We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Nice hotel if you want a good base to explore the Cotswolds - very clean and friendly, quiet and less than 7 miles from Stratford upon Avon. The meal in the hotel was a real joy - a good selection on the menu and everything tasted superb - highly recommend a visit. The hotel is primarily used as a conference centre, but we used the leisure facilities (sauna, jacuzzi, gym and pool) and all were very good - if it had been warmer we would have tried the tennis court. Free wifi was useful to help keep in touch with the family and we visited several nearby places including Warwick and Coventry during our time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay, I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    502
    359
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
765
17
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay through super breaks as a B&B deal, having done some research into the hotel we decided to pay an extra £25 each and upgrade the room to an executive suite.

It is worth remembering that the hotel has 2 sections, the website shows the old part of the hotel where the excustive rooms are, however there is a large part of the hotel that is in the new build. If you like the look of the pictures on the website I would recommend upgrading, it was worth it.

Large room, bathroom with power shower and double sink, seating area with lovely view of the gardens and huge bed.

Hotel itself is ideally located, a short drive from Stratford, along a straight road.

Lovely breakfast, hot, plenty of pleasant staff to attend to the guests. Pool was an added bonus, warm, not very busy at all and if you not going there expecting a spa you will be impressed.

Overall a lovely stay, lots of helpful staff, Great location and top quality room, would happily stop again but perhaps not pay the listed price on the website.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onelife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay and I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat for our wedding Aniversary.

Not the old featured hotel in the blurb. It is predominately a modern hotel.

The room was spacious, warm and comfortable, although the bed had a slope towards the middle, so we has a cosy nights together. It was also quiet where we were. The shower bath was very small and the shower head leaked. The shower control took getting used to but we managed it in the end. Being critical there was a small amount of mould on the ceiling.
Breakfast started early and ended late morning - great for sleeping in. It was plentiful and varied.
Evening meal was very disappointing - the menu we were offered was basic food and not what I had expected from their write up. The sausages were very disppointing and nothing special for an evening meal - the breakfast sausages were far far better. The decor of the hotel is looking tired and is in need of a spruce up to bring more up to date.

The spa facilities were good for a quick dip. The pool was very clean and clear. The jacuzzi and sauna was refreshing. It would have benefitted from a steam room and chairs around the pool to unwind and relax.

We went on a deal but would have been very upset to pay the full rate for what we got.

The really big plus point for the hotel is the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful from our arrival to our departure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. Sorry to read you found your standard room disappointing and I'll investigate your feedback regarding the shower to rectify the problem with the head. I'll also pass your feedback re the Sausages on our evening menu to the menu developement team at head office.
Thank you for your positive comments on the staff here at Ettington.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I booked this hotel for a treat for my 60th birthday for myself and my husband, no deals etc., chosen by me. Dissapointed oh yes. Booked for 3 nights Mon, Tues, Wed. Purely set up for conferences, we felt like fish out of the water, booked for the pool and jacuzzi guess what pool closed for 2 days reopened on the weds evening we were going home on the thursday no one told us it had reopened. Breakfast (Tues) on the first morning no problems, weds and thurs shocking, it was cold and the eggs were like rubber, one lady was complaining about the same problem but was told by one the staff that she had taken the cold plates instead of the warm ones??? Insulting ones intelligence. The drive up to the main building is in poor repair with big potholes, and lighting needs sorting out, you couldnt walk at night. Hotel food expensive found a pub 3 minutes away called the White Horse, 2 courses £9.95 superb. Maybe different at weekends I wont be finding out, I wont be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Sorry to read you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologise that the breakfast was not up to standard on two of the three days you stayed with us. We were very busy with conference guests during the week you stayed so you would have found the majority of your fellow residents were involved with these meetings, at weekends we are predominantly a leisure destination. I'm afraid I must disagree with your description of the length of time the swimming pool was closed to the public. We had to carry out emergency repairs to the facility and this took place from 10pm on Tuesday evening and was completed by 2pm on Wednesday. Effectively the pool was only closed for 7 operational hours and not the 2 days stayed in your review. Unfortunately the harsh winter has caused some damage to our car park and entrance driveway and this will be repaired as soon as the weather allows.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The photo of the hotel shown on all advertising material is of the reception building around which the hotel is based and is a little misleading because basically, the majority of the hotel facilities are in large modern annexe connected to it and little Victorian character remains. This is primarily a conference centre, so there were a lot of men in grey suits around during our stay. It was in a quiet setting, very clean and in good decorative order. I loved the spa with a very warm unusual (octagonal?) swimming pool with jacuzzi and a sauna off of the changing rooms, which had very powerful showers. Having to collect a towel from reception is a nuisance if you are forgetful as I am and have to dry off in the sauna! Our standard room was spacious with above-average quality furniture. The bed was too soft for me as like a large percentage of the population, I have back problems. Of course, this is a matter of taste. We had to put the mattress on the floor the second night. Astonishingly, the bathroom had no heating - not even a towel rail, which seems extraordinary given our climate!
Personally, I don't much like breakfast buffets, as inevitably something will be cold and scrambled eggs are always overcooked. I would have preferred fresh to tinned fruit, otherwise it was fairly typical/average. We very much appreciated the complimentary coffee machine, snacks and home-made cakes available at the self-service bar in the bar area (hope these were not meant just for conference guests! A great idea if the hotel wants to stand out from others of its type).
All in all, great value with pleasant surroundings as well as very handy for Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footsoreinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share them with the rest of the team here at Ettington.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked this as a Groupon deal - so went with an open mind. We were a bit concerned having read some of the negative comments - but decided to go with the flow considering the price we paid. I agree the entrance/reception area is a bit of a facade and the building itself is modern as opposed to the expected stately home type of building. Having said that, the hotel is enormous! Huge public areas and geared towards conferences and weddings. There was a wedding going on when we arrived - but that was the last we saw of the party. We received an extremely warm and pleasing welcome, and the busy receptionist explained the facilities in detail.

As part of our Groupon deal, we had free hot chocolate & marshmallows on arrival, which was a nice gesture following a long drive. We also had a small box of chocolates and a free bottle of bubbly which could be taken in the bar, restaurant or room.

The room was a spacious double (No: 316) with an ample seating area, dressing table with large mirror, enclosed tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board, hair dryer etc. There were also added extras such as bathrobes and slippers.

There was no view from this particular room -but we didn't mind as we were there to enjoy the facilities.

Guests also have access to the leisure club - and it was a shame that we did not do our homework in advance as these were open until 10pm - so there would have been more than enough time to enjoy this facility.

A two course dinner was included in our deal offering four or five choices for each course. It was very well presented and was excellent value for money taking the deal into consideration. The South African gentleman maitre'd was charming and helpful as were the rest of the young team of staff. Breakfast was taken in the same restaurant and was served until,11am on Sunday morning.

We really cannot fault this hotel and would definately recommend to anyone looking for a base near Stratford.

Room Tip: Pack your leisure clothes and swimwear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay and for taking the time to post a positive review. I'll be sure to share your comments with the team here at Ettington and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a visit to Cheltenham Horse Racing Festival, the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was ok, limited choice of hot food, mushrooms and hash browns rather than fried potatoes would have been nice. The service was good and all the staff friendly and helpful. Had an evening meal one night, the choice of food was limited and quite expensive. The rooms were of a good size, only critisim is that the shower could not be angled to avoid water spraying on the floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay. I hope you had a successful time at Cheltenham races and you choose to stay with us for next years meeting.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing