We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worn out bed and evening food quality poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worn out bed and evening food quality poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Booked this hotel for a quick night away, always go for one with a pool, that was ok quite busy. The changing rooms are very small and no empty lockers available, extremely wet floor so clothes got wet, huge pile of towels left in the corner did not appear to be any staff looking after this facility. The room was clean and quite well presented but the bed was terrible! Extremely soft and sunk in the middle I have to say this was probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel!
We booked an evening meal which is a set menu with a choice of 1,2 or 3 courses costing about £25 for all 3. One of our main courses was uneatable the beef was nothing but fat I am not a person to complain but did on this occasion and was not charged for this course. After dinner went to the bar for a brandy but there were no brandy glasses apparently the bar only has one and it was in use!
Quality of breakfast ok not offered tea/coffee refils which I think should be done.
Would I visit again.. no not a hotel for a leisure break ok for the corporate conferences.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    489
    352
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
742
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed for a 2 night break full english breakfast and first night dinner free...great value , Check in was from 2 but we didn't arrive till 8. Th restaurant staff kindly let us eat later and the we both had a delicious 3 course meal. The drinks were a little expensive though.
The next day we got a taxi into Stratford . that was £15 one way. There are'nt any taxi ranks close by but this was'nt a problem. You can get a bus but there are only 4 on a sat.
We had planned to hire bikes and cycle on one of the planned routes but the heavy rain put us off. Shopping and pubs won the day!
The Chequers pub which is a 10 min walk into the village is one of the finest pubs I've eaten at but again the drinks are expensive.
The spa area of the hotel is clean and towels are provided for you.
The one thing we liked was that in the morning breakfast was from 8-11 am buffet style and lots to choose from , there is a free hot drinks machine and a large seating area to chill out after the indulgence.
The staff here are very friendly and proffesional and wiiling to please.
Would definately reccommend for business , family or couples.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tickatboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed here with my other half after looking for a nice hotel in or near Stratford Upon Avon.
The hotel on first impression when pulling up into the car park is a complete disappointment. The pictures you see of the venue on the website only focus on the main building which is were the reception is based. The "extensions" buildings are purpose built and have no character compared to the main building.

Inside the hotel you are greeted with an non inspiring reception which instantly remove any exceptions you may of had regarding the quality of the hotel.

This venue is completely geared towards the corporate market due to the layout of the conference rooms in the main hub of the hotel and the positioning of the main bar and lack of personal feeling you get within the premises.

The hotel only hosts one small awkward bar area called the "Games Lounge", The bar consists of a small bar area and approximately 4 tables and around seating for 15/20 people in total. Normally you expect the bar area in a 4* rated hotel to be the main social area for guess which offer an attractive environment. Unfortunately this is not the case due to the off square room layout, white 80's ceiling tiles, playing card deco on the walls and high back "people homes" chairs.

There is the option to take your drinks out of the bar area and sit in the main corridor where there are a few tables and chairs, but this is uninviting due to the lack of lighting and ambiance feel.

If you are able to book one of the 9 suites,(as featured and photographed for the website) I have been advised that these are of higher quality and nicer outlook compared to the standard room.
The standard rooms in the once referred to "barracks block" section of the hotel are very bland with a small window which only covers approx 20% of the outside wall, therefore the rooms are very dark and uninspiring.
The deco in the rooms is of a standard you should expect which fairly modern bed linen and hard furnishing. The LCD TV in the rooms are only 22 inch and therefore differcult to watch from a distance.

The hotel offers no room service on a weekend, which is a shame as the main restaurant (with its faulty lights) appeared to be very uninspiring. I can not comment on the quality of food as i did not eat there.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and following conversation would appear they understand that the needs of guests for leisure purposes is completely different to their normal corporate clientèle. This is evident by the comments of "i know", "Im sorry" - but it's not their fault.

One of the hotels mission as per their website is:---- "Whether you're looking for an outstanding event venue for your conference, an inspirational venue for your training or team building event or to hire a state of the art meeting room for your top level board meeting, Ettington Chase delivers." -- Which really covers the points I am making regarding the venue.

Also... the main point on their website states the following :----### Please note that bedroom pictures on this site may not portray accurate representations of specific bedroom types. ### - Which says it all really.

One bonus is that the hotel hosts a large free car park with ample parking.

Overall, the hotel is clean and you do certainly get what you pay for if all you are waiting is a clean room and to use the hotel as a base or travelling for business if you are wanting to feel special or even valued, I would suggest you look else where within the area.

Would I stay here again ? For pleasure purposes, no I would avoid and look else where... for business... Only if a I was attending a conference/all day meeting on-site.

Im not sure if I have become custom to high exceptions with staying in high quality city corporate hotels mid week, week in week out, but feel the above is a fair description of the hotel.

You get what you pay for, and in fairness it is cheap per night at a weekend.

Thank you and I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricktay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

wasn't sure what to expect, due to varying reviews-but we were pleasantly surprised. The location to Stratford was good , the rooms were very clean,the staff very polite and helpful, all you could ask for. Evening meals were excellent, breakfast not quite so good.Rooms very warm perhaps a little too hot.
We would use this hotel again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPEED7320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Unfortunately Principle Hayley let themselfs down at the Ettington Chase hotel. We have stayed in many hotels for both liesure and business frequently, two of which Principle Hayley hotels, Wootten House and The Royal York Hotel (suite) which were fantastic hotels that I could not fault.

The Ettington Chase Hotel we would say was OK, it served a purpose but I wouldn't return.......

Arrival - one of the reasons for selecting the Ettington chase was for the old looking house features.... shame they do not use this area more instead of Reception a lounge so far away from anything and a few rooms. The rest of the hotel is in a modern building which could be just Premier Inn. The decor was very basic that didn't have any wow factor, very original. The Receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Room - Again, no different to the premier inn we stayed in before Christmas at Heathrow. The room was clean but very basic adn the furniture again, based on the premier inn style (not 'old house' style I expected from the look of the hotel front on their website). Agreeing from what a few people have mentioned before, the bed was OK but very soft and we both kept rolling into the middle. The towell rail is only wide enough for one towell (it was also rusty). The blind string holder was coming out of the wall. Also my husband was a little disappointed with the lack of biscuits and very few options of drinks on the tray.

Bar - Described as the 'Games Room' which is far from a games room unless you count the one game of table top football in the corner. if you are going to have a room called a games room, surely a few board games, pool table, card packs etc could be available. We heard a few people saying the same even expressing their thoughts to the staff, saying that was one of the reasons they booked the hotel for the evening entertainment. The drink prices were fine, the only problem was they seems to run out of most drinks. The bar staff however were great.

Dinner first evening - As we booked with Superbreak the dinner was included on the first night... this was the main let down and to be honest gave a sour taste to the hotel. When being shown to our table we didn't have to walk far as we were put on the smallest table in the restaurant in the walk way at just in side the entrance of the restaurant. Before even seating and my husband in the process of asking if we could move to one of the other tables, he was cut off mid sentence rather sharply and rudely by the Assistant Manager saying this is the only table available and the other tables were all booked and there is no chance of moving (and we had previously booked our table that morning). So we sat, not wanting to make an issue of it and ruin the evening, but we really felt stuck in the middle of walk way and we really felt uncomfortable sitting there. Four other couples turned up within 10 minutes after us and were seated at the other tables. three tables were never occupied the whole time we were in the restaurant. When ordering, my husband opted for muscles to be told they didn't have any (which surely we should of been notified off when seated). Menu was average, I have seen better from pubs. When starters come, we had to ask for rolls to go with our soup (butter was not on offer nor butter knife). The main was Ok, again nothing fantastic... we didn't bother with dessert. On leaving, the assistant manager apologised to my husband if 'he appeared to be rude' which my husband said, 'yes you were'... he then went on to ask what the difference was from where we sat to others, why we couldn't be seated at another table and not a table that looked like an after thought especially when people coming in after us were seated there... the answer we got because we were allocated to the right side?????????

Breakfast - no problem. The restuarant staff were pleasant, the food OK. The lights in the restaurant over the buffet area were constantly flicking... as they were not working the restaurant was very dark.

SPA area - hhhmmm, sauna is tiny. 4 of us in there at one time was a very tight squeeze. Changing room tiny and not pleasant, very basic. Was warned by two other people in the changing room not to use the jacuzzi due do the amount of chlorine, one women skin came up blotchy all over and blamed the jacuzzi. I avoided the jacuzzi, pool was OK. Lights again, one kept going on and off. People were walking into the pool area from the hall with shoes on...

Check out - fine.... strange we were not asked about our stay.

I would definately recommend the Chequers Inn pub. We see many people in there from the hotel eating... the food was lovely and he menu was impressive. Staff lovely and the ambience of the restaurant is great.

Overall the Ettiington chase hotel was OK. I had expected a 4 star quality as the two previously visted Principle Hayley, but we didn't get it. If I was staying in a 4 star Premier Inn, I wouldn't have been disappointed as this is more like it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonsBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed for two nights over the Valentine's weekend with a view to spending time in Stratford. This hotel is well outside of Stratford but benefits from being a lovely location with open views. Lovely public rooms and helpful, friendly staff. Excellent value through Superbreaks which included dinner on the first night. Food was really good and drinks not too overpriced. The gym and pool were nice too and we used both each day. If I was being super critical the changing rooms are too small and with more than two people in very cramped, but it was a nice facility to have. There are two pubs in the village of Ettington - only a short walk away - but both are closed on Sunday nights so if you don't eat in the hotel you are forced to drive - so bear that in mind.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed here for one night and had a very nice time. The room and bathroom was large and spacious and very modern, also very clean. The only downside were the lack of biscuits on the tea tray. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and everywhere looked very clean and tidy. If I was going to make a slight complaint it would be the restaurant where we had dinner. I think the air conditioning was on (in January) as it was exceptionally cold. We were not offered any bread with our soup I had to ask, we then had to ask for butter for the bread. All in all though very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing