We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon, Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon, Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were in Cape town Last week for the Best honey moon ever, staff were incredible, decor and aesthetics out of this world. We stayed in their honeymoon suite.

We didn't have to lift a finger as the staff did everything with a smile.
Its location was right on the beach. Views were gorgeous.
We wouldn't choose anywhere else to stay the next time we are in Cape town.

We loved every second and would HIGHLY suggest you spoil yourself!

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms, we stayed in the honey moon suite, it had an open plan bathroom and bedroom. mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyPriceless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
155
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I recently had a surprise day out with my girlfriend for her birthday. She had no idea what was going on as we made our way around cape town taking part in all sorts of fun activities. At the end of the day we made our way to this idyllic spot to spend the night. (Thanks toescapeto.com for the suggestion). I proposed on the beach at sunset and we headed back to our room for dinner - What a magical day and i cannot think of a better place than here to have such a memorable occasion. Will have to definitely come back at some stage. Staff were brilliant! Above & Beyond, Thank you very much!!

Room Tip: One on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If not, it is certainly amongst the Top 10. Halfway down the Cape Peninsula at Kommetjie, the Last Word looks out across Long Beach to Chapmans Peak, Hout Bay and then Table Mountain in the distance. Magnificent!
This is an elegantly appointed small boutique hotel directly on the appropriately named long sandy beach and is the ideal retreat from the bustle of Cape Town or after a tour of the country. It provides only breakfast (but an extensive hot & cold selection included in the room rate) although snacks at lunchtime and dinner in the evening can be obtained by prior arrangement. The standard of catering is very high (we had outstanding Eggs Benedict for breakfast and a delicious Cape Malay curry one evening), and all wine and drinks are also included. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity or in Kalk Bay to suit all tastes and budgets.
We were given one of the two (huge) rooms on the upper floor with uninterrupted views and doors that fold back completely onto a private terrace - perfect for watching the sunset with a glass of wine in hand! I would recommend these as the ground floor rooms look out onto the small garden or the pool.
Jen, Hayley and their team are charming, welcoming and helpful and make one's stay here completely idyllic and utterly relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience was perfect. We will certainly come here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I hesitate to write a review about this gem! Words do no justice to it. The beach is where your room stops. Surfers fill the sea in front of you. The beach is miles long and then there is the view of the mountains across the bay. The rooms are light and very good. breakfasts are prepared with feeling and care and if you ask the very, very friendly staff will get you a lunch or dinner on the balcony. There are no downsides unless you want to be quickly in town and look for the jet set life. That is very far away although you can reach Cape Town in less than an hour and Kalk Bay or Hout Bay in less than 30 minutes

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AloysiusTrequanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was fortunate enough to have stayed at this property recently and just loved it! Its a small luxurious boutique style property, literally on the beach.

One can see that it was someones beach home, that has been converted into a small hotel.

The service is excellent & attentive, yet still giving you the space you need. One really does feel like you are "at home" (i wish!!)

The Kommetjie beach is just gorgeous....long stretches of white sand. Great for long walks but sea water very cold. Lots of surfers, dogs, happy families.

Kommetjie is approx 30 minutes drive from the Cape town city centre/V&A Waterfront, therefore if your a first timer to Cape Town, Id suggest spending your time there first, doing all your tours/activities such as Table Mountain, Waterfront, Camps Bay etc.....and then ending off with 2/3 nights at Long Beach to unwind.

Cape Point, Boulders Beach, Simons Town etc. are all fairly close to Kommetjie, so save those attractions for when your at The Long Beach. Or else cram it all in while staying in the city centre, and use your time in Kommetjie doing the calm and simple things, like long walks on the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious, but of course the ones upstairs offer the best seaview. However if your loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapetonianForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Last Word Group really knows how to make a holiday special. We decided that after Franschhoek we would like to see the sea so booked for just one night- that was a mistake we should have stayed longer. The staff were lovely and our room (ground floor) was perfect, even with a view of the back of Table mountain. Breakfast the following morning overlooking the Bay was wonderful. Many thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This boutique hotel has the most fantastic location on Long Beach in Kommetjie - you can practically fall onto the beach. The views from the upper suites are wonderful - across the beach and sea back towards Hout Bay. The rooms are well appointed and the staff offer warm hospitality. They went out of their way to make my husband feel special on his birthday. Only negative would be that there is a bit of maintenance required on shutters, towels etc.

Room Tip: Upper suite with views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
13.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Property: The Last Word Long Beach
Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Cape Town/Kommetjie, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing