We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spotless and great onsite manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charlton Apartments
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“spotless and great onsite manager”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were very happy when we arrived at the Charlton Apartmentsas they are directly opposite the beach. What A fantastic view we had. The Apartment was modern and spacious and had everything you need.We were really impressed as the apartment was spotlessly clean.Close by are lots of cafes and restaurants. The onsite manager was friendly and really helpful .
My only grumble is that we couldnt stay longer. My son loved swimming in the pool and I loved sitting on the balcony looking at the fantastic view. Thank you we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
The Management and staff here at Charlton Apartments take great pride in our presentation and cleanliness standards.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Hervey Bay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We've just had three nights at this property. Well located, friendly management, well appointed apartment - bathrooms and kitchen especially. Spacious lounge/dining area. We chose a garden view room, but still had ocean glimpses! Apartment was airconditioned and had ceiling fans as well - we were there over a very hot weekend. We're looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!! We chose a garden view room (cheaper), but the ocean view rooms have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
We are glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A spacious apartment but definitely not "luxury" as advertised "Charlton Luxury Apartments". The apartments are old and in need of a little modernisation. The kitchen was old but useable, The double bed was very comfortable as was all the furniture, indoor and out. The room smelt a bit stale when we first came in and the frypan was not correctly washed by previous occupants and still smelt like fish. The fridge stank of fish and we had to buy vanilla to get the smell out. Overall a nice stay, but would prefer to stay in a more modern apartment further up in Torquay. Location was fabulous as right accross from the beach and the pool was nice, but only 1 BBQ area for a lot of apartments! No gym either. Shops and restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: A ground floor balcony close to the pool and easy to access No gym, Only 1 BBQ area, Nice pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_HBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback - here at Charlton Apartments we value our guests comments and suggestions.
We do apologise for any inconvenience caused with the frypan and fridge - if you had let us know as soon as you found the oversight - we would have gladly replaced the frypan and organised for the fridge to be rotated out.
Being a seaside community - a lot of guests do come for the fishing aspect of Hervey Bay and we do have continingies in place for this - ie rotating a fridge out of an apartment.
Our current advertising should state "Charlton Apartments" - I will endeavour to locate the out of date website advertising and make sure it is updated ASAP, Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Recently stayed with my sister and niece to attend a family function. While the resort is not new, it is unbelievably well maintained and CLEAN! Everything is extremely well presented with all the crockery and cutlery stacked in order and neatly. A lovely little pack of toiletries is provided, and the bathrooms are as clean as the kitchen. Good quality towels and linen. Very comfortable beds with new or near new bedspreads. These are large apartments. Also viewed with penthouse as some cousins were staying there. HUGE!! Really huge. They had 7 staying and all very comfortably. The front apartments look out over the beach, so a nice view. Good location with nice restaurants close by. Wild Lotus is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and great review .
The Management and staff here at Charlton Apartments take great pride in our presentation and cleanliness standards.
We are glad you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this resort in Hervey bay. Our apartment was very clean, and very spacious. The manager Dave was very friendly and very knowledgable when booking our family tour whale watching.
The kids enjoyed being across the road from the beach and the bike track.
There are plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance. Our family enjoyed their stay so much we booked to come back in November.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently stayed at the Charlton Apartments, and was disappointed with the choice. Booked off internet relatively last minute, and chose this place for location and price (Was cheapest 4 Star rated accommodation at the time)

Booked a Single bedroom apartment but when checking in there was 1x bedroom and 3x locked rooms and no laundry? When asking about this I was told that I was supposed to advise reception as to whether I wanted the extra rooms or the laundry unlocked....?? One would assume that booking a self contained apartment the laundry would be available all the time...

A close look at the inventory list revealed no dishwashing liquid, dishwasher detergent and only 1 bar of soap for both the shower and hand basin for 2 persons. Also had to call on the second day to ask for more soap and shampoo as this was not replaced and there was no hairdryer in the bathroom. Probably the only place I have ever stayed at that did not have a hairdryer for the lady.

Hotel Facilities- The Hotel itself is on Charlton Esplanade right across the road from the beach. All rooms face the water and have a large balcony with which to enjoy the morning sun and check out the horizon. Resort is close to most coffee shops and restaurants and there are several small grocery stores nearby, if you are active you can walk to most things. The attraction for me booking this place was not so much the rating but the fact that it was self contained style accommodation meaning you have everything you need to stay indoors if you choose however pots and pans etc were limited so although cooking was possible you would have needed to be selective with what you chose to cook.

The rooms are quite spacious but only average maintained; as stated above, I booked a single room (Queen) but there are alternatives for families etc. The Bedrooms was ample size and the living area large with combined living/Kitchen. Dining room had a couch and 2x single armchairs and dining table. Kitchenette was ok but as mentioned above not the best and well below the quality of the nearby Australis Shelly bay Resort. (No wine glasses and minimal pots etc...) Large fridge and dishwasher but I did not use it and there was no detergent anyways. Laundry was in the locked room that required opening after I checked in. Beds were comfortable and had ok pillows not the best but again this is not a 5 start resort. Bathroom was small and very pokey with and tiny shower shower. There was 1x reverse cycle Split system A/C in the unit.

Dining – Nothing on site but plenty of options within walking distance. Not sure if room service was available.

Recreation facilities – There is a Resort style pebble Crete pool at the front of the resort however due to the weather was not being used. There was no gym on site but there are several gyms within 5 minute drive in the heart of Hervey Bay.

Transport/Parking - The Hotel has free parking downstairs but is locked in the evenings and accessible with key.

All in all average stay and probably would not return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review – we do have some issues with some of your comments .
The first contact with our staff was a telephone call at 10:00am wanting to check into the apartment – as was explained and is clearly stated on our website – check in time is 2:00pm - though as a service to the guest - the Duty Manager moved the cleaning staff to the apartment so that there could be an early check- in. The apartment was ready by 11:30am and the guest advised by telephone.
The booking was placed through our website which clearly states “Our one bedroom apartments have either an en-suite OR a bathroom/laundry combined. Please let us know which you require when making your booking. (One bedroom apartments have the second bedroom locked)” http://charlton-apartments.com.au/rooms/
As a courtesy, stays longer than 2 nights, in a one bedroom apartment have the laundry available.
After a request to the Duty Manager at approx. 6pm that evening, the laundry was opened for the guests. Whilst there, she noticed that the guests parents were quite happily preparing food and using wine glasses in the kitchen. No mention was made of any shortfalls in either the service or the facilities at this time.
Charlton Apartments advertises as self contained and self catering. The “inventory” spoken of is clearly explained in the room compendium as follows: “Condiments – Your apartment is provided with a complimentary starter kit of coffee, tea, sugar, milk, toilet paper and toiletries for your convenience. You can purchase additional items from reception.” Dishwashing liquid, dishwasher powder etc is provided under the kitchen sink as is laundry powder, pegs etc.
Re the hairdryer – the hairdyer can be clearly seen in the second photo supplied by the guest – hardwired into the wall.
Re the “limited pots & pans etc ” – each one or two bedroom apartment is equipped with settings for six (6) people, including glassware. The kitchen has the following cooking facilities – a saucepan set of three differing sized saucepans, a pasta pot, a electric frypan, griddle (stovetop) frypan, microwave, full oven and griller plus a full cooktop and cooking utensils.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have just returned from staying 3 nights in the Charlton Apartments, Hervey Bay, and enjoyed our time there. The apartment was clean and tidy with the complete set up of washing / cooking facilities which were great. The lounge and dining room area was spacious and the kitchen was a good size too. We had chosen a 3 bedroomed apartment as it was my Husband and I, one of our daughters and also my parents staying there. My parents had the main bedroom with a walk in wardrobe and ensuite which was nice and big as was the room with the two single beds. The second bedroom with the queen sized bed which we had was not very big at all but was comfortable.
The only issue we had was the lack of hot water. The first morning we stayed only 2 out of the 5 of us managed to get a hot shower. This was really frustrating as we were all getting ready to attend my Grandmother's funeral so were all on time restraints. I was surprised at this considering the apartment could have slept 6 people but the hot water supply only managed to do 2 people. There was however a sign in the main bathroom that said the apartment had a small water tank - but definitely not big enough for the amount of people the apartment could accommodate!
In saying this our stay was pleasant and I wouldn't hesitate to go back should we want to stay in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J, Manager at Charlton Apartments, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback - here at Charlton Apartments we value our guests comments and suggestions.
We do apologise for any inconvenience caused to your family at such a stressfull time with the Hot Water system and hot showers.
The apartment HWS has a 120 Litre capacity, unfortunately the heating regime is controlled by the electricity tariff Ergon Energy has locked us in on and HWS does not reheat during on-peak times, only off-peak, also due to space constraints we are unable to install any larger HWS units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Crest Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Allegra Hervey Bay
0.4 mi away
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Apartments

Property: Charlton Apartments
Address: 451 - 452 Charlton Esplanade, Torquay, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlton Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlton Apartments is four star rated fully self-contained apartment resort offering some of the largest 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in Hervey Bay together with an enormous and unique 3 bedroom penthouse. With prime position on The Esplanade, Charlton Apartments is directly opposite Hervey Bay's most popular patrolled swimming beach and is in easy walking distance to a range of local shops, restaurants and other activities. Amenities include • Spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with ensuite to main. • Walk in / through robes • Main bathroom includes full laundry facilities • Separate 2nd toilet • Private spacious balconies • Fully equipped kitchen with all amenities including cooktop, oven, griller, microwave and dishwasher • Reverse cycle air conditioning and ceiling fans • Laundry facilities include washer & dryer, iron and ironing board • Large flat screen digital televisions and either a Blueray or DVD Player • FREE Foxtel (9 channels) • Free WiFi • Direct telephone line to all unit • Apartments available with either ocean view or garden view. • Wheelchair accessible • All apartments are smoke free inside with smoking only permitted on the balcony The Facilities • Large outdoor swimming pool • Free BBQ facilities • Gazebo • Lush tropical gardens • Direct beach access • Wireless Internet Hot Spot • Dual lifts to all floors • Allocated undercover basement car parking with keyed access • Boat / Golf cart parking available • Minutes walk from many fine restaurants and cafes • Port-a-cot, highchairs etc available • Extra rollaway beds available upon request • Full tourist information and tour booking facilities free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton Apartments Torquay, Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing