We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
england
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent little get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

My friend and i stayed at ettingtin chase on a special littke breaks getaway. It was excellent value and uncluded overnight stay use of the pool and jacuzzi and a two course dinner with bottle of wine fir two and breakfast for two. The food was delicious and so was the breakfast i would definetly make use of this option again and advise people to go. The staff were extremely freindly and yoy have use of towels for the pool. Bedrooms were very spacious too all in all fabulous value

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    489
    353
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
744
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a Supabreak deal, which included breakfast & one dinner.
The hotel consists of an old house with large modern buildings added. Andrew, on reception, deserves a special mention as he was friendly, efficient & helpful.
The restaurant & bar staff vary, but most are efficient & friendly. The food at both dinner & breakfast was very good. Some of the cutlery & glasses in the bar were dirty however.
The standard room (109) was a little tired & the baby crying up in the room above could be clearly heard through the night. The curtain did not provide enough blackout and the room needed a better standard of cleaning: bits by the bed that needed hoovering, sticky desktop, the bathroom floor needed a good steam clean (muck in the corners, by the door & round the toilet). Also when a room is for 2 people, there should be 2 sets of toiletries & 2 plastic cups, plus ordinary tea bags & both should be replenished for the 2nd night.
Housekeeping definitely requires a shake-up! Pity, because the rating could easily be 4 or 5.
They cater for conferences, so a tip is to book your meal time at reservation, as you could fiind that you may be eating later than you wanted.
The hotel is well situated for Stratford-upon-Avon, just a few miles down the A422.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay. I was disappointed to read your comments relating to the condition of your bedroom and will address them with my housekeeong manager.

KInd regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Promised a room upgrade pre-booking and on arrival we didnt get one this was part of the reason we booked. The room though was very clear and modestly decorated to a fair standard. The hallways and communal areas do strike you somewhat of a retirement home though. The food in the evening was really nice but the service was shocking to say the least. The waitress's avoid eye contact when needed and we were left with finished plates for 15 minutes at the end of our meal. Also we ordered drinks on arrival and only got one of the drinks halfway through the main course (we had a starter aswell) and the second drink we had to ask for again, glad we got the deal off groupon because we would have refused to pay following the service.

The bar well its a hotel at the end of the stay so we did expect high prices but I ordered a pint of lager and a small wine this cost £10.25 hotel or not this is extortion to boot I looked up the cost of a bottle of the wine my partner was drinking and it can be purchased for £6 online!!

The atmosphere for a bar area was dead this I put down to the positioning and the lack of people in the place probably down to the stupid prices, they would get more people and a better atmosphere and probably sell more if they halfed the pricing.

The pool was lovely cant fault that at all major ++ for the hotel as this was amazing everything from the changing rooms to the showers to the pool itself cannot fault excellent!

Breakfast this was much better but to be fair the food was buffet style help yourself so we were never going to be let down by incompetent staff!

I will finish with the area the hotel is way out of the way for Stratford if you dont drive or choose not to take the car its £15 in a taxi into startford but it is a beautiful place to go and walk around.

Lastly if you do want to go for a drink 5 min walk down the road there is a couple of pubs with fantastic buzz about them we really enjoyed and to top it is off we got change from £7 for our 2 drinks brill!

All in all the stay was OK but thats the best I can say and I would not go back or recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We recognise our centrally set bar pricing reflects the hotel competition in the area rather than the 2 local pubs and as such we also offer a number of promotions on both wines and beer to give options to our guests. I'm sorry the service you describe receiving from our Tempus team was so poor and this is certainly not indicitive of our usual standards. Our location in relation to Stratford upon Avon of approximately 6 miles is clearly mentioned on all our advertising materials.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We celebrated my Mothers 70th birthday here, and although the accommodation was lovely, the dinner was not up to the standard advertised we felt. Apart from being overpriced the food was a little cold and the meat tough. The children's meal was very expensive and they only had frozen poor quality fish and chips. It had not been explained to us the children aged 9 and 11 could eat from our menu at half rate. However the setting is peaceful and the hotel generally family friendly in a beautiful countryside setting. If there are suitable special offers we will return but not at the prices we paid.

Room Tip: Overlooking the fields sheep were grazing very pastoral
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doccog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase. I hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just spent the weekend here at a bargain price, Saturday to Monday. We found it excellent. We enjoyed the pool and the Jacuzzi. We only ate breakfast but the food was lovely and all the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. It made our Shakespeare weekend even more enjoyable. xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

stayed overnight for a wedding on oct 26th, reasonable priced . could not fault at all. rooms lovely clean bright beds comfy. wedding was very nice. my daughter said best food ever had at a wedding well organised. did not use facilities so cannot comment about that. yes would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you would choose to stay with us again and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

As a regular visitor to this hidden little gem of a hotel we are never disappointed. Excellent leisure factilites and a good base to explore the local villages and Stratford upon Avon. A trip to Wellsbourne is always worthwhile, especially The Kings Head, where the coal fire is a welcoming feel in the colder evenings!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing