We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay at a bargin price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed 2 November 2010

For £42 a night on a lastminute deal including breakfast I felt that we couldn't really go wrong for a short break away.
There was a lovely pool, sauna and gym which wasn't too busy on a Saturday afternoon.
Our main reason for staying was just a night away that didn't cost the earth.
If I had a gripe it would be that the bed was a bit too soft and I kept rolling into the middle (my boyfriend is a bit heavier than me!)
Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice and helpful staff. Go to the Chequers pub over the road, lovely food and atmosphere.
Didn't think much of statford, although quite pretty around it not much to do in town, but didn't really care as just wanted a night away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueypooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

Firstly thanks to Last Minute.com we had the very best value deal £85 for 2 nights!!!
BUT .... seeing as this was a special deal to a 4star hotel we were expecting those extra touches! Pleas don't pay full price.

Room too hot & very poor venilation.
Only 1 pillow on the double bed (more in the wardrobe - but no pillowcases)
Only 1 bath towel in bathroom
Squeaky bed
Surprized they had no mini bar - they could make a lot of money selling overpriced drinks & sweets!

One barman - Jack - very attentive but busy
Restaurant too expensive so tried to eaat in the bar
The kitchen had run out of steak and 1 of the 4 desserts - so not verfy successful!

Breakfast finished at 9am and they stopped topping up the dishes way before that
The cooked food was very poor - greasy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Very friendly & helpful staff at all times. Lovely clean rooms & bathrooms, hairdryer, iron & board, trouser press, safe, tea & coffee facilities, all in the room.

The meals (full board) menu choices were fine and the food was good.

Plenty of room to move around and didn't feel like you were on top of other guests, especially when lounging around in the lounge area.

Very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This hotel was most comfortable, the room was lovely and roomy and very clean. The staff were very curtious and helpful. The food was lovely if not abit over priced, and the wine was very expensive 'captive audience'! The leisure facilties were great, and the fact that there All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classychick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

After reading the previous entries on this hotel, my husband and I were dubious to say the least, but we needn't have been.

We had a fabulous time!

Our room was spectacular - we decided to upgrade to an Executive room and I have to say it was worth the extra!

The hotel staff couldn't have helped us more. They were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The food was great. We arrived a little late on our first morning, but were warmly greeted and provided with a good selection of choices for breakfast. The evening menu was fabulous. Great choices, cooked beautifully - all in all we were extremely happy.

Although the pool was a little small, it was lovely and warm and the jacuzzi was just what we wanted!

We even had a go at the 3-hole golf course - that was a real giggle - but not for the serious enthusiast!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWillans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Admittedly I had not researched sufficiently before booking a 2 night break and was disappointed with the accommodation being located in a huge annexe building. This could not have been more different to the lovely original building displayed in all the advertisements. The receptionist could almost have been a robot, no eye-contact made with us and reeling off her check in script with no enthusiasm or welcome evident at all. We were seemingly almost in another time zone by the time we had reached our room, it was quite a walk to get there and was basic, hence the reference to Travel Lodge. Possibly the smallest window in any room we've stayed in (all the same judging by looking at the building from the outside) and very dreary. Room was clean, with good bath and shower, only basic channels on TV, and mysteriously no drawers in the room ! Tea/cofffee facilities, but no biscuits, overall, not a 4* room.
Our package included dinner on the first night, a menu was displayed outside the restaurant and had a good choice of starter and main courses, however, when we were seated the waiter produced 2 menus for us to peruse which were both different to the one displayed outside ! We were left for at least 10 minutes before he returned and we could ask for the correct menu. Service was very slow with other guests having to ask for updates of when food/drinks were likely to arrive. All fairly good natured but very young staff on duty and no-one seeming to co-ordinate them or the restaurant. Food (eventually) arrived and standard was good. Breakfast served only until 9:00 am, we arrived at 8:30 and waited to be seated whilst a table was prepared as there were none laid. Several other couples arrived after us and all had to wait also. Self-service breakfast, but all we could hear was guest after guest having to request cutlery/bacon/bread/marmalade/milk etc. All these basic items had ran out and no-one was overseeing their replenishment. Really disappointing and hard to justify why this should have been allowed to happen, again no-one appeared to be in charge and the staff that were on duty were simply not bothered. Glad we only had a short break here, obvious that hotel is geared up for conferences as many were taking place, but customer service sadly lacking for other guests.
In summary:
Bad points: service/standard of rooms
Good points: pool/proximity to Stratford/Warwick Castle etc

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bosiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Excellent stay in every way. Can't fault it on anything

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,551 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,063 reviews
6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: £43 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing