We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value though some room facilities lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delfinos Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delfinos Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torquay
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value though some room facilities lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had a little difficulty finding someone at check in but after that a good welcome.

The car parking is under the motel and down a steep (short) driveway. After getting into the secure car park we went up to the room in the lift. It was awkward to get to our room using the luggage trolley so I did not use it when we checked out.

The room though large was a bit of a disappointment as it did not have a microwave and there was no wifi (not even any that could be paid for though there was a chargeable internet PC in reception). There were few channels on the TV.

The room was not made up while we were staying though maybe that is that is usual though we were not aware if that is so.

Room Tip: Be careful if you have heavy luggage that you can get it easily to the room. We had to negotiate a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Basic accommodation, which is all we had planned for. However we have milk and a fridge but no coffee, tea, cups or glasses and just had my worst shower ever with a dribble of water versus it coming gushing out of hand basin tap. Choose a sponge bath instead. Personnel helpful and friendly. Location next to two restaurants and beach across the road. However I would not return because of shower.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I arranged to stay at Delfinos last year over Christmas - and had the worst experience. I found the hotel conditions way below par, and the manager rude and unfriendly.
Having just come back to tripadvisor one year later I see that Delfinos still has plenty of positive reviews, I don't understand why I was the unlucky one...?
To start - we collected the keys from an envelope at the closed hotel reception counter.
On entering the 2 bed apartment we found the unit ridden with ants, and filthy with outdated furniture.
It was absolutely impossible for us to stay there. When we tried to discuss this with the resort manager, all I got was verbal abuse about how I had ruined his christmas day - not thinking how his run-down units and filthy accommodation had ruined ours.
In later correspondence, I tried to resolve the issue of my paying for 2 nights accommodation which I could not think of sleeping in. The manager did not make any amends.
I have been left 300 dollars out of pocket for services that I didn't use all.

Word of advise - stay away from Delfinos.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 for 4 days before returning to Brisbane to fly back to Germany - we actually extended our stay by 1 day. The hotel is in a perfect location: the beach is just across the street, absolutely no winds due to the bay protection and a lot nicer than close to the harbor. Lots of small restaurants with a lot a local people - a lot more nightlife than around the big hotels at the harbor. Our favorite was the Irish Pub just around the door. This hotel is a family run business. The owners are extremely friendly and very supportive - we could reach them anytime also outside the business hours. We had an apartment with kitchen - big enough for the three of us and in a good condition with a very nice balcony to enjoy the morning sun. Closed underground parking under the hotel available. We really loved this place after all the big hotels we stayed in during our Australia trip!!!!
Nicolas, Monica + Helmut

Room Tip: Great morning sun on the second level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helmut_F123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I've been to Delfinos several times now and I can honestly say that I've never had a problem with the staff, the rooms or the location. Considering the price I found the hotel more than reasonable. It truly is a home away from home. For those seeking room service this is not for you, the apartments are self contained and you will need to cook for yourself, but in saying that the facilities are perfect for that. I'll say it again, it is a self contained apartment which is just how I like it, if you stay longer than a week your apartment will get cleaned and all linen and bath towels etc. will be replaced. This is perfect for families or a group of friends. I also can't believe I forgot about the wonderful managers, these people were always friendly to me and I never had a problem with them. For those who have I suggest that they re-examine how they treated the staff, because to me they were the most friendly and polite and genuine managers I've ever met. I'll be going again for years to come...

Room Tip: Bottom floors are ideal for families as they have much larger outdoor areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed one night in a "hotel room" on our way to Brisbane. These rooms are fairly small, a bit smaller than an average hotel/motel room. The room badly needed refurbishing; walls and doors were marked and damaged. The apartments would be larger and could be in better condition, however I didn't view these.
The windows can only open a short way to conform with new OHS regulations (apparently) and the room was fitted with an airconditioner and fan. The airconditioner was quiet but was too large for the small room - we had to manually torn on and off to avoid freezing the room. And the fan was very old and was too noisy for a good sleep.
The managers were very friendly and helpful, but the quality of the accomodation let them down.
Price was $95, I think there would be better motels for this price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband & Istayed at Delfinos in November when we were on our touring holiday adventure. Everything was wonderful large one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, laundry facilities which are always very welcome when you are touring. Very convenient location for the beach, only across the road, there was a supermarket within walking distance and a very nice Irish Pub next door (Houlies) from which there is no noise. Our apartment had a balcony at the front of the building so we could sit and have a drink and watch the world go by. There was plenty of secure undercover parking. The couple who run it made us feel very well and we soon realised that they were from the north of England which is also our home territory. The swimming pool is a good size and it was heated. All in all we had a superb stay and thoroughly recommend it to future travellers.

Room Tip: If you want to watch the world go by ask for room at front, but if you want a quieter life have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
3.0 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
2.9 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Crest Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delfinos Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delfinos Bay Resort

Property: Delfinos Bay Resort
Address: 383 Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Delfinos Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Hervey Bays best beach is Delfinos Bay Resort. One, two, three bedroom apartments and overnight double and twin rooms. Heated pool 28c all year, Free Box Office Movies, Secure Underground Parking and Games Room. Delfinos Bay Resort - where you're greeted with a smile and you leave with one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Delfinos Bay Resort Torquay, Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing