We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pleasure lessens with every trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The pleasure lessens with every trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A strange place. A lovely old bit which features in all the pictures and a very boring utilitarian extension which forms 90% of the hotel. Bland tired rooms with zilch soundproofing. Terrible mobile phone reception. Been here 3 times now for conferences/workshops. The novelty has worn off. As a day venue for workshops it's fine. As an overnight/dining experience it falls short. The dinner on Tuesday was awful. I was in a party of eight. I pre-ordered a Sirloin Steak. A colleague pre-ordered a minute steak. When the meals arrived, I was presented with a minute steak. I was told at that point that the sirloin was unavailable. I essentially had the take it or leave it option. Not good. The chicken was inedible according to a colleague. All this at high-end prices. My advice is if you find yourself at Ettington, go eat at the two very good local pubs.

Credit where it's due - staff were very friendly and daytime food is fine. But don't fall for the website photo and think that this is a romantic country hotel. Its a conference venue.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ybabobmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    501
    359
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
764
17
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Spent the weekend here, all the staff were friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool was great, just the right temperature and clean.
Breakfast was good, excellent fried eggs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishy149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I was looking for a nice romantic break with my partner and thats exactly what we got. I booked a 'treat your partner' package with Principal Hayley group and was not disappointed.

Having read some previous reviews on Tripadvisor I specifically booked a room in the 'old house' . There are only 9 of the rooms are in the old house - which is a little decieving as you can only see the old house in all the promotional pictures. The rest of the rooms are on a large one level complex with the conference rooms.

The staff were nice but dinner was very disorganised. alot of the guests had prebooked different packages for a differing number of courses and prices and those who hadn't booked were paying a seperate figure. as you can imagine this lead to all sorts of confusion when guests had finished their meal and were trying to sort out the bill.

After dinner we waited at the bar but there were no bar staff, my partner had to go and get the manager of the restuarant to come to the bar and serve us and a growing group of gusets!

The spa facilities are clean and nice all bit a little small, especially the changing rooms which are less than half the size of the bedrooms and therefore not particularly private.

Checking out was a bit of a nightmar too as it seemed all the quests were checkning out at the same time and only 1 person was working. it took at least half an hour standing in a queue before we could leave. Again with different guests booking different packages there was some confusion and no privacy of conversation while all the other guests and standing in a queue.

I have to say though I had a lovely weekend and if the hotel can resolve the staffing issues (in my opinion this was just a lack of staff/training) I would recommend whole heartedly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbuck-BSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jalon alicante
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

as i stay in approx 70+ hotels a year something has to go wrong at some stage however sorting it out shoudnt be a problem, i stayed in superior room no 18 and room etc was fantastic. however on going back to our room to sleep at midnight things changed. my wife and i got into bed and within 10mins a pump or similar noise in the ceiling/walls started and continued to come on all night for about 15seconds then stop only to start again without fail 45seconds later. i had no sleep all night until about 7am when this stopped. i reported this to the duty manager and she told me i was the first person to report this, and would get the manager to contact me in the week.he has since done so and reports that room has been checked twice and they can find no problem. has anyone else had this problem if so please tell this site and contact myself peter letts on 07785234578 many thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I were booked on a 3 day break at this hotel as a present, and we were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly, rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. We ate in the restaurant on one evening, and had a most enjoyable meal, and the breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice, and really everything you needed. We did not go into the leisure suite so cannot comment on that.
There are several pubs in the village, which is a couple of minutes walk away, and we tried one, The White Horse, where the publican was extremely friendly, and the food tasty.
There is a bus stop just through the village, where the bus to Stratford-upon-Avon can be picked up - they only run a few times a day, but it really saves the hassle of trying to find your way round a one way system and expensive parking.
A most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dharhan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Started badly due to demeanor of lady at reception. Room not ready so went to bar to weight - no staff there for about 15mins! Safe in first room didn't work but we were moved quickly & efficiently. Room was clean but mattress on bed was way too soft so not a good nights sleep. Only way to turn TV off was at the wall & shower head needed changing. Also had to take kettle to other side of the room to plug it in! All in all stayed in much better places for less money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My company recently used this hotel for a conference, and the one thing that stands out is that the staff are very efficient and very polite, which is very important for this type of event.

The bedrooms are a decent size and comfortable. I would say however that they could probably do with a bit of a facelift and the installation of power showers too.

We ate dinner, breakfast and lunch in the restaurant. Dinner was a set menu due to the number of us and the fact it was a corporate event, but it was good. Breakfast was okay - there is a buffet, but I do agree with some of the other comments that it could be better. Lunch was again a buffet for us, and there was a decent selection of decent food and so no complaints.

The conference facilities, breakout rooms and associated service were all very good - which you should expect when you are accomodating over 150 people for a corporate event. We also utilised the grounds for outdoor activities, and so that worked well too.

I suppose if I was staying here for any other reason, the one thing I would flag is that it is tucked away on it's own. There are two pubs about a 10 to 15 minute walk away, but if it's raining, that isn't too much fun.

All in all a good business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the old wing if you want a room with a bit more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing