We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband booked a weekend away for us and organised rail travel so I didn't have to drive (he doesn't drive).
The hotel was lovely and our room No.35 was equally lovely and very relaxing which is what we were looking for.

There were a few areas that we both thought could be improved on.

We arrived late on the Friday and the Bar man (we think David) checked us in gave us a map and pointed out where the building was. We entered the building but for about 7 mins we couldn't workout how to get to the 1st floor. There was a lift and stairs but were behind a door with no signage. We might have discovered it quicker had it not of been so late. So we thought for people who haven't stayed before it should of been brought to our attention how to get to the 1st floor.

Room 35 was beautiful a large full length window looking down the drive and a further double window looking towards the main building was perfect. A sofa and a couple of chairs and table. The bed was huge and so comfortable we had a sound nights sleep.

The next morning we headed to breakfast again it was slightly strange as you have to walk through the whole of the main building to get into the restaurant. We gave our room number and was told to find a table. However it wasn't clear which tables had been taken by others as people just went from the room to the main room to get their breakfast and didn't turn cups over so it made it next to impossible not to steal someone's table. The second morning there was a wedding and to get to the breakfast rooms you had to walk through where the wedding was being set up. I felt like I was intruding as I walked through.

If you don't like golf there isn't anything else to do at this venue and if you haven't got a car taxi's are £22.50 into Bath more to get to Bristol so a round trip would be £45.00. We walked into wick and grabbed a bus into Bath, they only run 4 times a day and are about 1-2 hours apart in time. We got a Taxi back as we missed the last bus back.

We ate at Masons on the Sunday night, It was very quiet in the restaurant just us and 2 other people. The food was OK My starter was good, my main wasn't, the meat was cooked to perfection but the buttered beans were hard and were left on plate. Also my pudding the crème Brule topping wasn't just caramelised it tasted of charcoal. I sometimes think the British say nothing policy is my big failing, But over all we would say the restaurant was ok, service was fantastic. We did notice the wedding party above us but it didn't take anything away from the setting.

We got back to our room and door key didn't work, However David was very quick at sorting this out so took only a few minutes in total and it was due to the fact when we first booked we only booked Friday and Saturday night. Then when Hubby realised it was a bank holiday he added another night on to the booking.

So overall:
A great venue
Restaurant service and food quality needs a bit of work

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazanne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Perfect location, nice rooms and good breakfast. The staff is really kind. It is very close to Bath, charming and in a superb location. 2 Golf course but, if you are not a golf player, you can enjoy the old building, very british and stilish, the food, and vist Bath

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matteo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked this for a friends hen do in Bath we occupied 5 rooms in the courtyard area. The hotel team were extremely helpful in organising taxis for us and setting us up in a private room for breakfast at no extra change. Would love to go back for longer than the 1 night we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BELOMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Weekend wedding at Tracy Park. Lovely setting and plenty of attentive well-trained staff. Good food at the reception, the evening event and at breakfast on Sunday morning.
Our room in the annex was stylish and the bed comfortable. There were three extremely small windows, only one of which opened, so ventilation was very limited and the drain in the bathroom sink was sadly reluctant. There was also a green light on an alarm over the door, which was very bright and shone directly on the pillow area of the bed. It was bright enough to read by! I am a light sleeper and found this did not help!

Room Tip: Try a room in the main hotel, rather than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Sylv64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

On paper this hotel looks amazing, but unfortunately it is let down from the moment you try to check in. There is no point asking for an earlier check time, as the staff are obviously fed up with being asked and litter the reception desk with signs stating 3pm check-in. We saw 4 printed signs! Not the most welcoming welcome! I understand that the rooms need cleaning etc, but there should be some discretion used, if 1 room is ready before 3pm, what's the hurt allowing a guest early access. As keeping the customers happy should be the main aim of good customer service surely?

We stayed here as part of a wedding group, so couldn't check-in at all before the wedding.... A bag of envelopes with keys in was given to one member of the wedding party to distribute. This sort of check-in is ok if you are staying at a youth hostel, but come on, where is the personal approach. I was ready to check in, my key was available... But no, I had to hope it was in the bag. No wonder there were problems when we returned at 1am and people didn't have keys. It's a system waiting to fail.

Luckily, one of our party had upgraded her hotel room that evening, so had a spare room key. This spare hotel room came in handy, as one of the wedding party was roomless when we returned at 1am!

Our room was comfortable and quiet. The shower needed a good old scrub, black mold in the tile grouting isn't a good look. A few squirts of cillit bang would sort this!

However in complete contrast, the bar staff & restaurant staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you. The location is beautiful.

It's a real shame, this hotel has potential, but it is obviously relying too much on guaranteed bookings from weddings and not bothered about repeat business.

I don't think I'd return as I wasn't made to feel valued, just a wedding guest on a conveyer belt. Easily replaced.

A shame.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TP_Management, General Manager at Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that you were not happy with the reception procedure however there were issues that you obviously are not aware of.

We are a 3 star hotel and we do not have a night porter or 24 hour check in. We were advised that over 20 rooms were booking in sometime between the hours of 1am and 3am however, as they were all wedding guests the Bride and Groom wanted to welcome each guest as they arrived!

It was agreed that all the keys for the late check-ins would be handed out personally so that each one could be greeted accordingly, this was at the request of the B&G not the hotel.

Checking in and out of rooms is always an issue and we do feel for our guests that want to check in early and depart later, I would like to do the same. Unfortunately we do have to clean the rooms as you have pointed out with the Cillit Bang! If every guest checks in early and checks out late we don't have the opportunity to clean the rooms to the standard we expect.

Some of your party checked out after 12.30 knowing they had to leave by 11am, as we had another wedding that day and we had guests for the next wedding asking to check in early as they were getting married at 2pm.
I fully understand guests want to check in early and out late but please understand that we have to be firm at times in order to clean the rooms correctly for the next guest.
Rooms are always open to guests as soon as they become available from housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel for a short break, and once again we found the staff were helpful, attentive, without being overbearing and very focused on customer service and I would recommend this hotel for not only a golfing break but for a base for exploring the many attractions offered within the area. The surrounding are stunning and the rooms are both clean and attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rycresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for two nights around a family wedding. Had read the varying reviews in advance and didn't know quite what to expect. A couple of issues booking rooms but eventually Angela was very helpful and sorted everything. Arrived at 2.15 to find not one but two signs on reception announcing that check in is 3pm. Might have been nice to have been welcomed first.. Breakfast was average and there seemed a lack of seating and staff. Bar was good value by hotel standards. Room was very comfortable in The Carriages - large bathroom, decent TV, comfy bed although the fridge did nothing in the way of cooling (I noticed an earlier review said the same - I did not, as was suggested to the other guest, unplug the fridge to use the socket for another use). Great value golf on a really nice course. Room was quite warm and can imagine when hotter outside this could be an issue. All in all perfectly reasonable for the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldLanghoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
12.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
209 reviews
12.7 mi away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel

Address: Tracy Park Cottage Bath Road | Nr Bath, Wick BS30 5RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Price Range: £87 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Georgian mansion surrounded by two championship golf courses. Beautifully restored, classically styled and hugely inviting. The bedrooms, are set within the charming converted stables are decorated in a chic, contemporary style along with free Wifi and flat screen TVs, some even have ipod docks. The award winning Oakwood Restaurant is in a wonderful stone-vaulted Masonic lodge. Make the most of the golf courses or take the 4-mile trip into Bath - a beautiful World Heritage city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tracy Park Hotel And Country Club
Park Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing