We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ettington Chase Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel(Charlecote)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Inn(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$132
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The George Townhouse(Shipston-on-Stour)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The White Bear(Shipston-on-Stour)
US$106
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveller rating
389
584
413
146
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
584
413
146
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsettington chasegroupon dealleisure facilitiesjacuzzi and saunaevening mealmurder mystery weekendchequers innstratford upon avonbuffet breakfastbar pricessuperior roomlovely groundsweekend breaktrouser pressboth morningsshort drivefirst morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
926 - 931 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good location in central England. I was there on business, and was happy with the service and set up. Everything was delivered smoothly. The conference rooms are good. Rooms are excellent. If you are using the hotel for pleasure, a car is essential as Stratford is still a decent drive away (although looks close on a map).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent visit. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a weekend away with a groupon offer. The hotel was pleasant enough, a bit corporate, more premier inn than country house hotel, but we had a really good stay. Our deal included a 3 course meal and a bottle of sparkling wine. We could choose which night we would like the meal and they changed the wine to a nice bottle of red, which we appreciated. The meal was really great and the restaurant busy and with a good atmsophere. We used the pool and sauna and practically had the place to ourselves. It is ideally placed for visiting Stratford Upon Avon, which is about 15 minutes drive away. On our second night we ate in the pub in the village just a few minutes walk away which was delicious too. All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which is pretty much what you get.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahblahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time and I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have stayed at Ettington Chase Hotel a number of times over the last 7 or 8 years and found it an ideal hotel being so close to Stratford and surrounding area. We have noticed quite a few changes over that time - all to the good. For instance, on our first visit we found the breakfast set up to be a complete shambles but on future visits we have seen continual improvements and on this last visit they were a highlight of the stay! Having stayed in different rooms we had found out that some rooms at the back of the hotel overlooked the staff car park and therefore, through necessity, could be noisy very late at night and again very early as staff departed and arrived so we were a little disappointed to find we had been allocated such a room on this stay. However, we had a word with the Reception Staff who found us a lovely room at the front of the hotel and we had 3 brilliant nights sleep! We do find that the staff will do their best to help if they can (and if approached properly of course). We always say hotels should be given more than one chance and we are pleased that we gave this one more than one! We love the pool. I was surprised to read a comment saying the pool was too cold. We have always found it a perfect temperature. It feels cold if you go in straight from the jacuzzi or the sauna though! Wouldn't any pool? We stayed during the school half term week so expected that the pool would be open for children at some point which it was but didn't find it a problem. I felt children should have been allowed to use the pool more than they were actually. On the first evening we found two light bulbs were not working. We phoned Reception and within 10 minutes a very cheerful, helpful man had been to check them and gone to bring new ones which he fitted for us - sorted! We didn't have any evening meals as we like to be out and about but it seemed to be very popular. We would like to see better priced wines available as there was nothing under £20. We used to be able to enjoy a bottle for about £15. We managed to get a good deal by speaking directly to the hotel which says on its website 20% off to book direct and they are true to their word. This hotel is not one of the quaint stereotypical Cotswold Inn type places but is very pleasant with all the amenities you would need and with decent size rooms and en-suites. As with any hotel it is difficult to keep up with every bit of wear and tear but overall the standard is good. It provides basic toiletries which should be more than adequate for most visitors and teas and coffees (perhaps the tray could have a couple more milks and coffees - I know we can ask at Reception but it would be nice not to have to do this). We found our room to be very clean and bright with regular housekeeping. The weather wasn't good enough to wander round the grounds but we have done this in the past and found it very pleasant. There is a huge car park so even when conferences are on you can easily park the car. It is reassuring to have security codes to access the hotel and leisure facilities. To summarise we would say it is a lovely modern hotel with good amenities in a character building - if you are wanting quaint then perhaps this isn't the one but if you want a relaxing break near Stratford then this is the one. We will definitely be visiting again as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in room 318 this time and would request it again.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your honest and factual review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us. Please be assured that your loyal custom is very much appreciated and I will look into the points you have raised to see where we can continue to improve both our product and service delivery.
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A nice place in a lovely area of the Cotswolds and great surroundings.
Good leisure facilities, nice menu in the restaurant
Our room was standard and adequate for us, nice and quiet.
Nice breakfast with pleasant service.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us. I do hope you choose to visit again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having quickly checked other reviews, I would alter my opinion in respect of classifying this only as a conferencing and venues hotel, IF I had booked an upgraded room, but of course, priced accordingly. I had a classic double, which was simply, but pleasantly styled and very spacious. The bathroom was a little dated. Disappointingly, the window, tho styled to match the old house part of the Hotel, is narrow and looked out over the rest of the building. The nicer views are clearly from the upgraded rooms.
The styling of the public areas is pleasant but not characterful, more suited to business meetings (though photos of the restaurant food and dim lighting tends to create an ambience).
I had bar food, which was reasonably priced bearing in mind it is a Hotel, but the sandwich was a bit bland, the bread was a bit chewy at the edges as though recently defrosted. The chowder was pleasant. Staff were very professional and friendly.
The original part of the building is lovely from the outside with a stylish glass door entrance, but the "workings" of the Hotel are primarily in the modern building attached.
For a Hotel of this size, I found the description of the "Spa" was inapt. There is only a pool, and sauna, not sizeable or attractive enough to draw me in.
It is a good hotel but I found it a bit bland compared to other Hotels.

Room Tip: I suggest if you want a nice view, specifically ask for one but expect the room to be priced accordingly.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us, there are several other properties within the PH hotels portfolio which may offer more character for your next short break and I hope you consider exploring these options and staying with us again.
Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews