We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Leon
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lahad Datu
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ocean(Lahad Datu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kingston Hotel(Lahad Datu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Sipadan Inn(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sipadan Inn 2(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seafest Hotel(Semporna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
0
16
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
16
10
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Hotel have a great view of the sea.
The room is spacious, clean & comfy. Interior- from lobby to the room is simple rich modern design. Worth the stay as they provide a very comfy bed. After long hours on the road and you are lazy to walk far for dinner, there is a great restaurant located behind the hotel. Less then 2 min walk. The hotel is really convenient as it is located beside the town but it is quiet. You could sleep soundly as possible with no interruptions.

Downside-need to improve on the water floor trap for the toilet. While you are taking your shower, you are creating a pool of water at your feet.
-mini fridge does nt keep things cold after hours of leaving it inside. Instead we put it on the table to allow the air conditioning to keep it cool.

Room Tip: Convenient to town and 2 min to great seafood restaurant for muslim and non muslim.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kickaflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The hotel is a converted shop lot type. Only 2 floors. The room is consider clean but you might not get a good sleep. Those room that facing main road will get the noisy motorbike sound at night. Some times there are a group of people hanging around the main road to have a party with huge car speakers volume and rock music playing. If you happen to get those room at the end of the hotel which face the restaurants, I am pretty sure you will not get your sleep. The breakfast food is super lousy and not much variety.

However there are some good points of this hotel. It's just a walking distance to restaurants where you can have various type of food. Convenient store is also at a walking distance.

Room Tip: If you travel for business only, make sure you choose those rooms that face the sea or in the middle.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Learn some of the local dialect if you wish to converse with the receptionist . Bring your own food and water and wine (your going to need at least 2 out of the 3 )
The chefs done a runner today , luckily enough we found a supermarket close by you can buy water and tinned peaches and coke ( no fruit) that should suffice for breakfast .
Our reservation that was emailed twice and we spoke to the hotel direct had still been messed up , resulting in the wrong room type being offered .
We could not stay in the hot fusty smelling executive suite.
The manager was very obliging / sweet and offered an upgrade to one of the 2 main suites . If you really have to stay in this town then this suite is good . On route to the Borneo rainforest lodge , would suggest to anyone doing the same , stay in KK and take the early morning flight .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne_In_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Perhaps it was staying in the month leading up to Hari Raya: at another timke they may be better organised. But anyway, the hotel is located in the centre of the town, a newish 2-storey building with a half built row of shops on one side (i.e. a building site) and a car park on the other. More about the car park in a minute. Catering issues included no room service (at all). Be warned that the coffee shop closes at 8pm; the breakfast buffet is fairly dismal but in any case cold by 8am (heaters etc get turned off - even the tea is cold). Best to walk out and eat at the nearby seafood restaurants or hawker stalls.

Whilst the suite was spacious, the hotel wouldn't entertain any discount on the rack rate of RM388, which makes it expensive for Malaysia: with a corporate rate you could stay at a 5 star in KL for that price. Poor designs included a very gloomy bathroom with no power points. Very low, almost almost non existent hot water pressure: you may have to settle for a cold shower. The bed room aircon barely worked at the lowest temperature and highest fan setting. Just the thought of the difficult conversation with reception to explain the problem put me off calling: it was way easier to leave the bedroom door open to the lounge (where the air con did work). Bedroom TV didn't work at all and just two international channels available on the main room TV. Poor fuzzy reception on the three domestic channels provided. I'd recommend bringing a book, especially as the Maxis 3G roaming was actually faster than the complimentary wifi.

Have to say I wasn't impressed getting back to the room on the 2nd day to find that housekeeping had forgotten to make up the room. I know it can happen on occasion at any hotel, but considering the place seemed almost empty, it was a tad surprising. The hotel provides three free sachets of coffee: after that you pay. No mini bar, but there was a fridge (empty of course) and four free bottles of water were provided.

Outside at night was noisy until about midnight/1am. The local boy racers bring their cars to the back of the car park and compete to see who has the noisiest engine and/or biggest and loudest car stereo speakers. I think the winner was the guy with the souped up Mitsubishi Lancer. You may know the type: oversized tyres, go faster stripes, almost black windows that would do justice to a certain type of karaoke bar and rear spoilers to make sure the 1.3 litre engine doesn't cause the car to lift off. If loud, howling Malay rock music into the early hours is your thing, a room overlooking the car park will be perfect.

There's probably more, but I recommend reading my 'good room tips' below.

Room Tip: If your in business for Lahad Datu for a just a day, stay in KK and catch the early morning MAS Wings flight - gets you in around 8am. Last flight out to KK is about 530pm. Thats what I'm going to do next time anyway....
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostnfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Clean hotel right in the center. There are parking places in front of the hotel. A few chinese small restaurants at the door step.
The decoration is very modern. There is a TV and DVD player in the room.

Room Tip: We went twice and the second time there was a strong smell of cigarette. ask for non-smoking.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChineseTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews