We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is 'acceptable' good enough in 2012?”
Review of Toghill House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Toghill House Farm
Ranked #1 of 5 Wick B&B and Inns
Northants
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Is 'acceptable' good enough in 2012?”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We booked this accommodation because we wanted somewhere that could offer adjoining rooms. On the website, all looked fine, and indeed it was; however, we received the impression that not enough care was being taken, and indeed Toghill Farm is up for sale, which may be the reason.
The two adjoining rooms we booked were clean, but the decor is twee and fussy. The bathroom was OK but hadn't been updated for years. One of the bottles of water on our tray was half empty - not a big deal, but it makes you wonder how thorough the cleaning had been. On being shown to our room, no key was in the door - this was brought up to the room an hour later - a small thing, but it makes you wonder how thoroughly rooms are checked. Also, although we are dog lovers, we don't allow dogs in our bedrooms at home, but one of the Toghill family pets wandered in and asked for some attention... do hope he hadn't been allowed on the bed before we arrived.....

Breakfast was perfectly OK.

Room Tip: Family room (adjoining rooms) are OK but a little bit cramped if you were to fill all the beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
30
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My parter and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting relatives in Bristol.

On a positive side the property is very picturesque with beautiful views all around. The main courtyard which the rooms surround is very pretty with lots of flowers.

Unfortunately things then went downhill. We stayed on a B&B basis but were given a room in one of the self catering parts as all the B&B rooms were already taken. The room was rather dated and a bit twee but this is an old farmhouse so that could be forgiven. However, the chest of drawers had a broken front, there were no glasses for us to have a glass of water (let alone bottled water in the room), there was only one bedside cabinet, the tv on the wall was right above the kettle so was covered in steam when making tea and there was no hair dryer or any other thing you might expect in a room costing £88 per night.

Then we moved to the bathroom and were amazed to find the light switch was actually above the bath and within the shower curtain. Incredible!! There was also paint peeling off the walls, no towel rail or toilet roll holder and the spare toilet rolls were soggy as they were at the end of the bath and sprayed with water from the shower.

At least the bed was comfortable!

Oh well - maybe breakfast would make up for it. The choice was cooked or not. In other B&Bs I've stayed in recently I've had a wide choice of breakfasts including kippers, haddock, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs but not here. At that room rate I would expect more. So up came the cooked Full English and it didn't even include a sausage. There were also not enough tables for all the guests (we got the last one) and then we were astonished to see the family dogs wandering around and under peoples tables. Not terribly hygienic where food is being served. We also noticed dogs sitting on the furniture in the guest lounge.

And then the final piece de resistance - when we were leaving the place, there on the main path in front of us was a lovely deposit of dog mess.

This place may have a number of rosettes / stars but it was far from the standard we were expecting and was hugely expensive compared to other far better properties we have stayed in. We wont be back.

Room Tip: Choose another guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I can't recommend this accomodation:

1) the rooms on the top floor are quite small and though they have private bathrooms, there is no shower
2) dining options for dinner are quite limited (the farm does not do dinner, so you have either the pub in Wick or you must book in advance with Follyend Farm Shop)
3) the staff wasn't able to give walking directions from the Cotswold Way
4) the owner wasn't concerned about the fact that seven of us spent nearly an hour walking in the rain unable to find the farm.

Do NOT stay here if you're walking the Cotswold Way. The roads leading there are too dangerous for walkers (trust me on this!), and there's no easy way to get there from Greenway Lane. There are no signs on any of the footpaths leading to it, and the locals all have different directions on how to walk there. I was shocked and amused that a call to the B&B for directions led to a conversation with a young lady house-sitting who not only had no idea about directions, but also could not describe the exterior of the house -- except for this wonderfully helpful description: "It's covered with ivy!".

On the plus side, the breakfast was quite good. A nice selection of juices, fresh fruit, porridge and a full English breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here last Friday night and Saturday night and enjoyed the restful location overlooking fields.

The rooms were all good with private bathrooms and the breakfast was delicious.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Would certainly recommend a stay here. If we come to this area again we will certainly stay here.

Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindafromworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very quiet and great views over to Wales and comfortable. Close to Bath with a very short drive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Toghill House Farm, even though the weather during our stay was terrible. We went to Bath by taxi but any walks in the surrounding countryside was out due to the howling wind and lashing rain! Our room was in the main house and very clean and cosy, so was the bathroom with fluffy towels, the bed was nice and comfy. The breakfast room was lovely with cutely set tables and ours was in the conservatory bit with views over the rain soaked hills. My breakfast was delicious, couldn't fault it, and my vegetarian friend enjoyed her scrambled eggs on toast, with mushrooms and tomatoes. Endless pots of tea were cheerfully bestowed on us, and even some painkillers for me as I had a terrible cold! Also I'm an animal lover, so I enjoyed meeting the four wonderful Border Terrier dogs and big ginger cat who greeted us when we arrived. Staff are kind and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay devon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed one night recently on my travels and was very impressed with the location.....I wanted somewhere quiet but close to Bath for visiting freinds..............service/bedroom were excellent and tne breakfast was good.........will certainly stay in the future and for longer

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
1.1 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
11.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
4.3 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brittons Farm
Brittons Farm
#1 of 1 in Beach
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toghill House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toghill House Farm

Property: Toghill House Farm
Address: Tog Hill House Farm Freezing Hill, Wick BS30 5RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Toghill House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toghill House Farm Hotel Wick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing