We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Should have been better”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

On paper this hotel looks amazing, but unfortunately it is let down from the moment you try to check in. There is no point asking for an earlier check time, as the staff are obviously fed up with being asked and litter the reception desk with signs stating 3pm check-in. We saw 4 printed signs! Not the most welcoming welcome! I understand that the rooms need cleaning etc, but there should be some discretion used, if 1 room is ready before 3pm, what's the hurt allowing a guest early access. As keeping the customers happy should be the main aim of good customer service surely?

We stayed here as part of a wedding group, so couldn't check-in at all before the wedding.... A bag of envelopes with keys in was given to one member of the wedding party to distribute. This sort of check-in is ok if you are staying at a youth hostel, but come on, where is the personal approach. I was ready to check in, my key was available... But no, I had to hope it was in the bag. No wonder there were problems when we returned at 1am and people didn't have keys. It's a system waiting to fail.

Luckily, one of our party had upgraded her hotel room that evening, so had a spare room key. This spare hotel room came in handy, as one of the wedding party was roomless when we returned at 1am!

Our room was comfortable and quiet. The shower needed a good old scrub, black mold in the tile grouting isn't a good look. A few squirts of cillit bang would sort this!

However in complete contrast, the bar staff & restaurant staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you. The location is beautiful.

It's a real shame, this hotel has potential, but it is obviously relying too much on guaranteed bookings from weddings and not bothered about repeat business.

I don't think I'd return as I wasn't made to feel valued, just a wedding guest on a conveyer belt. Easily replaced.

A shame.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TP_Management, General Manager at Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you were not happy with the reception procedure however there were issues that you obviously are not aware of.

We are a 3 star hotel and we do not have a night porter or 24 hour check in. We were advised that over 20 rooms were booking in sometime between the hours of 1am and 3am however, as they were all wedding guests the Bride and Groom wanted to welcome each guest as they arrived!

It was agreed that all the keys for the late check-ins would be handed out personally so that each one could be greeted accordingly, this was at the request of the B&G not the hotel.

Checking in and out of rooms is always an issue and we do feel for our guests that want to check in early and depart later, I would like to do the same. Unfortunately we do have to clean the rooms as you have pointed out with the Cillit Bang! If every guest checks in early and checks out late we don't have the opportunity to clean the rooms to the standard we expect.

Some of your party checked out after 12.30 knowing they had to leave by 11am, as we had another wedding that day and we had guests for the next wedding asking to check in early as they were getting married at 2pm.
I fully understand guests want to check in early and out late but please understand that we have to be firm at times in order to clean the rooms correctly for the next guest.
Rooms are always open to guests as soon as they become available from housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    261
    138
    56
    36
See reviews for
126
454
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel for a short break, and once again we found the staff were helpful, attentive, without being overbearing and very focused on customer service and I would recommend this hotel for not only a golfing break but for a base for exploring the many attractions offered within the area. The surrounding are stunning and the rooms are both clean and attractive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rycresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for two nights around a family wedding. Had read the varying reviews in advance and didn't know quite what to expect. A couple of issues booking rooms but eventually Angela was very helpful and sorted everything. Arrived at 2.15 to find not one but two signs on reception announcing that check in is 3pm. Might have been nice to have been welcomed first.. Breakfast was average and there seemed a lack of seating and staff. Bar was good value by hotel standards. Room was very comfortable in The Carriages - large bathroom, decent TV, comfy bed although the fridge did nothing in the way of cooling (I noticed an earlier review said the same - I did not, as was suggested to the other guest, unplug the fridge to use the socket for another use). Great value golf on a really nice course. Room was quite warm and can imagine when hotter outside this could be an issue. All in all perfectly reasonable for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldLanghoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unbelievably good quality and value. Me and 3 friends went for a golfing weekend and we couldn't believe how reasonable it was-a GREAT deal. Food fantastic and the quality and size of the rooms was very good. Well worth every penny and will definitely look to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlesworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of the best hotels I've stayed in (and I have high standards)! Our room was upgraded at a minimal fee. We stayed in a luxury room in 'The Carriages' room no. 35. Wow, what a beautiful room. Bath tub, super king bed, very quiet, just beautiful. The staff were attentive and accommodating - we didn't arrive until 10pm. Amazing value for money considering the high spec and the beauty of the rooms.
The location, perfectly set in the hills 6 miles north of Bath city centre, with great views. The breakfast was a buffet, but very tasty and plenty of choice.
The only downside is the reception area really lets down the initial wow factor this hotel has! In need of a refurb!

I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: A luxury room is about £150 per night including a great breakfast, absolutely worth it. Room no. 35...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank connif152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked for one night to attend Bath Races. Warm welcome with friendly staff. Room was lovely with great views across the golf course. Pleasantly surprised and happy as the cost of the room and breakfast was very reasonable. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nothing to complain about regarding the room, the setting, the food or drink, but what was a big let down with their customer service. Lesley, the manager was in particular to blame when not answering phone calls after being locked out of our hotel room on OUR WEDDING NIGHT. We gave her a chance to offer some sort of compensation for such an awful occurrence but instead she was "in meetings" every time we called. It's such a shame as the hotel has so much potential but we will definitely never ever be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KTlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TP_Management, General Manager at Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Due to the nature of the comments you have made and the fact we have statements from witnesses regarding your incredible behavior and actions which including kicking down a door and threats of blackmail we are unable to respond as we would wish.
You will be contactedin due course by our solicitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
638 reviews
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
12.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel

Property: Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Address: Tracy Park Cottage Bath Road | Nr Bath, Wick BS30 5RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Georgian mansion surrounded by two championship golf courses. Beautifully restored, classically styled and hugely inviting. The bedrooms, are set within the charming converted stables are decorated in a chic, contemporary style along with free Wifi and flat screen TVs, some even have ipod docks. The award winning Oakwood Restaurant is in a wonderful stone-vaulted Masonic lodge. Make the most of the golf courses or take the 4-mile trip into Bath - a beautiful World Heritage city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tracy Park Hotel And Country Club
Park Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing