We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service - only a few finer points to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food and service - only a few finer points to improve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The food was superb and the staff excellent in every way from the 3 course meal to the buffet breakfast. Bed was comfy and the facilities generally good. Just the television reception was oddly poor. If only the spa was better this would have had a top rating from me. There was no steam room, no water fountains, no chairs around the pool and it felt a bit lacking in the area that mattered quite a bit for a relaxing break. If you are not worried about the spa then a great hotel. If that is what you are going for, then like us, you may feel a bit let down. Overall though good for the price with a few little niggles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase. I am pleased to say that we have recently upgraded the TV signal receiving equipment and now have 30 channels available in our standard acommodation which we believe offers a good choice.
I hope you choose to stay at Ettington Chase again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    501
    359
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
764
17
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Came here for a Business meeting and as usual the stay was very pleasant in a quiet rural location.. The staff are great (in particular the Restaurant Manager), and the room I had was clean and luxurious although to be fair I was in one of the suites (see photo). The all day cafe is very handy for Business meetings as you don't have to stick rigidly to timings, being able to break for refreshments at your convenience. My only gripe about the conference rooms was the raucous shouting from the meeting next door. The separating "wall" was very thin. Still it gave us something to laugh about. Oh yes and the temperature control was not the easiest to work.
The bar was reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard and the food was well cooked and very tasty, however, where were the vegetables????? A meal to me has at least 2 different veg with it. One large croquette and some cress does not do it for me (see photo).
Wifi was free for Conference delegates and available throughout the hotel although the service in my room was intermittent. Slept like a dream in a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast the next day was tasty and well-organised, and the overall service from the Restaurant was exemplary.
We'll be back again for future meetings!

Room Tip: Volunteer to organise the meeting and you might be given a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numpty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase. I'll be sure you share your feedback with the team here and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our conference facilities.
I hope to welcome you back in the nea future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and was really impressed. The hotel staff were really friendly on the whole and very accommodating. The breakfast was great too! The location of the place is superb - just 10 minutes and you're in beautiful Stratford. We also took full advantage of the swimming pool and sauna.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway...just make sure you book a Deluxe room like we did as I know others were not impressed with the standard ones.

Would have been nice to try the restaurant and bar but we found it too expensive - that is really my only criticism.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We offer some competitive dinner inclusive rates on our website if you would like to try dining in Tempus restaurant on your next visit.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in th near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My partner booked this as he was impressed with the picture of the hotel advertised. However when we arrived and checked in we were surprised that we had to walk through the main main areas with our luggage so that we could access our room. We felt that we were on public display!

The room was standard but adequate. There was no radiator or heated towel rail in the bathroom which was annoying. The walls were really thin resulting in being able to hear our neighbours beside us and upstairs too clearly for comfort.

The hotel seemed fully occupied when we stayed resulting in waits for dinner despite a pre booked time and breakfast on the first morning. Notwithstanding this the staff group were helpful and polite, apologising for us having to wait to be seated on these occasions. What makes this hotel is definitely the young enthusiastic and professional staff employed. They are truly an asset to the hotel and should be nurtured and rewarded for their hard work. Thanks Matt for looking after us.

We used the spa and swimming pool which was nice and relaxing. Would we return, unfortunately the answer is no as it is not the intimate type of hotel that we like to enjoy but a good base to enjoy the local surroundings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 24Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Sorry to read that our venue was not to your preference but I was very pleased to read that the team here impressed you and I'll be sure to share your feedback with them. We operate a monthly colleague recognition award so I'll shall nominte Matt this month based on your comments.
I hope you choose to stay at PH hotels again in the future as some of other properties may offer the more intimate surroundings you prefer.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Easter wedding 2014- the hotel made our day perfect! Nothing was too much trouble.
From arrival to departure we were treated as bride and groom for the whole weekend not just one day. All of the staff were brilliant especially Imran who was just a phone call away if we had any issues.
Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean, with amazing views of the hotel gardens (the Tennyson suite)
Our family and friends stayed the night and all said they would love to come back and all commented how good everything was from staff, food and drink to rooms and leisure facilities.
Would highly recommend this venue for a wedding and for a short get-away.
All in all a perfect setting!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxjessiex87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your wedding with us. I was very pleased that we were able to contribute to making your special day so memorable and I'll be sure to share your feedback with the team here at Ettington Chase. We operate a monthly staff recognition scheme and based on your comments I'll nominate Imran this month.
May I take this opportunity to wish both a long and happy marriage.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very poor room, old and worn out bed, Smokers ignoring the signs and chatting and smoking until late outside the window, so it had to be closed on a warm night. Poor tea and coffee facilities, over priced bar with poor selection of wine, and boil in the bag or brakes brothers menu.
Swimming pool then occupied by kids with their mums, clearly no staying at the hotel and outside of the no kids times.
Do not bother with the reception staff, they don't listen and apart from swiping your card , aren't interested in anything else.
Sad to say its back to the Holiday inn next visit.

Room Tip: to be frank 'it doesn't do what it says on the tin'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Sorry to read of your issues with your recent stay. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I will be more than happy to listen to your issues in more detail.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Ettington on a Groupon deal, which included B&B and evening meal. In fact we were going to the theatre so asked if we could change the evening meal for something at the bar, and after some checking, this was agreed. Food was pretty average if I'm honest, and the busy bar only had one person on duty (who was very good and did his best). The room was comfy although a bit dark as it only had one small window. The décor is ok, but nothing special. Bathroom a bit tired. Had a good night sleep though, and it was pretty quiet. Good hotel and good value with the deal, but I wouldn't be in a rush to return, this is much more of a business/conference hotel I would say.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. They are several other properties within our group which may be more suited to your needs and I hope you take a look on our website ph-hotels.com when deciding on where to take your next short break.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing