We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at hotel for my wives 40th birthday. Emailed the day before and was upgraded to a suite in the old building which made our stay all the better. Had breakfast and dinner there each evening and was the food was exceptional. Can't fault this hotel one bit as there was always a member of staff around to help out. Many thanks Graham and Jo

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilesyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Me and my friend have just returned from a night's stay at Ettington Chase on the weekend. We booked a deal via travelzoo which included a 2-course evening meal, a bottle of wine and breakfast. We arrived at 11am to find that our room was ready for us to check-in, we didn't expect this and were happy to leave our things in the car, however it was a nice suprise for us. The room was spacious, clean and we both found the beds to be really comfortable. We asked for extra pillows and ice as our bottle of wine was not chilled and these were brought to our room without a fuss.

If you are staying here you do need a car - the bus is very infrequent - we arrived at 11am to find that we would need to catch the 1pm bus and get the 4pm bus back to the hotel. Therefore we decided to drive into Stratford rather than waste time with the poor bus service. We got a taxi into Stratford in the evening and back from Stratford to the hotel which were costly - between 15 and 20 pounds each way.

We had dinner in the restaurant and found the service to be very good - all staff used "madam" when speaking to us, regularly asked us if everything was okay with our food and drinks and were generally very polite and enthusiastic in their work. We couldn't fault the food at all. Breakfast was okay in the morning too - you could choose from a selection of cooked and cold items (fruit, bread, cereals, croissants etc). We didn't have time to visit the pool area, however we would return to the hotel and would make time to visit the pool in the future.

Yes, the hotel is not picturesque and you do sleep in a section which resembles an retirement home, however, this wasn't an issue for us. Money could be spent on re-decorating the corridors/doors to make them more modern, but for us, this hotel exceeded our expectations for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I took the trouble on contacting the hotel before we arrived - to check out a few points.. perhaps that's what did it? I checked there were tea making facilities - affirmative (mean tho - no biscuit!). A quiet room was assured - it was! Booked dinner for 8pm - we went in on time! Really we had a good experience! A few things negative things one may mention.. a two course dinner (didn't dare order a desert!) took two hours on the Friday night.. (which is fine by our standards... but it was slow! Saturday however was much better!). We both felt that the kitchen was working to a tight budget.. though the absence of veg (other than mash) with the chicken was unforgivable. There were a few of the staples missing at b'fast - but on the whole a sufficiency. The bread with the oil & vinegar were a nice touch - and as stated.. much welcomed on the Friday eve - because of the long wait! The house wine (two different bottles each eve) was good. We were staying inclusive - but to be honest - if I were paying 'straight' for the meal I would have been disappointed! (My partner complained of a sense of hunger after eating! - admittedly a salad). The quality of the starter (ingredients - italian platter) left a little to be desired!
The room was very comfortable (& quiet) - we requested two more pillows for the second night & they awaited us. (Pity they were not in the room). A lack of a biscuit I have mentioned!
The facilities, Pool Sauna & Jacuzzi excellent & towels available etc.. (Sadly we only used once & we would certainly use the gym next time!)
On the whole things just need tightening up a little.. there were staff plenty at breakfast - though one young man would have benefited from a little direction.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the second floor & at the end of a wing?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caporciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here with my parents one weekend for a nearby wedding. We got room 16 which was above the kitchens rather than at the back of the hotel and it was of a much higher standard than the one that my parents had.
We enjoyed a few drinks and bar food at the hotel. The quality was excellent. We also used the pool which was warm but busy- the changing room was very small- I think there were 10 people in there and there was definite intrusion of personal space which was uncomfortable.
At breakfast we had to wait to get a table, the breakfast was ok.
The main issue we had was checking out on the Sunday morning. We joined the queue at around 10.30 and it took a good 30 minutes to get to the front. There was only one person on reception dealing with check out, there was another person behind the desk who only dealt with one customer for the whole half an hour. This service really needs to be improved. We had pre-paid for everything so all I had to do was give over my room key- queuing for 30 minutes to do this was a joke. They really need to rethink this- surely a pre-pay or drop box system for those who don't wish to queue would be much more efficient. The lady on reception was also incredibly loud so everyone in the queue could hear what the person had paid for their room, how much they had ate/drunk plus any other issues that may have cropped up. Not very discreet.
Overall okay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Smith-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed there last weekend whilst visiting Stratford-on-Avon. The Ettington Chase is just like all the other Principal Hayley Hotels with the main prominence being a conference hotel which I was aware when I booked it and which does not bother me.
It was quite busy due to a murder mystery weekend which seem to attract quite a number of people. The room was fine apart from the view with our window overlooking a row of old containers which are used by the ground maintenance to tend the gardens.
We did not use the restaurant in the evening and instead walked the short distance to Ettington village and had a meal at the White Horse Inn which was excellent and recommendable.
Breakfast at the hotel is the usual buffet service which was fine.
The only issue was my bar bill when I was charged for three drinks I did not have but this was corrected without much fuss upon check-out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpumpernickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had read mixed reviews about this hotel, but we're pleased when we arrived. Yes most of the hotel is a modern extension, but our room was spotless and the shower was powerful and hot. We would have liked a fridge but it really wasn't the end of the world. The staff were very friendly and we did not experience any problems with too many guests or parties.
The spa was also lovely and clean ad quiet which was an added bonus!
The only problem we found was that the hotel was slightly out of the way of Stratford upon avon and cabs were extortionate.. Possibly as we were there over a bank holiday. It was £20 there and £20 back! I would recommend the chequers pub, beautiful food nice pub and friendly staff! Avoid the other pub slightly down and opposite! It is much less inviting and couldn't serve us food as they were at capacity with a large table of 9! All in all a nice weekend. Recommend the rowing boats on the river Avon!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahjayne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights with my boyfriend in the run up to a family wedding. We decided to take a few days before to explore the area. As others have said the main bulk of the hotel is a newer (possibly early 90's) building rather than the older house picture shown on the website but to be honest we were staying inside the hotel not outside so we didn't really care.

The hotel is really a conference venue and this is clearly what it is geared towards rather than individual guests but for the price we thought it was good value. The room was on the second floor (be aware to take notice of the room numbering as it goes a bit odd!) and was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious so no complaints at all.

We ate in the restaurant three times and were impressed by the food each time, very nice and fair value. The only problem was on the Friday night we had to wait much longer for service (a three course meal took 2.5 hours) however as we were in no rush it wasn't a big deal even if we did get a bit thirsty waiting for someone to take a drinks order!

We also had to wait a long time for bar food on the Saturday afternoon so perhaps they are a bit shortstaffed however the staff themselves were all very friendly and apologetic.

We used the pool and jaccuzzi once and it was very nice, we acually had it all to ourselves which was a treat.

I wouldn't use this hotel if you were planning a romantic weekend or expect snap service however as a base for exploring the area it is very good value. The village of Ettington is very pretty with two great pubs within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,543 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,391 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing