We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a wkend in Stratford. We stayed at Ettington chase hotel on a groupon voucher. Well worth the money. Our deal included 3 course evening meal a bottle of sparkling wine with dinner superior room and buffet breakfast.
The staff at the hotel were really helpful and polite. The room was lovely (room 11), very clean and spacious, the pillows could have been a bit softer. The restaurant was very nice, we had a set menu with choice. The food was lovely and very filling. The restaurant staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, plenty of tea & coffee. The whole hotel was very clean and welcoming. A lovely wkend, will visit again. Thankyou

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisajchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a positive review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for one night on a special dinner, bed & breakfast rate.

This a large hotel (much larger than the publicity photos suggest) and is geared towards conference and corporate guests. There were several conferences there on our visit (Wed-Thu) and they inevitably dominated the public areas.

Our standard room was comfortable but on the small side and nothing special. A small window, tired bathroom with a very poor shower, small tv and a poor wifi connection (which was only free for 30 minutes).

The dinner was excellent. We had three courses from a limited menu (3 or 4 choices) but the quality was good. And there was a complimentary bottle of wine.

The breakfast buffet was not as good. We arrived after the conference guests had left and found that many of the hot dishes had been standing for some time. There was a very limited cold buffet and a lot of the fruit was all from tins. The coffee was excellent - strong and plenty of it.

Although I would not choose this hotel at full price, our deal delivered great value for money.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a response following your recent stay with us. We offer a selection of bedroom upgrades which are available to book directly with us.
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here over the weekend 28/3 to 30/3. The hotel itself was lovely, with a nice reception area and lovely leisure facilities. The only issue was that the room was very basic and did not look anything like the pictures. I feel for the price the rooms need to be updated. However, The room was very clean, spacious and there was not much noise which was good. Staff were friendly and breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a positive review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. Our website carries images of all our bedroom types and we offer a selection of bedroom upgrades which are bookable directly with the hotel.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

my husband and I have just celebrated my husbands birthday with a groupon deal for dinner bed and breakfast. I have to say it was well worth the money . we upgraded to a superior room that was lovely very spacious and clean, we ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely and the service by all the staff was brilliant and again the following morning the breakfast was lovely and again the staff were very attentive and friendly. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and would definitely visit again myself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loafersheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for posting a positive review following your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share your feedback with the team here and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was a bit nervous about staying in this place. I’ve never heard of Principal Hayley Hotels and the reviews on here were patchy. I needn’t have worried. As to the setting, there is an attractive original period house, attached to a vast, spotlessly clean box, with some modern and some “time warp” areas (eg the guest lounge). The grounds are vast. Bedrooms are basic, clean and comfortable; room safe, basic TV, no minibar, hairdryer and very scant toiletries. The public areas are a mixed bag – bar and restaurant are modern, if soulless. Other public areas are dated and a bit scruffy. The leisure facilities are impressive – although with a strange “collect your towel from reception” system which is hardly convenient or guest-centred.
We were on a Groupon package – less than £100 for a twin room, dinner, bed and breakfast, including a bottle of wine. The food was very good, not fine dining but very acceptable. What marks this hotel out is the service. All of the (fairly young) staff we came across were remarkably friendly and helpful. If there was a hiccup, they overcame it cheerfully. I read an earlier comment about the lack of staff pride in their work – I couldn’t disagree more! I think whoever hires and trains here does a great job.
This is a very good 4 star hotel with an excellent team. And the packages they offer are excellent value indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase, I was especially pleased to read your comments relating to the service the team here delivered to you and I'll be sure to share your feedback with them.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely hotel, just outside of Stratford upon Avon. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable, Every single member of staff encountered was friendly and helpful. The leisure facilities, were simple, but in excellent condition. The only criticism would be breakfast, It was nearly £15 for the full buffet, Whereas it was an amazing breakfast, and well worth the £15, it would add up and be expensive over a stay of several days, It might be better to have a cheaper alternative (i.e a cereal and toast selection) for those who don't want a fully cooked breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: Ignore the reviews that complain about the rooms in the wings being sub standard. We stayed in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a positive review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. We believe our breakfast offers good value for money but by booking in advance online you can save a further £5 per person.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here as a groupon deal. The location is great, 5-10 mins drive into Stratford, just make sure you have a good amount of money for the car parking prices! The staff are all exelent and couldn't do enough for you! The food was lovely. I would also recommend trying the local pub down the road 'the white horse' very friendly people and the chef would also come out and check everything's good! I would defiantly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a positive review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,555 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing