We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Unforgettable Vacation! :)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mangrove Inn

Pool sideview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool sideview
Side view Infinity pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
18 reviews
Pool sideview
Side view
Infinity pool
Mangrove Inn from seaside
Upstair balcony oceanview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argao, Cebu Island, Visayas

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jessabell...
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Unforgettable Vacation! :)”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'll start my review with booking this Vacation House - Mangrove Inn, the owner responded right away which we are really like about because we are running out of time on booking everything and packing our stuff to bring to the Philippines. Everything is set, we stayed last February 9th-16th, 2015, travelling with my hubby, daughter, parents, brothers and sis in law, our flight through Cebu Pacific was very smooth, (no delays at all) when we got there at the airport, our transfers are waiting for us already (the transfers is a bit expensive but its all worth the penny because Argao is approximately 1 1/2-2 hours away from the airport). When we got there at Mangrove Inn, I felt so welcome! Tita Erma is the Auntie of the owner and the caretaker of the house. She welcomed us and show us everything, it feels like its our home already :)

For me, it has everything that you needed, we always ask tita Erma for help on how to get to the market and anywhere we want to go, and everytime we want to go to the famous places of Southern Cebu she was always willing to find a rental car for us :) my mama loves to cook there because the kitchen is spacious, it has centralized aircon in the living area and also in the 3 bedrooms upstairs it was really comfortable.. the only thing we could recommend is to have tv's in the bedroom, a little bedside lamp and a table and chairs on the veranda, also when we stayed the washing machine was broken but its not a big deal, we are Filipinos we can wash our clothes by hand lol and tita Erma said that they are going to replace it (also they have someone who can wash your clothes for you) .. whats so nice when you wake up in the morning is you can walk on the beach which is in front of the house and watch the beautiful sunrise! We have found some starfishes on our little walk that morning and it was really fun :)

The little infinity pool on the side is really cute too! my youngest brother enjoyed it the most, everyday swimming and even at night! It was really an excellent decision for us to choose Mangrove Inn on our Vacation, made me happy that my family had so much fun, it feels like we don't want to go back to Manila hehe! Very Memorable and its so awesome!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house ad the view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Hello Jessabelle,
Thank you so much for the very nice review and the photo's. Really appreciate it! By the way, washing machine has been replaced already with a new one. Hope to welcome you again in the future! Jake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wonju, South Korea
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked being away from the fast paced tourist area.
Liked least: The highway was a bit noisy, but you get used to it.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rest and peace and friendly people
Liked least: The muddy sand in the beach
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barr1988
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost a great Villa”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The Mangrove Inn is a very nice villa on the seafront in Cebu. My friends and My experience here was fun but could of been a lot better with some improvements by owners and staff. This was my second Philippines villa experience.

Firstly we had no problem with booking the villa, communicating with the owners and getting picked up at the airport.

We did find a lack of/ mixed information when we arrived. When asking about things to do we often got wrong/ mixed information. One example was about scuba diving where we were told we couldn't do it here and the nearest place was 3 hours away. Then on our own through exploring we found scuba diving 20 minutes up the road. This situation happened a few times. We booked a boat to moalboal to find the next day we couldn't go by boat and only went 10 minutes from the villa for snorkeling at an expensive price.

The house itself was really nice but had a big ant problem. There were ants in every room. Also the house lacked a comfortable group seating area. There is an amazing upstairs balcony with a great view. With a roof, some comfortable chairs and a coffee table this problem would be easily solved. The pool could do with more lighting for night swims and some inflatable equipment. Also a row boat/ canoe would be helpful.

The biggest advice I can give is that the house have a welcome book that contains all the information guests will need. For example trips that can be arranged and estimated prices. Nearby you can scuba dive, snorkel, go buggy driving and fishing. All this information should be easily available to guests. Plus other trips like visiting the waterfalls.

We also found a lack of restaurants in the area. So also include in the book restaurants nearby where you can get local food/western food/seafood etc. food the staff can cook and how much it costs. Guests want to try Philippines cuisine. Cost of groceries like beer, wine, bread, milk etc. also the house should include basic items like ketchup, salt,pepper etc

the staff were nice and friendly but we felt they could have been more attentive to helping us, cleaning the house and giving us advice and information to better enjoy our stay. From the first day we always had to go to their house to find them and get information.

Overall the Mangrove Inn is a villa with great potential. With improvements like an information book, some home improvements and more attentive staff this would be a fantastic villa. We enjoyed our stay but felt it could have been made easier and better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scuba diving
Liked least: Ant infestation
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2014
Thank you for this review and the tips. We are still working hard to improve Mangrove Inn and to be able to offer our guests the services they need. Your review has given us a lot of help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnjoyPhil...
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a swamp in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

House is located 2 meters from a busy and noisy highway, so you can learn the Ceres Bus line schedule by heart all night.
The pool did not work when we were there, damaged by the earthquake. It seems the locals enjoys it when there are no guests....
The closest Mall & supermarket is miles away. Home furniture and appliances are Ultra-basic, and used by the "gardian couple" when no guests for weeks.
The worst: the swamp. Impossible access by the land since I got stuck in the mud up to the knee, unable to move further. Sea is brown/dark anyway, and the last thing you want is to swim in it. The beach is 1m wide, made of sharp unstable rocks. Get ready for the mosquitos attacking from the mangroves on both sides, from 6:00 pm each day.
Noisy aircon in the living room which should have been changed in 1980.
As for activities, none, since internet is not working also at the time of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't find an answer to that one.....
Liked least: see my review. Too many to say.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
Lessons learned from this review is that in the highly unlikely event of an earthquake we will cancel all reservations until we can guarantee all functionality as advertised as well as the safety of our guests.

The road is near Mangrove Inn which is valued by most of our guests. It's easy to get a bus on day time and at night there is hardly any traffic. The beauty and pool are on purpose on the sea side of the house where road noises are minimised and safety is guaranteed. For future development we like to extend a yellow sand beach. The department of environent and natural resources has not permitted that yet.

We are very happy with our staff and so are all our other guests so far. When no guests are there we insist that they use the facility because they deserve it for their work and we believe in better service by happy people. Another advantage is that any possible malfunction comes to light.

All the rest of the review we don’t recognize or is as per description in our advertisement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place with a perfect combination of relaxation and fun!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Mangrove Inn has very spacious airconditioned and fully furnished rooms. It has an amazing infinity pool with lounge areas. It is easily accessible from the city and the best part is it is so close to nature. You can go scuba diving, snorkeling in a marine sanctuary or just exploring the mangrove forest just a few meters from the house. The locals are also very friendly and are very helpful whenever you need assistance. This place will offer you a very memorable and relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Being so close to nature
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter S
Cebu
1 review
“Weekend Warrior”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Staying At Mangrove Inn is like home away from home. It is strategically located because it is along the national road. The area is well-fenced and suitable for group travelers since you are the one renting the whole place. The infinity pool is just perfect after basking the sun with the whalesharks in Oslob just about 15-20 minutes from Mangrove INN. We were able to cook and grill our own food and during night we can sleep better because the place is calm. Everything we need is already in the Mangrove Inn and we will surely comeback for another weekend experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It feels like home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing