We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Christmas meal, great service, brilliant entertainment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Ettington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Christmas meal, great service, brilliant entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

A group of 12 girlies had our Christmas "Do" at the Chase, the whole night was brilliant.
The food was delicious and piping hot, the waiters very accomadating. The in house DJ was excellant and took note of exactly you wanted to hear.
The whole evening was lovely and we cannot wait to go back next year !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    490
    354
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
745
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night after finding a good deal for it on lastminute as a weekend in Stratford.
It's location is quite far from Stratford, unless driving by car set in a little village.
Room was very spacious and well stocked with coffe and tea and toiletries.
Bar is pretty conventional but useful for watching the football, though I chose to go for a swim instead. There's a big jacuzzi and sauna room as well which was more than I expected for a conferencing facility.
Didn't try the hotel restaurant but went to the pub at the end of the drive which does amazing food, and I would recommend it if I knew the name of it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west bromwich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

I really dont understand why there are bad reviews, the hotel was beyond spectacular, the rooms clean, and everyone was very friendly, I went swimming, and had the whole pool to myself, felt very relaxed. The only bad thing i have to say is the taxi fare to the hotel was £15 eachway from the town of stratford, and the eveining meal was way overpriced, very nice but expensive, my advice eat before you go to hotel !!! as the two local pubs didnt serve till 7pm and were the same price in food as hotel.
But I will deffinatley go again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vixta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

I visited with my partner for our Anniversary. The hotel looked ok from the outside and checking in was easy and smooth.

However my partner had booked a VIP upgrade as a surprise for me - but this was not present in our room. We had to pay a visit to reception to ask for it - therefore ruining the surprise. They then took a further half hr to send all the stuff up.

Our first impressions were gradually going out the window when something as simple as an upgrade seems too difficult.

The hotel is mainly for 'Conferences' they didn't seem interested that we were there for a romantic weekend. This came to a head when we tried to book for dinner one night and were told 9pm was the only slot available - who wants to eat their dinner this late?? The excuse we were given is that they were catering for conferences. However they did manage to "squeeze us in" as the receptionist put it! When we did go for dinner the restuarant was practically empty!

Dinner on the first night was exceptional - very good and quick service. The 2nd and 3rd night was poor - we were left waiting with finished plates on our tables for ages in between courses and had to ask for our drinks twice!

Overall not a good experience - however it was bearable and things were sorted out in the end.

Not a hotel we will be visiting again though!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierced_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

I stayed here recently for the weekend and although being very busy, the staff were very accommodating and helpful. Despite previous complaints about restaurant quality in past reviews, we found it to be very satisfactory. In the evenings we relaxed in the bar area where there was a good atmosphere and friendly service. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here however not particularly suitable for those looking for a romantic getaway

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolling_stone2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We booked this hotel for the weekend to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary.
What can I say?
Rowdy guests, such long queues at the singly staffed bar we debunked to the local pub, mediocre food, being disturbed during the night by noisy guests, overheated rooms, bar staff who just cannot seem to get your order right...oh dear :( I will not be visiting this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed at Ettington Chase for 2 nights midweek on a special DBB rate. The hotel was easy to find and there were plenty of car parking spaces. We found the reception staff very helpful and pleasant and were given a room on the 1st floor, which was very convenient for the leisure centre. The swimming pool was great - quiet, warm and had lighting which created a calm atmosphere. The jacuzzi was fairly small - 4 people max, but this was not a problem as the hotel was quiet. We also used the sauna and there was a gym. Children are only allowed in the pool, not in the rest of the gym, sauna etc. and only on Fri, Sat and Sun at certain times , so this keeps the leisure centre pleasantly child free a lot of the time.
The room had lovely modern decor and soft furnishings with a large comfortable bed. We had a tea/coffee making tray, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, flat screen TV, trouser press, safe and plenty of mirrors with sockets near them.
The bathroom had a very strong shower, plenty of hot water and a few toiletries.
Breakfast was from 7am until 9am and was great - help yourself to juice, yogurt, cereals, fruit, croissants and all the usual hot food. We got fresh pots of tea fairly quickly from pleasant staff.
Dinner was average - the starters were ok but we thought the choice of main courses rather limited and not very appealing so chose to pay a supplement of around £4 for more choice. Desserts were limited to a choice of 2 but there was a lovely cheese board too, which we preferred. Wines were from around £16 to £95 a bottle. The service was good and food served hot, however the restaurant was very quiet, We didn't have any other drinks in the hotel as we were in Stratford the 1st night watching "Twelfth Night", which was excellent, and we walked to Chequers pub after dinner the 2nd night for a couple of drinks in a pleasant country pub.
There was wi-fi in the hotel, but you had to pay extra . However, there was a computer which you could use free of charge near reception.
We had a lovely peaceful break here and would return midweek again but would probably not have dinner unless it was on the same cheap deal as it was too limited a choice for the full price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Expedia so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing