We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We really wanted to love this place but the fact is that the rooms are a bit dated. The beds were not very comfortable (way wayyyy too soft) and the bathroom also needs updating. Everything works, mind you, but we expected a bit more. Also, it's important to take into account that it is really in the middle of nowhere and it's quite a drive to get anywhere. Also, and on a minor note, one of the light bulbs in our room was flickering since we arrived and no one was able to fix it over the two nights that we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, which are appreciated. I am sorry you were disapionted with your stay. The hotel is currently undertaking a refurbishment project to update and improve the standard of our rooms. We are always working towards improving our product.

Best regards
Oliver Wortley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Ettington Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time for a 3 day course as part of an employee development programme.
Fantastic conference/delegate facilities. Everywhere very clean, light and not the normal cappuccino/mocha nightmare of other business orientated hotels.
Food was to a good standard, portions just perfect.
Only paid for 1 drink myself, a shandy at £4.30 seemed fairly high price.
Room was very bright and clear and furnishings were to a very good standard.
Would definitely recommend and stay here again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Squidadidaledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and i am pleased that Ettington Chase managed to meet your reqiuirements for your conference. At Ettington Chase we strive to deliver the perfect training and learning environment for conferences. I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards
Oliver Wortley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel. Booked two nights in a family room with breakfast included via their own website.

Room was clean. Buffet type breakfast. We ate out at night as the hotel is expensive and there are some fab places in near locality.

We used the pool one morning.

It's everything you would expect of a large chain hotel. Clean and tidy, but a bit impersonal and nothing special.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sarah-Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about Ettington Chase, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and i hope you will consider staying at Principal Hayley properties in the future.

Best regards
Oliver Wortley
Operations Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I paid for me and my partner to go away for the weekend for his birthday. I was very excited but he was slightly apprehensive but after the stay he was very happy with the service we recieved!

First off we arrived after work and were warmly welcomed by reception staff, it was very quiet when we got there which was lovely! When we got to the room we were very impressed, it was very clean and tidy and they supplied extra towels. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well!
We live in Coventry so it wasn't far to travel but was its enough just to getaway! We drove into stratford one day and it was lovely whether and was also very near wellbourne market so we went and did a bit of shopping!
There is a lovely little pub round the corner from the hotel called The White Horse, we went to watch the football game there and although the TV was very loud it was a great environment and the staff were friendly and the food was amazing!
Breakfast at the hotel was amazing as well and all staff were very friendly, we didnt pay for breakfast as it was part of the price we paid! We didn't eat dinner at the hotel because it was very expensive and drinks were also very expensive which I would say was its only flaw!
All facilities at the hotel were lovely we went into the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and they were all lovely we also got talking to another couple who were also lovely and they've stayed at the hotel numerous time!
We stayed 2 nights and overall we had a lovely break I would definitely recommend this as there is a lot to do around the hotel as long as you can drive!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review following your recent visit to Ettington Chase. I hope you choose to stay at Ettington Chase again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the evenings of 25th & 26th July 2014 as I was at a wedding nearby.

Overall this was an average experience.

I would note that the hotels pictures suggest it to be a classic building when in fact it is heavily extended and a typical brick build.

The rooms were fine however bathroom caused concern. The mastic was missing and black around the bath, the tiling grouting was dirty and the shower mixer cover was coming loose.

You also only got an hour free internet every three hours which normally wouldn't be a problem but bare in mind that there is no 3G around there. After that you had to pay to use the internet which I do not agree with at all.

This is a noisy hotel and there was a wedding party in on the second night which involved a fight outside my room. A rather loud drunken man was trying to get into his room which had been locked my what I presume was his partner.

My mother checked out for me and she was staying also in an adjacent room and she mentioned this to reception and they were not very interested at all.

Despite this, breakfast was good and there was ample safe parking here.

When considering I paid 75 a night this wasn't a bad stay at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hambleretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for comments regarding the hotel, we are currently refurbishing the rooms in blocks and will bring the facility issues you encountered with the housekeeping and maintenance team. We are reviewing our internet policy for guests at the moment, so you feedback is appreciated.

It was unfortunate your party were disturb by wedding guests, when we have a wedding at the venue we try our best to keep wedding guests together to limit the amount of disturbance to other guests, however when they book individually this is not always possible, if our night team is notified we would always deal with this immediatley.

Once again thank you for your review.

Oliver Wortley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Please avoid this hotel at all costs - even the Premier Inn is far better than this.

We stayed 4 nights for a family wedding. Firstly there is zero ventilation in the room. Staff did provide a fan after a wait. The beds were not supportive, the pillows barely there and the towels and linen ripped.

Smells from other room's bathrooms flooded in via the ventilation duct every morning. The iron was only luke warm, similar to the very disinterested service received from staff in the diningroom during breakfast. Clearing our table was so dire, that on many an occasion we actually stacked our used crockery on the next door table in order to have sufficient space to eat.

Another couple who attended the wedding arrived at the hotel for 3pm with the intention to be out for the 4pm wedding. But that would be presumptious - why would a room be ready on time?

The weekend we were there saw a dentistry graduation ball - the revellers were left entirely to their own devices and made the hallways and common areas their own private party areas until sunrise the following morning.

All in all a dreadful stay. And we've heard others with very similar Principal Hayley experiences across the country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Leana14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

I am sorry your visit did not meet your expectations. At present we have a refurbishment project on going, which includes the replacement of beds in each room. We have already replaced 70 beds in the past year. We endeavour to deliver good customer service to a wide range of clients and I will be adressing the issues you encountered with the relevant departments.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, If you would like to discuss the matter further please contact me directly.

Best regards
Oliver Wortley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Murder Mystery weekend, therefore stayed in a 'standard double room'. The room was exactly that.
It was clean and very basic, which was fine for our weekend stay. My only comment on the decor is that the bathroom could do with an update. The only fault I could give is that the room didn't contain a fridge which I thought was pretty standard these days and also the walls are VERY thin. We heard doors being opened and closed all the time and peoples conversations in the rooms around us.

We were very impressed with the size of the meals provided within our weekend package and very pleased with the quality of the food as well. We were a little surprised to hear that the bar does not accept cash after 11pm and disappointed that reception failed to mention this on arrival.

Even though we didn't use the leisure facilities in the hotel (as there wasn't enough time) it was nice to know that these facilities were free to use for overnight guests.

Overall, I would say that we would stay in this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea-Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Ettington Chase folloaing your recent stay with us. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,508 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,338 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,805 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: £53 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing