We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Having been booked into a "Family Room for 3" containing a double bed plus a single bed, it is only natural that any reasonable person would expect the room to accommodate 3 occupants. The website described its occupancy as "2 adults, 0 children" - which we assumed to be a mistake as it makes little/no sense.

Upon arrival, we were/felt interrogated by the check-in staff about the room, saying that "Family Room for 3" was merely the name for the room and not an indication of its occupancy, and that if we should have notified the hotel beforehand that we, as a family of 3 (and not 2), were to stay in the room. Ridiculous!

After a lot of faff regarding the room name, we were eventually checked in. The loo seat had very questionable stains... little droplets of dark stains circling most of the seat. The telly was missing its remote control. The beds, bed linen and pillows were comfortable. However, the single bed is location against the room's large radiator - so not for sleepers who don't like heat!

We had trouble using the phone and was unable to ring any outside numbers. The "Restaurant" button on the room phone was connected to the Reception instead of the restaurant. Eventually, we managed to order room service (arrived within a reasonable amount of time). The chips were nice, but avoid the fishcakes at all cost!

There was a wedding taking place at the hotel, which we didn't mind as it was a weekend in a country hotel so it was to be expected. In fact, the wedding reception room looked beautiful with all its fairy lights draping across the ceiling.

We were provided with a copy of our newspaper of choice in the morning, which they placed on the step of our room door. There was a wait to be seated for breakfast, which we didn't mind as it must have been busy with overnight guests from the wedding on the previous night. However, we were seated on a dirty table which had barely been cleaned. There were still bits of food/crumbs on the table AND chairs, and some of the cutlery had smear marks on them. We weren't sure if they were dirty or just badly cleaned, but stayed clear of them just to be safe. There were other clean tables around, so we weren't sure why we were seated on this particular one.

The breakfast itself was decent and had a variety of hot options, cereals, pastries, cold meats and juices. Our waiter at breakfast was a young chap, he was lovely and made a real effort. Toast was only available upon request, and ours never arrived!

The check-out was smooth. The two girls at reception were the same girls who also worked the previous evening; they were lovely and checked us out efficiently.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. I will investigate the issues you raised with the connection of your telephone, cleanliness of the bathroom and service at Sunday Breakfast. Even if we are busy there is no excuse for dirty tables or cutlery.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    490
    355
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
747
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Have been to conference here a couple of times and standards have definately dropped. Evening meal was not brilliant, public toilets were not cleaned often enough. I even drew a line in the dust and it was still there the next day!! Breakfast was a joke - cooked food was luke warm, no glasses for orange juice, cutlery missing from tables, no offer of coffee, i had to ask twice. Very scarce staff. Food ran out at lunchtime and again scarce staff! Not impresssed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Sorry you feel our standards on your recent visit did not meet those you have previously experienced. Because of the style of service at breakfast and lunch for conference delegates on occasions food and other items can run out but we always endeavour to replenish these as swiftly as possible. Should you with to discuss these issues further then I would be more than happy to do so. My email address is stuart.fleming@principal-hayley.com shoudl you wish to contact me.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Arrived at the hotel and was pleased with how it looked. There isnt much of a reception area and there was a wait for checking in but this was mainly because there was a wedding at the time. We were shown to our room on the first floor. The room was very nice and modern and beds were comfortable. Later on we went down to dinner in the main restaurant and this is where our stay went downhill!! Our starter was nice (there was insufficient staffing levels for a saturday night) but the main course was awful. It arrived cold and tasted like it was microwaved! We refused to eat our main course and, although we offered to pay for the starters, the Manager agreed to take everything off the bill. This was a tricky situation as one of the party had not eaten at all and it was, by now, coming up to 9:00pm and we couldnt get food elsewhere in the hotel. Overall I would say that this is a lovely hotel which unfortunately is let down by low staffing and the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Make Sure You Get A Room In The Main Block,Because They Are Nicer And Cleaner Than Other Blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Sorry your felt your main meal let down the hotel on this occasion. As you will see from previous reviews we have had some very positive comments on the food quality so I was saddened to read of your disappointment. I understand from our restaurant manager that as a gesture of goodwill he would not accept payment for any of your meal. We serve food in our bar until 9.45pm and also offer 24hr room service so food would have been available outside of the restaurant after 9pm.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having booked through lastminute Secret Hotel I cannot complain... this hotel I think is a good 4 star , friendly staff and very accomodating. Our room was not ready at 2pm but as we were going in Stratford anyhow did not matter , hotel took our bags and off we went, Upon return we had a fabulous room with great views and we took the bottle bubbly which was in our room (friends had ordered for us) to the bar who opened it and let us drink it there rather than in our luxurious room...
I had emailed in advance to request a nice room with a view so sometimes it pays to ask...
Nothing was dirty, breakfast was lovely staff friendly , pool and areas clean.... for what we paid .. perfect

Room Tip: Contact them ask for room with a good view... our room 018 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniealexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share it with the team here. I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Booked a one night stay at Ettington Chase on Saturday 22 September, opted for Half Board.
Bedroom very clean and spacious but bed very hard and uncomfortable. Meal in restaurant was very good apart from no Fillet steak available as sold out by 8.15 p.m we opted for the sirloin which was very nice. The hotel pool is lovely water warm and also gym and sauna facilities. There was a wedding party on and we had permission from the bride to join the evening entertainment which was a very good disco. Breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent. Would definately return to this hotel again for a short break.
Location of hotel is a short drive into Stratford Upon Avon which was good to visit the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAS50562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share it with the rest of our team and I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
501 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Ettington Chase must once have been a lovely Victorian country house. Its now part of the very strangely named Hayley-Principal group. The old house has now been almost destroyed by attaching a large and very ugly 1980's conference hotel to it. What possessed the planning authorities to allow it to be built I have no idea! It looks a bit like a block of flats.

The person who checked me in couldn't have been less interested. My room was on the second floor and was dull and didn't have a single interesting feature. Think student accommodation. It was depressing and dull. The bedspread was stained, the bottom sheet was too small for the mattress, the trouser press broken and the bathroom like an NHS hospital bathroom - dreadful towels and really cheap toiletries.

I had dinner - I waited 45 minutes for a main course of dry, over cooked chicken. The maitre 'd was actually quite engaging but failed to manage the staff. The restaurant was in chaos. The waitresses are completely untrained and are sweet but clueless. They seem like agency staff. The food is very ordinary indeed - the chef clearly loves chutney and salt - sadly I don't!

I went to the bar and Jamie, the barman, was brilliant and has a personality but he really is the only member of staff who does.

This hotel really is just a conference hotel or training venue, although sold as a wedding venue. The thought of starting ones married life here is horrifying! . However, it's also miles £28 away from the nearest decent train station so not even conveniently located for business.

I can't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Sorry to hear of your disappointment at your recent stay with us. We are a primarily a conference hotel hence the purpose built accommodation block where your bedroom was located. We do offer 17 upgraded bedrooms in both our new block and the Old House, the original Chase, which are available to book at a supplement and offer many interesting and original features which I'm sure would have better suited your expectations. I will discuss your comments regarding restaurant service with the relevant team to make improvements to our service.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax West Yorks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the 'Ettington Chase'. We were part of the 'Superbreak' deal for 2 nights bed and breakfast plus evening meal on the 1st night.
Firstly, the welcome from the receptionist was half hearted and we felt that we were disturbing her time. We were given no details about the hotel's facilities and the attitude of this member of staff was distinctly haughty and impolite - not a promising start.
The room (207) was on the 1st floor facing another part of the hotel which was holding the wedding receptions. A van blocked our view and remained there throughout the evening on the first night. The decor of the room was dated and the room was dark with just a small window for any natural light.
The evening meal was good with an interesting menu and the staff here were pleasant. Breakfast was only average with only the basics offered and it did resemble a school canteen on the 1st morning. Essential items such as salt and pepper were in short supply and I did have to smile when a fellow diner was informed that the cruet would become available in 5 minutes!
One of the most annoying features was being in the middle of two consecutive wedding receptions. Each night we were woken by guests returning to their room at 2am. Why put us in the middle of the party?
So overall, I would not recommend a stay here and I hope some of the above observations and comments are noted and acted upon by the Management.

Room Tip: Well away from any wedding parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed you were not afforded the usual friendly welcome we encourage our team to provide and that there appeared to be insufficient equipment for service at breakfast. I will ensure these points are addressed. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your evening meal and I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team.
I take your point regarding wedding guests returning to their bedrooms creating a disturbance but unfortunately we cannot allocate all our wedding guests in one area of the hotel as we do not always know exactly who is attending events within the hotel and who is not. If wedding guests book independently of the wedding party then we will not know they are attending the wedding so will not be allocated a room in the same area as their fellow guests and potentially next to non wedding guests.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing