We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Decent rental - remote but attractive location”

Review of The Grove

The Grove - A beautiful Cottage Over Looking Chew Valley Lake, Somerset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grove - A beautiful Cottage Over Looking Chew Valley Lake, Somerset
Rear Terrace View of the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
10 reviews
The Grove - A beautiful Cottage Over Looking Chew Valley Lake, Somerset
Rear Terrace
View of the lake
Front upstairs double bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen / Dining room
Kitchen
Sitting room
Family bathroom
Sitting room towards the stairs
Rear upstairs double bedroom
Rear of Springfield Farm estate
You'll be in an area of outstanding natural beauty
View over the farm
Two of our ponies - Shambles and Freddie
one of our lovely black labradors - Jazz
One of our beautiful cats - Claude
The Farmhouse garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
East Harptree, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mat-Ingra...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent rental - remote but attractive location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 along with 4 other family members. The house was well appointed and nicely finished without being brilliant. The house is laid out on 3 levels with the main living area on the ground (middle) level. My wife and I and our 2 children took the 2 bedrooms on the bottom level which also had a bathroom. Despite the heating being on in the rest of the house it remained resolutely off on the bottom level which made it pretty cold! Aside from that, the beds were good, the bathroom was reasonable and the living area and kitchen/dining area was well-appointed and spacious. There is a large grassed area to the back and a fantastic view. The kids enjoyed playing with the 2 friendly resident dogs although they did leave a few "presents" on the back lawn (the dogs not the kids!). We did a lovely walk from the cottage to some local villages and the surrounding countryside is very enjoyable. Better than most rentals we have stayed in.

4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cold bathroom!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lg55
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Fantastic place. Clean, spacious, very well equipped, wonderful views.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
area_bass
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Just spent a fabulous weekend with a group of girlfriends. The Grove suited us perfectly. Spacious and high quality accommodation. We had every amenity we could wish for. The location is beautiful with stunning countryside views. I would definitely consider going to the Grove again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation with stunning views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankietw...
Berkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, perfect for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We spent four nights at The Grove and loved it. The cottage is spacious and well appointed, especially the large family bathroom with its fab monsoon shower! There were some nice touches like the welcome basket of goodies and a plentiful supply of plastic plates and beakers for children. The location is ideal for visiting attractions such as Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge. We also enjoyed exploring the woods just up the road. The owners were very helpful and we fell in love with their beautiful black Labradors. All in all, a fantastic cottage with everything we needed.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$227
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing