We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This lodge advertises itself as offering "...the finest fishing...in Northern Ontario" This is a gross exaggeration. We were there for a week at the end of June. Fishing was poor on the main lake. One back lake had good Bass but nothing else another lake that you had to haul motor, gas etc. to get in and out of wasn't worth the effort. The boats at the main lake are ok but no depth finders or electric motors. No one ever checked our gas and there were no minnows all week. They certainly don't cater to the fisherman. Disregard the video with Ron and Leo.
The cabins are adequate but not well maintained (paint peeling, ashtray full of butts on the deck) and the heat was turned all the way up when we checked in. Garbage was picked up once.
We won't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are sorry that this guest did not find the lodge up to his standards. At Auld Reekie Lodge we try our very best to accommodate all of our guests. Unfortunately in a very rare occasion we encounter a guest who had very exacting standards, as was apparent with this guest.
Some lodges would take the comments made here as a personal attack on the lodge. We on the other hand will evaluate the comments made and make changes were possible. On the items that are beyond our control we will take the attitude that you cannot please all of the people all of the time. We stand by our statement that we offer the finest fishing in Northern Ontario. The true measure of our lodge is the praise and warm accolades from our countless other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We flew into the Lodge and had a wonderful stay. Urs and Diane were so accommodating to our need for flexibility when we had to alternate our stay dates due to weather and flying conditions.
We really enjoyed having back lakes to fish and just loved the solitude of the fishing spots. Not another soul on the lakes. The bonus was catching some awesome sized pike and bass! The cabin was cozy and had everything we needed with a beautiful view of the lake. The fishing boats are great - so comfortable with brand new motors. The meals are just top notch great for those with a large appetite. We were always "stuffed to the gills" when we left!!!
And the sweetest family that makes you feel like a long lost friend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

It was so nice to meet you and your husband! We always try to accommodate our guests and their needs as best we can. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry for the oversized plates! That seems to be a frequent complaint, but we would rather have you leave with food left on the plate then to leave hungry. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The accommodations and the family running the resort could not be more accommodating.
They were very organized and all cooperated.
The food was simple and excellent and plentiful
The boats were in excellent condition and comfortable seats
Fishing was fabulous and getting to the " back" lakes was very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld_Reekie_Lodge, Owner at Auld Reekie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

It was so nice to meet you! It is always nice to cater to guest like yourselves, always happy and easy going. So glad you enjoyed your vacation. We hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There is a reason all the reviews start out with "Urs, Diane and their family are wonderful". It's simply because they are. They is probably no better run place like this on earth. Their entire way of thinking is "what can I do to make these guests more comfortable and enjoy their stay more". They are the epitome of gracious hosts.

This place reminds me of being a kid again and renting a cottage "up north". Only, these days, there is a fully supplied kitchen, a dining table, electric heat, living room and indoor plumbing. It happened to be really hot when we were there and the ceiling fans saved us. This cottage was a small house, really, and so relaxing. Internet service is included. There is no cell phone service but a phone available at the lodge. Living in the states, I wouldn't use a cell anyway due to the roaming charges, plus, why spoil a good thing?

We got the whole package; meals and boat rental. The boats were really nice and well maintained. It was a blast running around Gowganda lake. Even though we were fishing at probably the worst time of the year, hot mid-July, we actually did fairly well on Gowganda, keeping my 12 year old interested and enjoying the experience. The food was shockingly great. I looked so forward to that salad every night I can not explain. The meals themselves were hearty and very, very good. Both breakfast and dinner were fabulous with a nice assortment to take with you on the boat for lunch.

The atmosphere is exactly what you hope for. The food was so good I asked Urs if he considered a restaurant and he threw up his hands and in a joking manner, I don't remember the exact words, indicated something like "No thanks, this is enough!"

And now, the most important part of this review. If you are staying at Auld Reekie for fishing, YOU MUST GO TO STUMPY LAKE!!! If Urs and Diane recommend something, do it! Like most folks, I am not made of money so I wasn't so sure about the extra jaunt to Stumpy but Urs and Diane were communicating to me "trust us on this one". Man, were they ever right! Heck, the ride alone to Stumpy was worth the price of admission! When we got into the four wheel drive truck to head out and Urs said "Oh, I forgot to ask if either of you get car sick" I knew this was going to be great! It's one of those things in life you'll just have to experience to appreciate. Before you go, your thinking is it's pretty expensive for a ride to a lake. However, after the trip, you'll be shouting "what a bargain!"

We were at Stumpy for only an afternoon but it was probably the best half day of fishing I have ever had. My son caught his first walleye and we were catching them all afternoon. We, along with Urs and Diane, were the only people on the lake. The only intruders were bald eagles, cranes, beavers and loons. Being a yank, seeing a bald eagle was actually kind of moving.

A pristine lake, catching walleye, and having bald eagles fly around us. It doesn't get much better than that. Then, to cap off the perfect fishing afternoon, Urs was kind enough to fillet and cook the walleye for us. The walleye wasn't cooked well: It was cooked perfectly. He'd make Gordon Ramsey look like a short-order cook.

It was an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiberiusSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I came up from the Toronto area for the first time with my father who has been coming for the last 8 years. It was well wroth the trip up! Urs and Dian and their children were very nice and helpful. The food and lodgings were amazing and the fishing was even better. We particularly enjoyed Dingy and Hanging Stone - loads of decent sized fish! I will defiantly be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raininstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

All these reviews start out: Urs, Diane & the rest of the family are wonderful, great, amazing hosts.... It's true, they are incomparable. This visit I spent 5 days there with my 85+ year old Mother fishing various lakes, including Stumpy. She was elated with everything, & especially blown away by the food! Fishing was challenging, but we caught enough to make us happy. Urs always goes above & beyond - from his outstanding shore lunches, truck retrieval (4 wheel drive only helps so much when it is REALLY wet & you are on the wrong road), & helping foks out however he can. And all with a great sense of humor.

There is a lot of happiness & laughter at Auld Reekie. They will surpass all your expectations!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Urs and Diane were wonderful hosts and they run a very nice lodge that we all recommend. Great food, nice family and a clean comfortable modern facility. We had a group of 6 determined anglers and we were NOT disappointed. Urs has some secret lakes that made even the grisly, seasoned fishermen giddy and Lake Gowanda has some fine honey holes as well.
We've been to 3 different lakes over the years but we all agreed to come back.
Thanks
John

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: £59 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Lodge Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing