu, even though main courses were £15 and starters and desserts. £5 We were offered a set menu that consisted of lasagne, chicken or salmon (i.e. cheaper alternatives) . This would not put me off the hotel, I would just book the bed and breakfast rate and pay for dinner as you go and take my own wine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,480 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,287 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,097 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing