We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal on last minute.com”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great deal on last minute.com”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We booked this as part of a trip to see a couple of plays at the RST. Booked on last minute as a secret hotel deal - great value. Room was clean and spacious, although bathroom could have been better. Pool and leisure facilities were excellent - very few people there. About 15 minutes drive into Stratford itself. Food was good - drinks very expensive. Still, at Travelodge prices, if you can get them, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALandVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback, I appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay.
I hope this experience will encouarage you to continue to choose PH Hotels for furture short breaks.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    501
    357
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
762
17
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Why oh why do we do it? The day before a hotel stay you look at the reviews on Trip Advisor and wish you hadn’t have made that reservation.

A review is very much a personal opinion and I’m pleased to report mine is a very positive one. Please read “£13 for 2 glasses of wine! No mushrooms! I've got a horse!” review below as it is one of the funniest reviews I have read in ages.

Anyway....thanks to nannie and granddad my husband and I were experiencing a cbeebies free zone so booked the 2 night leisure package deal at Ettington Chase.

We were greeted by the receptionist who was very polite, welcoming and whom we do suspect owns a horse.

Our room
We selected an executive double room and were located in the old part of the hotel, up the squeaky stairs, where we found our very grown up, clean and comfortable room with a huge bed, flat screen TV, a fridge, double sinks and even a foot bath which I think is also known as a bidet. We even had a desk with a JR Ewing type chair. Fancy.

The Spa
If you’re expecting The Sanctuary you will be disappointed....however...the pool was exceptionally clean and quiet. There were a number of floats to have fun with and my husband balanced these on his head and arms like Bertie Bassett the liquorice allsorts man. This seems to be obligatory as I watched another man do the same the following day. The Jacuzzi was a little fierce but fun and the sauna was erm hot. Reception supplied the not so fluffy towels however it’s great that you don’t have to take your own.

Food
The Tempus Restaurant...one word....fab! The 3 course meal on our first night was included in our package and this proved very good value. The menu was varied and the food was delicious. No matter how full you are please try to eat the white chocolate cheesecake! The staff were welcoming and helpful especially the restaurant manager who had no issues with my husband returning his fillet steak which was over cooked for him. He likes his steak to Moo.
The only negative.... the wine was expensive (£15 for a giraffe...carafe) however the food was so delicious it didn’t really spoil the evening. The breakfast buffet was also held in The Tempus Restaurant. Again lots of variety (although no mushrooms) and the staff were amazingly cheerful for the early hours of the day.

The next night we took a very short stroll to The White Horse pub in the village where we ate the best Fish & Chips supper followed with a very reasonably priced giraffe of wine. However the atmosphere was a little strange...a combination of drum & bass together with a girl with her pet rats. We were not hallucinating.

Summary
The leisure package offer really was a great deal. Having read previous reviews I’m glad we booked an executive double as this for us made it a 4 star hotel. If we have a cbeebies free zone next year we will be back!

Room Tip: It's worth spending the extra pennies for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a postive review following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and will ensure your comments on the quality of the food are passed on to the kitchen team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Chase in the near future and hope you choose to stay with PH Hotels in some of our other sites across the UK.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I attended a wedding in the local area, so this hotel was the obvious choice.

The rooms are generic purpose-built 1990s hotel rooms. OK and comfortable enough, but a bit tired around the edges.

Breakfast was very good though, the staff friendly, and the pretty good bar prices.

Watch out for £2.50 fee for paying by credit card!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c33kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay. I hope you choose PH Hotels again in the future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

The Ettington Chase hotel has almost everything. A great location, very good accommodation and excellent food at reasonable prices.

However, having stayed there for my son's wedding they let themselves and me down by not having the room booked ready for the time that was confirmed or even an hour later. This was inconvenient for my wife and I but it also happened for the bride and many of the other guests that were booked in for the wedding. I can't understand how a venue who takes a wedding booking with accommodation aren't able to turn rooms around within a couple of hours when they know beforehand that they have to do that. The attitude of the staff was generally one of couldn't be bothered.

The bedroom was very good and the bathroom was superb as was the wedding meal and breakfast along with the general quality of the hotel.

It's a case of could do better. Hopefully someone in charge will take note and they will do better.

Room Tip: Book a room in the old part of the hotel if there is a party on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerVanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for taing the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. Apologies for the inconvenience of having to wait for your bedrooms to be available after your arrival. The previous occupants delayed their departure which meant the housekeeping team could not have them ready for you at 12pm as requested. However, I was pleased to read that your son's wedding was a success and I hope you will choose to use PH Hotels again in the future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The roomwe receieved, room 3, was beautiful at first glance, but signs of neglect soon became obvious. There had clearly been a leak of some sort and it had not even been properly painted over.
Once the bathroom window had been shut for more than a few minutes the overpowering smell of lavatory waste became over powering, Admittedly they moved us to another room, commenting the maintenance thought it had been dealt with. The new room, room 5, with our childs travel cot was too small, and the shower was pathetic, and our request to move back to room 3 once the problem had ben dealt took 2 days to be actioned, and only because Nicholas came on duty. The mens changing rooms was partly out of action, which is fair enough since maintenance must be done, but the maintenance team thought it was okay to take over all available space once they were in with no regard for paying guests. The price of £4.95 for a coffee was silly, but we were aware of their silly prices through reading Tripadvisor. There was no "complimentary" newspaper unless you collected it from the lounge, except once on Monday morning. The cleaners, didnt clean and EVERY surface was dusty. The hotel showed signs of lack of care. A bright pink stain on a wall and a dead moth remained on the stairs for the whole nine days of our stay. The reception staff apart from a gentleman named Nicholas, and a lady Louise were politely surly. The leisure area is run as a public club and the pool had time limits for children, so my child was unable to freely use though we were paying guests we would have liked more access. A rather disturbing thing for the 21st century happened, a white couple asked the reception staff what time an asian family were booked for dnner, and were told what time they should come down to avoid them. The GOOD bits... I MUST praise the dining area staff as being the one outstanding thing of our stay there. They were warm, friendly, welcoming and nothing, but nothing was a problem. To them I say thank you. The pool and jacuzzi area were well kept and added value to the holiday. We enjoyed looking at the rabbits in the garden area. Would we go there again? No. Is it 4 Star hotel? Definitely not. We have stayed in a 3 star Isle of Wight holtel that had higher standards, and nicer staff.

Room Tip: If you want quiet book the old building, but be aware of the poor maintenance and the fact
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. Please be assured it will be used to improve the service and facilities we offer here at Ettington Chase. Our Head Housekeeper was very disappointed to read our comments on the cleanliness of the hotel, this does not reflect our normal standards and we have addressed this directly with her team.
I would just like to address one point you make directly so other Trip Advisor user's do not gain a incorrect impression of the hotel. The reason the couple who were making a booking for dinner were advised to dine at a different time to the family group we had staying was due to operational reasons and no other. As the family were part of larger wedding group dining with us that evening to prevent any delays in service to other guests we plan seating times in the restaurant to avoid all diners sitting together.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

There are several important notes to take when booking this hotel. Location - far from the city. Service and food quality - average. Separate hot and cold water taps

First, the hotel looks nice on the outside with a big garden and many parking places. When you enter though it reminds of a Holiday Inn.

Now back to the main points. Going to Stratford-upon-Avon one would like to visit the city. This is almost impossible when staying in this hotel as you have to wait between 25 and 40 minutes for a taxi to come and then spend another 20 or 30 minutes to get to the city centre.

Again due to the location, I ate lunch/dinner at the hotel bar. 1) The waiting time to order was quite long having in mind the bar had only a few customers each time I visited. 2) The food was OK but not as tasty as one would expect for the prices.

And finally, even if wanting to keep the "ancient" look of the hotel, I find it quite frustrating when the hot and cold water taps are separate and to clean your face you have to go from the cold tap to the hot one in order to get warm water. The shower also looked like in need for a polish.

So overall it was a mixed experience.

And to finish on a positive note, I think the place would be really great for a party or a family event that would have people entertained within the hotel premises at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff. Food was good evening and breakfast. Good value Superbreaks stay as the dinner for two was thrown in on the first night. Most rooms are in a purpose built extension and not part of the original old house. This is slightly disappointing and although the rooms are clean and functional, they are nothing special. I'd say more 3*, than 4*. Small things like no sewing kit, shoe cleaner or shower cap which tend to come with most 4*s.
Other small irritants - no crisps or nuts at bar, just expensive "bar snacks". And £2.50 to pay balance by credit card and that they deduct £50 per night on your credit card in lieu of bar bills etc? Untrusting?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing