We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY EXCELLENT & A GOOD DEAL ON THE CAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“REALLY EXCELLENT & A GOOD DEAL ON THE CAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We just stayed here en route to France with Leger Holidays. We have actally stayed here once before a couple of years ago. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was nice enough, there is a little pub in the car park but it is shut on Mondays. There is also a lovely Beefeater 100 yards away which do really good simple meals and cheap. But packed out on a monday night.
We paid for one night, which was very cheap and got one weeks free car parking. How good a deal is that !!
Nice big clean rooms, big bed, nice shower all in all great for a chain, definately on the plus side. No negative points at all. Go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Lovely views, you can have the window open and no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Many thanks for your recent review of The Holiday Inn Ashford North and especially for your 5/5 rating. It is good to read that you found our bedrooms large and clean with a good shower. I am also pleased to inform you that our Hop Pickers Pub is now open on a Monday as well as each lunchtime. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel when you're next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    213
    87
    35
    19
See reviews for
137
202
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Not many nice things to say about this hotel, on face value its OK, not bad location if you off on your travels to France via the Tunnel or Ferry, but I have stayed in others in the area (Premier Inn) and its much better than this place.

So the positives: Good Location, Large Family Room.

Negatives: Internet non functioning in room, no Wifi and the cabled internet access did not work at all. Answer from reception when asked - If you dont know how to fix it then no way I do! Television in room has the most appaling reception, we are in the digital age, and the picture was worse than analogue.

To dinner then, may we have a table for 4? Yeah sit where you like (in a broken eastern european accent). Then ignored for around 20 minutes until we finally got some attention. Food arrived was cold, after frantically trying to get attention again (bearing in mind the restaurant had no more than 20 people in it) rude responses to my request for a warm up. Service was absolutely appalling. Only saving grace, and it is worth mentioning the home made cheesecake was absolutely spot on.

The worst part: Sleep, or complete lack thereof. We had an Air Conditioning unit it the room, which we did not use. We sat down in the evening, kids went to sleep and we tried to watch tv. Evey 10 minutes came this extremely loud, whooshing and hissing from the aircon. Hoping it would go away we tried to ignore but it continued. We called for assistance and the duty manager could not really do much, and as the hotel was full we could not be moved either. She tried resetting in the main plant room but this did not make any difference. We ended up with one of the worst nights sleep ever owing to this.

Breakfast was also awful, and the service attrocious. To add to injury when we booked the hotel as we were leaving early it stated breakfast started at 7:00am. When we arrived we were told that as it was ban holiday then breakfast would not be served until 7:30. We had pre-paid for this and got no apology.

In summary avoid this hotel, there are plenty of others nearby. And Holiday Inn if you are reading this you seriously need to sort this out, and I will be submitting a formal com[plaint about the service, room and being charged for Full Breakfast I did not receive.

Room Tip: None - Avoid like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Glenn_D123,

Thank you for taking time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased you found our location and room accommodations satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apology for the air conditioning issues you experienced, the inconvenience caused by the staff and if the dinner served during your travel did not live up to your expectations.

Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Although the hotel is located just outside Ashford it is only 10 minutes or so from the town. There are a few places close by to eat such as a beefeater towards Ashford or a vintage inn to the west on the same road. Roms are comfortable and clean. Service can be a little on the slow side but if you are patient it's not a problem. The price is usually very competitive for the area if you are a holiday inn points collector.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skilled_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean and our prices to be competitive. Hopefully you will consider our hotel when next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
278 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

A better standard than the other Holiday Inn in Ashford. Compact but adequate, and very clean. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. My only tiny, weeny criticism is the duvet was too thin. I was a bit cold in the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Ashford North. I am pleased to see that you found our cleanliness, staff, service, value and location all 5/5 and that you rated us 4/5 on sleep quality. I have passed on all of your comments to the team here. I have spoken to both housekeeping and reception and they apologise for you feeling a bit cold in the night. Both of them tell me that blankets are available from reception should you require and hope that this will not put you off returning to The Holiday Inn Ashford North.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kingsdown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

A great stay - booked via Laterooms so got a very good price. The reception made a cock up with my debit card, ended up charging me three times but this was put right after calling the hotel a couple of times.
Rooms are great - clean, good facilities, has a good bar and room service is good.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read you found our facilities great and the food and service good also. I'm sorry to hear of the mixup over your payment but pleased to hear that you would come back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berkshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were staying at this property so we could get up early and head to the Channel Tunnel for a morning crossing to the continent.

The hotel is easy to find, being on the A20, and is only 15-20 minutes away from the entrance to the Tunnel on the M20, so perfect in terms of location.

We bagged a great advance purchase deal and believed it delivered on value. Sadly, the same could not be said for the state of the hotel. While the check-in staff were nice and helpful, our room was very old with odd damp smells emanating from the bathroom, scuff marks along the furniture and black marks on the carpet. We were in room 6 on the "mezzanine". Sounds glamorous but it is the ground floor really, apart from a few steps. We got in the elevator and it seemed to bypass the mezzanine floor dropping us at level 1 so we had to go back down the stairs so we were on the right floor. Caused us a few giggles, but we got to the room eventually.

The bed was very hard and creaky - one wonders how old the beds are in this hotel, but we were so tired that we conked out and got a good night's sleep.

Other than that, there is nothing else to say about this hotel - we left at 5.30am after a cheery wake-up call from the front desk staff, so I cannot comment on the hotel bar or restaurant, nor breakfast. I did think it was a nice gesture by the staff to offer us a continental breakfast at 6am but we declined saying that we would be gone by then.

In all, the hotel serves a purpose and for the price we paid, I cannot fault the property too much. I just think that the room could have been nicer and the bed more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 2 or 3, not the mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on the hotel. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel easy to find and convenient for the Channel Tunnel and 5/5 on value for money. I have had Maintenance check the lift and each time they pressed the "M" button they were taken to the Mezzanine Floor without exception. We haven't had this comment before but will continue to monitor the situation.

I am pleased to see that even although you found the bed to be hard that you still got a good nights sleep.

I have discussed the apparent damp smell in the room with my Housekeeper and she is monitoring the situation closely.

Hopefully this won't put you off returning to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel b4 travelling down to dover for a trip to france, the room was very comfortable and had everything you needed. Will stay here again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Happy to read that your room was comfortable and had everything you needed. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Holiday Inn Ashford North in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hothfield
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.1 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Address: Garden Court Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent/Hothfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing