We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really was The Last Word”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

What an amazing experience. This was our first trip to South Africa, we had a week on safari then a week here. When we pulled up outside I didn't quite know what to expect, we walked in and were taken to the balcony and given a class of wine, the manageress (who is an absolute sweetheart) talked to us about us, where we were from what we wanted to do etc then we were taken to our room which, well, I just don't know what to say, it was the most stunning room I've ever been in. Our bags were already there and we were left to chill out. Shortly after there was a knock at the door and the manageress had come back with ideas of what we could do whilst we were there all sorts. There was simply nothing that was too much trouble for her or any of the staff. The breakfasts were amazing and when we came in of an evening the room had been turned down for the night and there was a little desert on our pillows.....do not stay here if you don't want to put on a stone!!! I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We had six nights there and I actually cried when we left. I adored it. It's not cheap by any stretch of the imagination and I would just say, before you let anyone book anything for you from taxi's to excursions, check the prices out first as they can be very expensive but we simply got carried away on the whole experience. On our last morning having breakfast we even saw whales in the bay. This hotel really did live up to its name, it is The Last Word.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Intimate and inviting, one's breath is taken away by a hotel with a view to die for-combine that with attentiveness, just the right amount without becoming too much of a good thing, attention to detail, your room is candlelit when you retire, and staff that are genuinely warm and happy to make you happy-the first night I was tempted to come out into the lounge wearing my pj's-that's how homey it was, with a sense of laid-back beach stylishness. I hope to back soon.

Room Tip: upstairs suites have the prima view which is worth a million dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilwolfaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

What an amazing area! So perfect for our honeymoon. We could walk out to the beach and go to nearby shops and restaurants anytime. So idyllic. We can't wait to go back! Oh, the best part? There was a different dessert waiting in the room at the end of each day! YUM!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Best place I've stayed in a long time a bit pricey but worth it

Room Tip: Upper floor has best views also most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here for aniversary trip.

first night in Africa at Long Beach what a choice. Absoltely pure bliss, fantastice recption. Was treated to a free lunch on arrival due to room not being quite ready. Bags were brought up to room, whilst we ate.

View fromupper room was very beautifl, had a walk on beach.

Got a fantastic recommendation for a meal and was driven there in hotels own transport with another family. Great base to visit the CAPE. All in all a great choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the upper rooms as better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

On our first trip to the Cape we wanted to spoil ourselves and therefore booked this little hotel. And a good choice it was. Splendid service at all levels, well placed south of Capetown with everything interesting in driving distance, quiet, super views over the beach and Table mountain in the distance. Can it be better?

The rooms are spacious with just a little wear in the bathroom but looking at how well all the rest is maintained that will no doubt be fixed.

Breakfast was superb. With only half a dozen tables maximum with the view I mentioned and the best English Breakfast I ever had served with a smile! Where else do you find this?

Diner is a bit less. Not expensive but, looking at the quality of the hotel, I was expecting a higher standard. But if you don't feel like going out it is worth staying for diner, just don't expect a 3-star chef.

Maybe this is the first time a say this about a hotel but I have the feeling I will go back in a not too distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our final desination on our honeymoon after a stay in Camps Bay and Franschhoek and what a perfect end to an amazing trip. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. Our room was fantastic with amazing views of the ocean. Each night after we returned from dinner we found our room decorated with candles and rose petals, and a desert waiting for us - such a lovely touch that really made us feel special and added to the overall experience of the very high quality service and attention that this hotel provides.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
677 reviews
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
198 reviews
19.1 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range: £206 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Cape Town/Kommetjie, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing