We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“exceptional value for money”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My wife and I took advantage of a Principal Hayley Hotels advert in the Daily Mail.
There are two luxury suites at this hotel they are known as ^Junior Suites^ we stayed in the Tennyson !
The hotel is located in very quiet location very large grounds and car park.
Not so good if you dont want to climb 3 flights of stairs but if that doesnt bother you then you are in for a treat
Absolute luxury,massive bathroom with a beautiful large free standing bath right in the middle of room, his and hers ? sinks large shower area with two shower heads and glass door.
The bedroom was bigger again,queen size bed,settee,desk fridge coffee,tea making facilities,hairdyer ironing board e.t.c huge flat screen t.v.
Breakfast was very good as you would expect from a 4 star hotel plenty of variety excellent service.
This hotel appears to be supported by persons on your typical conference courses which didnt bother us but I thought it worth mentioning.
The gym was adequate better than most,the pool was a typical family type pool more for relaxing than swimming back and forth.
The sauna was a good size.
The bar area was of a good size plenty of comfy seats although we did hear one young man describe it as typical of a bar found in a pensioners complex !
The bar prices were reasonable but what I didnt find reasonable was the cost of the use of the table football i.e. £1 for two balls.
Coffee, tea and fresh fruit was free as was some complimentary size chocolate bars.
Evening 3 course meals were £25 plus an extra £4 if you wanted the steak.
The staff were first class particularly Tim one of the managers very efficient and approachable I observed him on a number of occasions ensuring other staff members atttended the needs of guests particularly in the dining room area.
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights we visited Stratford races on one day,Warwick Castle ( a must see) and town then Stratford town on the third day.
There are two local pubs in the village one of which provides good quality food the other I wouldnt eat crisps in, not dificult to work out I can assure you.
Bus service into Stratford £3.20p return if you dont want the hassle of parking etc.
Nearby is another village called Wellesbourne and a pub called the Stag where we had very enjoyable home cooked meals and the landlord was very friendly very reasonably priced too.
Hope this has been helpful we will definately return if we are offered another deal like this and no Im not going to tell you how much I paid !
Forgot to mention they have tennis courts.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    517
    366
    127
    71
See reviews for
146
780
18
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Stayed for 1x night in July 09. I paid £80 for dinner bed and breakfast for my husband and I through travelzoo.

The room (sleeping area) was OK (a bit dusty), but the bed was a bit soft. The bathroom needs a bit of cillit bang (lots of lovely mould in the grouting) and the management need to take a trip to B and Q for some new taps!!

The pool was a good size but the women's changing room smelt like it hadn't been cleaned in a few months - really pungent mouldy damp mildew smell. Nice.

The evening meal was pretty poor. Turkey escalope wrapped in pancetta on a bed of spaghetti with roasted tomato sauce - sounds nice, but i got a big turkey steak that was dry, wrapped in a tiny bit of bacon, with a whole 500g packet of spaghetti with some red dishwater. Lush! My husband went for the chargrilled ribeye which could've been disguised as a chernoble nuked feral cat. We're not michelin starred chefs - but how hard is it to get a steak right? Obviously pretty difficult when the raw ingredients are so sub standard.

The most annoying thing was the service - it was non-existant. Not once during dinner, breakfast or even check out were we asked 'is everything OK with your food/room etc' - I'm not normally a stickler for being asked such things, but it was fairly obvious that the staff have had little or no training in customer relations and it really let the stay down.

Oh yeah one last thing, don't have milk at breakfast (in the jug on your table) unless you like it recycled from every other table and poured into one jug in full view of other guests .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

First the Good - A large comfortable room with hair dryer, iron, table and a nice soft bed.

And the rest.....

My main gripe would be the Restaurant. Short opening times and food not ready at opening times. Queuing to get in, although tables were empty, at a breakfast buffet is unacceptable. A 30 minute wait meant some colleagues had to miss breakfast. The inability of the staff to ask guests if they required tea and coffee, or frequently not bringing it even after being asked to. Lunch buffets were disappointing too. A poor choice available and it felt as though there was a "sale" on as the food was served with a "once its gone its gone" mentality.

The quality of the food was very poor, occasionally bearing little resemblance to what was listed on the menu. It appeared as if the chef had less of an idea of culinary terms than I did. I certainly would have paid £28 for a 3 course meal there.

Also:
When the expensive Wi-Fi service failed to work a colleague was told to phone the service provider!
Tea & Drinks not refreshed in room
Coffee machine for delegates being constantly breaking down.
Lack of games in "Games Room". It should have been called "Game Room"

Overall it left me with a poor impression of the Ettington Chase, and judging by the number of people I saw complaining during the week I was not alone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forwhatitsworthUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

- Not enough information on arrival, e.g. no code number for outside door
- advertised three hole golf course (on web and in hotel guest booklet) does not exist, which the receptionist did not seem to know as she told us where to look for it
- room dusty in places, stained duvet without duvet cover, slightly stained sheet
- Complaints not dealt with satisfactorily, e.g., apparently it is not policy to use duvet covers or replace stained duvets or sheets
- Leisure Centre has no supervision - Health and Safety issue?
- Restaurant - service poor, breakfast buffet very sparse, ran out of several basics, meal times poor

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizWhitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We booked through Lastminute.com and the hotel allocated us a disabled room which is not what we booked. We then tried to change it once we had got to the room but were told that it was fully booked but they will move us for the following night's stay. This did not happen, even though we were assured we would get a better room.
The room itself had the following issues:
* No bath in the bathroom or even an enclosed shower. It was basically a wet room which didn't have proper drainage so the water spilled over onto the carpet and water remained on the floor around the toilet. We had to resort to wearing flip flops upon entering the room and it obviously hadn't been cleaned for some time. This is completely unacceptable for a 4 star hotel (or so they claim!).
* Although it was a twin room, it had very narrow beds so it was like sleeping on a surf board and the duvets didn't have covers on them which must surely be a breach of health and hygiene standards.
* The view from the room (which was the least of our problems) looked out onto cargo containers and broken furniture.
* The breakfast on the saturday morning was a complete shambles. We had to wait over 15mins to be seated, although there were lots of spare tables. They didn't seem to have the staff to clear up fast enough. My friend and I were then seated on a table with 6 other guests staying at the hotel. I then had to ask 3 times for the cereal bowl to be filled up and once we finally managed to order coffee, it came after we had finished the meal. The quality of the food was also very poor so we didn't eat there the second morning, even though it was included in our package.
*Having said that, when we made the duty manager aware of our issues, he was very helpful and understanding. We wanted to make a point that just because we booked it through lastminute.com, doesn't mean they have to give us the worst room available!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerxyz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This hotel was amazing. We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived as from the photo on the internet, you do not realise the extent of the grounds etc around this hotel. The staff are very helpful and could not do enough for you. The bedrooms were fab... with modern decorations, big flat screen TV's, etc. The spa there is lovely, with a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Oh and a fully equipped gym. Tennis courts outside too. Very peaceful. Close to Stratford Upon Avon centre. A pleasurable romantic stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is a large conference centre with large bedrooms and well equipped leisure centre.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, and there are extensive grounds.
My gripes are the fact that they charge £8 for 2 hours internet access - a good example of making up their profits by add-ons, and their rooms don't have air-con.
The pillows are cheap nasty hard foam, and their small "double beds" are pretty much below average.
It's still better than a Travel Lodge, but the management could make it a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,446 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,846 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,730 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing