We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you can book if there's a special on their rates - it's definitely worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you can book if there's a special on their rates - it's definitely worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

With so many beautiful, luxurious beachside accommodation available in our beautiful country, The Last Word's website has caught my eye more than once, but unfortunately their rates are always just a bit high for us. But my husband-to-be was put in charge of finding accommodation for our first night of honeymoon, and when we pulled up to the entrance of this beautiful, seafront establishment, I was bowled over. He told me that the only way we were able to afford it, was because they offered it to us on their Winter rates, even though the season was definitely in full swing already - and for this we were so incredibly grateful!

The service was excellent! From the moment we arrived, were shown around, and finally to our most beautiful room, which was covered with flowers and candles, a cheese platter and champagne chilling, ready for us to start celebrating.

A late breakfast was served to us in our room, and we spent the most idyllic morning, in bed, overlooking the pool and ocean, opening all our wedding presents! Another lovely extra was that we were told we could order breakfast at any time, and with no time limitation, we really enjoyed every second of our first luxurious step into married life!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueSchoonKrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
151
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had booked into Long Beach as a romantic end to a holiday of a lifetime for us. Although it is more of a guest house/B&B than a hotel, don't let that put you off. It is the complete deal of opulence for a small place to stay. It is tucked away in a town whose name means "small bowl".When we arrived, although my GPS took me to the door, it looked so unobtrusive from the outside, I couldn't belive it was the correct place. We even had to ask a passerby. Once the remote control gate opens though, the house is revealed. The views from the rooms are truely spectacular. Table mountain is visible in the far distance and at night, the town of Hoek Bay twinkles across the bay. Su, the acting manager, was a font of knowledge and we discovered that acting on her recommendations was always a good thing to do. Evening meals are by prior arrangement (hence not an actual hotel) and you have to chose your menu in the morning. However, saying that, the food was fantastic.
The service was second to none. The attentiveness has to be experienced to be believed. On our last night, whoever did the turn down service laid out rose petals on our bed in the shape of a heart, several candles had been lit and some tiny creme brulees were on the bed! How romantic was that??!!!
We had been given the suite which was very very plush. It does open out directly into the lounge/dining area and although there is a double door to reduce the sound, we could still hear what was going on.
All the bar drinks are included in the price.
Breakfasts are great with a fantastic choice of food to cater for everyone. There was even some Marmite.
Overall, having got over the change of expectation from hotel to guest house, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was a great location to end our holiday on

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_For_Grownups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We picked to stay at the Long Beach on our return trip to South Africa, after staying at one of its sister hotels The Frannshoek in 2009.

Boy were we taken in by the Long Beach.............I could have happily spent my whole holiday there and it was a real wrench to move on!

From the moment we arrived we felt at home, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We were welcomed with a chilled bottle of Tanzanite Brut and a wonderful chocolate pudding, very apt considering we were looking to buy a Tanzanite Ring for my 40th Birthday!

The food was oustanding at breakfast there was plenty of choice and all cooked freshly to order. I think I would find it hard to find a better place to each breakfast , looking out across the sea towards Table Mountain and Chapmans Peak what more could you ask for. We also did eat in one night, which was intimate and cosy, and after a wonderful meal we went downstairs to our room only to find two more little puddings!

We had some great recommendations from Hayley for eating out, Rioja was fantastic and they made my pudding really personalised, along with the Food Barn which is great for foodies!

We also took the opportunity to do the Horse Riding across Noordhoek beach which was incredible..............

Hayley, Jenny, Zet, Joan and the rest of the staff were truly oustanding, and nothing was too much trouble. They even gave me a little present as we were leaving to remember them by, which proudly hangs in my bathroom.

Well done the Team, tell Joan she does not need to save her pennies so we can return.........we have already decided we are returning........its just a matter of when!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel53472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed at the Long Beach for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday, and couldn't have chosen a more tranquil place to relax. We were welcomed with a cold drink on the terrace which overlooks the silver sand dunes of Kommetjie Bay, propped up by Table Mountain in the background, then shown to our room. The beautiful open-plan suite was spacious and airy, tastefully decorated in mellow colours that complimented the natural landscape, and the olive & honey cosmetics provided in the ample bathroom were lovely to use.

The staff we met (Haylee, Jennifer and Zel) could not have been more accommodating. They were attentive, friendly and very helpful with suggestions, routes and information about the Cape Peninsula. We chose to have breakfast (a leisurely affair) on the terrace watching seabirds and listening to the surf, but could have eaten in the laid-back dining room or been served in our suite. Wherever you take it, breakfast is well worth getting up for!

Although the hotel doesn't generally offer dinner, by prior arrangement they can organise a local chef to prepare a meal for you. We opted to eat in the first night, planning to eat out after that, but the food was so delicious that we ate at the Long Beach every night! Joan, our chef, who cooks like an angel, offered innovative top-quality cuisine and also introduced us to several traditional South African favourites. Each plate was perfectly cooked and presented - each plate went back to the kitchen clean; weight-watchers, beware!

I'd happily recommend the Long Beach to anyone: discreet friendly service, sumptious food, beautiful surroundings - total relaxation is guaranteed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen2Lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Just returned from an idyllic stay at the Long Beach and it was the most chilled and comfortable i've ever felt in such a small hotel. Fantastic service that was discreet and perfectly judged makes you feel so relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to all the staff for an amazing time and for helping to make the wedding such a great event.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and can honestly say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!). Our suites (one for us and one for our children) were both sumptious and the view of the beach, ocean and mountains beyond were breathtaking. When you added in the most fantastic attentiveness, care and thoughtfulness of the staff, this small boutique hotel without doubt exceeds its 5* rating. Help yourself to the bar, candles, rose petals and champagne in our room on the first night, booking of restaurants, playing cards with the children, fantastic breakfasts ..... simply wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie_stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

A fantasticly beautiful little gem of a hotel hidden away from the hustle and bustle. This is a stunning hotel set on the coast that just screams paradise to you. the staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It could be classed as being in the middle of nowhere so having a car would be very useful as taxi's or the hotel chauffeur can be very expensive but the hotel itself is a gem. Stunning views of the beach from every room. We stayed here for the wedding of two dear friends and the whole setting was just perfect. Be wary of the very COLD sea though.
A stunning location with amazing staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank there4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Property: The Last Word Long Beach
Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Cape Town/Kommetjie, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing