We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ettington Chase Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
US$251
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel(Charlecote)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The New Inn(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$200
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The George Townhouse(Shipston-on-Stour)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$225
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The White Bear(Shipston-on-Stour)
US$106
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveller rating
389
584
413
146
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
584
413
146
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsettington chasegroupon dealleisure facilitiesjacuzzi and saunaevening mealmurder mystery weekendchequers innstratford upon avonbuffet breakfastbar pricessuperior roomlovely groundsweekend breaktrouser pressboth morningsshort drivefirst morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here last night with my wife on a groupon deal, this hotel is fantastic value, excellent staff, great food, nice rooms, can't fault it, highly recommend this for business or leisure we had a great stay :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found a mixture of positives and negatives:-

Positives:-

Reception and night porters are superb, a real credit to the Hotel
Plently of parking
A small but wel equiped gym
Well priced
Breakfast was ok for a buffet breakfast

Negatives:-

Hotel was far too warm and uncomfortably hot in the room
The room was "just ok"
The bar prices are incredible in their inflatedness, try Chequers (pub) just down the road which is excellent
The bar food was very expensive and not very good quality in the Hotel
There was a TVR convention there for first day and till 5:30pm there had a rolling road which meant the sound of V6 & V8 engines being red lined continously ALL afternoon. If guests had got to the Hotel early for an afternoon rest (which I had) before a busy day at the British GP (5am start) this was not acceptable. Especially as I asked for a quiet room and informed them I would be getting there early in the day to rest.

So not bad but needs to just improve in a few areas, also the Hotel reception is a lovely old building (as shown on the web and other booking portals) but the rest of the Hotel (just to the right of the picture you are shown is a souless building from the 80's which reminds you of either an old folks home or a hospital.

Room Tip: Ask what is on as this affects the noise both in the Hotel and outside.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I will look into the points you raised in regards to the disturbance caused by the car club as to how we can avoid a repetition of these events in the future. Our bar prices are set centrally and reflect those of similar hotels in the local area but I was pleased that you discovered one of our two local pubs which offer an alternative atmosphere to our hotel.

I hope you choose to stay with PH hotels again in the future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay for one night only using a groupon voucher . The hotel is lovley as are the grounds and surroundings . Very helpful staff and plenty of them around the place . We had dinner and a bottle of house red , both being of very good standard and quality with excellent service from waiting staff . An excellent buffet style breakfast with plenty of choise of foods . The room was very clean and comfortable and of good standard . Just a few negatives re the room , only one very small shower gel provided ( no use if both want a shower ) , a cheap and nasty small plastic cup provided in bathroom , poor TV picture , no biscuits with tea and coffee facility .
The courtyard area which provides outside tables and chairs is very dull and prison yard exercise area style , just a few hanging baskets ( very lush though ) and planters . This area could do with a make over to provide more greenery and plants , better than looking at boring brick walls and windows . One good thing is the village is only 200M away with a couple of decent pubs ( better choise and much cheaper than hotel bar ) .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us. Sorry to read there were a couple of issues with your stay but we are taking steps to address these at present. For instance we will be upgrading the aerial signal to our televisions in August to improve the picture quality where required and we have recently employed a full time Gardener to improve the aesthetic appearance of our grounds and I'm glad you appreciated his efforts so far. Our bar prices are competitive when compared to similar businesses in the local area but local pub prices will always be cheaper than ourselves.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wife booked a two night stay through Groupon that included a free meal and bottle of house wine on night 1 along with full breakfast both mornings. All the food we had was very good, as was the service we had from every member of staff we spoke with and/or served us during the stay. The room was clean and to the standard expected in a decent 4 start. All round great weekend and a place I would definitely recommend. PS it's a 10/15 min simple drive from the hotel into Stratford.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I'll be sure to share your feedback with the team here. I hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding at the hotel on 27th June. Check in was efficient, friendly and informative. Our room, a deluxe double, was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and ran the day seamlessly, the service was excellent. The bar prices I feel are a little steep and the service was sometimes slow, however you were always greeted with a smile which goes a long way. Especially when it's clear to see they are under pressure. Check out was quick and accurate. I think this hotel represents very good value for money for such an occasion and the staff are a credit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank q-bixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us and particularly your kind words about the team here at Ettington Chase which I'll be sure to share with you. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews