We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen because it was the closest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chosen because it was the closest”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I attended a wedding in the local area, so this hotel was the obvious choice.

The rooms are generic purpose-built 1990s hotel rooms. OK and comfortable enough, but a bit tired around the edges.

Breakfast was very good though, the staff friendly, and the pretty good bar prices.

Watch out for £2.50 fee for paying by credit card!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c33kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay. I hope you choose PH Hotels again in the future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    526
    372
    129
    73
See reviews for
145
797
19
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Ettington Chase hotel has almost everything. A great location, very good accommodation and excellent food at reasonable prices.

However, having stayed there for my son's wedding they let themselves and me down by not having the room booked ready for the time that was confirmed or even an hour later. This was inconvenient for my wife and I but it also happened for the bride and many of the other guests that were booked in for the wedding. I can't understand how a venue who takes a wedding booking with accommodation aren't able to turn rooms around within a couple of hours when they know beforehand that they have to do that. The attitude of the staff was generally one of couldn't be bothered.

The bedroom was very good and the bathroom was superb as was the wedding meal and breakfast along with the general quality of the hotel.

It's a case of could do better. Hopefully someone in charge will take note and they will do better.

Room Tip: Book a room in the old part of the hotel if there is a party on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerVanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taing the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. Apologies for the inconvenience of having to wait for your bedrooms to be available after your arrival. The previous occupants delayed their departure which meant the housekeeping team could not have them ready for you at 12pm as requested. However, I was pleased to read that your son's wedding was a success and I hope you will choose to use PH Hotels again in the future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The roomwe receieved, room 3, was beautiful at first glance, but signs of neglect soon became obvious. There had clearly been a leak of some sort and it had not even been properly painted over.
Once the bathroom window had been shut for more than a few minutes the overpowering smell of lavatory waste became over powering, Admittedly they moved us to another room, commenting the maintenance thought it had been dealt with. The new room, room 5, with our childs travel cot was too small, and the shower was pathetic, and our request to move back to room 3 once the problem had ben dealt took 2 days to be actioned, and only because Nicholas came on duty. The mens changing rooms was partly out of action, which is fair enough since maintenance must be done, but the maintenance team thought it was okay to take over all available space once they were in with no regard for paying guests. The price of £4.95 for a coffee was silly, but we were aware of their silly prices through reading Tripadvisor. There was no "complimentary" newspaper unless you collected it from the lounge, except once on Monday morning. The cleaners, didnt clean and EVERY surface was dusty. The hotel showed signs of lack of care. A bright pink stain on a wall and a dead moth remained on the stairs for the whole nine days of our stay. The reception staff apart from a gentleman named Nicholas, and a lady Louise were politely surly. The leisure area is run as a public club and the pool had time limits for children, so my child was unable to freely use though we were paying guests we would have liked more access. A rather disturbing thing for the 21st century happened, a white couple asked the reception staff what time an asian family were booked for dnner, and were told what time they should come down to avoid them. The GOOD bits... I MUST praise the dining area staff as being the one outstanding thing of our stay there. They were warm, friendly, welcoming and nothing, but nothing was a problem. To them I say thank you. The pool and jacuzzi area were well kept and added value to the holiday. We enjoyed looking at the rabbits in the garden area. Would we go there again? No. Is it 4 Star hotel? Definitely not. We have stayed in a 3 star Isle of Wight holtel that had higher standards, and nicer staff.

Room Tip: If you want quiet book the old building, but be aware of the poor maintenance and the fact
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. Please be assured it will be used to improve the service and facilities we offer here at Ettington Chase. Our Head Housekeeper was very disappointed to read our comments on the cleanliness of the hotel, this does not reflect our normal standards and we have addressed this directly with her team.
I would just like to address one point you make directly so other Trip Advisor user's do not gain a incorrect impression of the hotel. The reason the couple who were making a booking for dinner were advised to dine at a different time to the family group we had staying was due to operational reasons and no other. As the family were part of larger wedding group dining with us that evening to prevent any delays in service to other guests we plan seating times in the restaurant to avoid all diners sitting together.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

There are several important notes to take when booking this hotel. Location - far from the city. Service and food quality - average. Separate hot and cold water taps

First, the hotel looks nice on the outside with a big garden and many parking places. When you enter though it reminds of a Holiday Inn.

Now back to the main points. Going to Stratford-upon-Avon one would like to visit the city. This is almost impossible when staying in this hotel as you have to wait between 25 and 40 minutes for a taxi to come and then spend another 20 or 30 minutes to get to the city centre.

Again due to the location, I ate lunch/dinner at the hotel bar. 1) The waiting time to order was quite long having in mind the bar had only a few customers each time I visited. 2) The food was OK but not as tasty as one would expect for the prices.

And finally, even if wanting to keep the "ancient" look of the hotel, I find it quite frustrating when the hot and cold water taps are separate and to clean your face you have to go from the cold tap to the hot one in order to get warm water. The shower also looked like in need for a polish.

So overall it was a mixed experience.

And to finish on a positive note, I think the place would be really great for a party or a family event that would have people entertained within the hotel premises at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff. Food was good evening and breakfast. Good value Superbreaks stay as the dinner for two was thrown in on the first night. Most rooms are in a purpose built extension and not part of the original old house. This is slightly disappointing and although the rooms are clean and functional, they are nothing special. I'd say more 3*, than 4*. Small things like no sewing kit, shoe cleaner or shower cap which tend to come with most 4*s.
Other small irritants - no crisps or nuts at bar, just expensive "bar snacks". And £2.50 to pay balance by credit card and that they deduct £50 per night on your credit card in lieu of bar bills etc? Untrusting?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just got back from a one night stay, after reading reviews before we left asked to stay in the old part of the hotel so glad we did room was very clean and comfortable with a very large bathroom. The staff did not seem very happy at all, after unpacking we went to the lounge for a drink the bar was not very inviting could not sit down in lounge as table was covered in ants so went outside in the courtyard the hotel is more a conference center mon/Friday and with empty public areas at weekends. A shame this hotel could be great with the right atmosphere Stratford upon Avon is great and we will be back but not at this hotel. (bath robes were so rough and had to ask for extra milk and tea for the room also no biscuits) not what you except from a 4 star hotel

Room Tip: Ask for old building over looking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I feel cheeky complaining as I did not pay a great deal for the room, through last minute.com, however would have been extremely disappointed if I had.  The official pictures show a lovely manor house, however the bulk of the accommodation is similar to my old student halls of residence, a modern red brick building, lacking character.  The receptionist was polite, if lacking a little sincerity with the 5 minutes well rehearsed welcome speech, given without a pause for breath.
Not being a business customer, I only glanced at the conference facilities, which appeared to be adequate and spacious. Breakfast was offered at £10 per person or £14 if we just turned up.  I did not take the offer, so can not comment.
The room however was extremely disappointing. The décor was basic, colour scheme bizarre, walls and bathroom were grubby.  I even took to cleaning some of the walls myself and with little effort easily removing the dirty fingerprints left by visitors past. 
Kettle, tea and Coffee were nicely stored on a pull out shelf in the wardrobe, which appeared convenient at first, until you attempted to plug the kettle in, to discover no socket point near. There was one pillow per guest. The bathroom, with the plywood side to the bath, loosely screwed in, did not add to the room.
I did find a multi socket behind the bed, but it was to dirty and dusty to touch.  The headboard was thick with dust (see picture), as were the lamps.
I am not a person to stay in normally; however the £16 taxi fair to Stratford upon Avon, meant I made more of the Hotel’s facilities than I normally do. The Pool J & S were ok.
I would not stay again and appreciate why it is only rated 21 out of 29 on Trip Advisor, which is very disappointing for a four star hotel.  To be honest I did not complain, but you would not expect the need to in such a place. Poor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairtravel1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,218 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,056 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,054 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing