We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Stop over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were travelling to France by Eurotunnel and decided to stay at this Holiday Inn. We arrived at about 7pm. The reception staff were very efficient and helpful. The Room was perfect for a family of 4 with 2 single beds in a small room just off the main room (it was all open, no door). This meant that we were able to read/ watch tv instead of sitting in a dark room while the children settled. The hotel had a pub on site which had a curry night on which was ok if a little expensive £10 each including a drink. It was a buffet but we were quite late so there was not too much left. The hotel was very quiet and the location was easy to access the motorway to get off to the Eurotunnel in the morning. The only problem was the air con in the room did not work, and it was one of the few hot days of this otherwise very wet British summer. There was a fan in the room though and as the location was quiet we were able to have the window open.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stop over en route to France.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziespedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm pleased to read that my reception staff were efficient and helpful and that one of our family rooms was perfect for your needs. The Hop PIckers Pub has a curry night on a Thursday night which is very popular where they topup the buffet on demand but also have a full bar menu running on the night also. I am delighted to read that you would definately recommend the hotel for a stop over. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    209
    84
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
195
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is next to the motorway so traffic noise is a problem. The air conditioning did not work, we complained at the time but no one was able to fix it. The temperature in the room was to hot but could not have the windows open for the noise from the motorway. This gave us a very poor nights sleep. Complained in the morning to staff and wrote to head office, they apologised! I would not use a Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam004948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Sam004948,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirepoix, France
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our Tom Tom took us to a bridge on the M20 !! Apparently this an ongoing problem because the postcode is the same. Take the A20 instead and it is easy. Just past the Premier Inn on the left. The 'Hop Picker's' pub is next door where you can get a delicious meal - hot volcanic stone cooked steaks etc. We didn't eat in the Holiday Inn but it looked good. The breakfast seemed very expensive - so we ate elsewhere. The beds were huge, very comfortable and superbly clean. Staff very helpful, too. It is perfectly placed to get an early start back through the Eurotunnel... Will stay again.

Room Tip: The double room with a sofa bed was the same price as a double - so much more space!! Our room was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzij552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am sorry that Tom Tom took you on a detour on your way to the hotel. For anyone using Tom Tom only we recommend on our website using TN26 1AP which will bring you to within 400m of the hotel without going back up the motorway. We are trying to have this changed with Tom Tom. Having found us I am delighted that you enjoyed our Stone Grilled staek in our Hop Pickers Pub next door. For people requiring breakfast then the cheaper option is to book a Bed & Breakfast Rate or purchase a discounted Breakfast Vocher from Reception on arrival. Am happy to read that the room was superbly clean and my staff helpful also. Look forward to you staying again. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
355 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having trouble finding accommodation we were directed to this hotel which is within walking distance to the city. Good clean room with most help full staff.As a wedding was in swing we dined across the road which was excellent. Breakfast next morning was first class we would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trustascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your review and your 5/5 score. I am pleased to read that you found your room to be good and clean and my staff most helpful.I am also pleased that you found our Hop Pickers Pub excellent as well as breakfast next morning. It is good to see that you would definately recommend the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at the holiday inn ashford north before going on to drive to the south of France. Nice large room, very clean. We booked through a travel company for less then £70 for 4 adults and it was well worth it. It's not normally policy to allow 4 adult in a room but as it was not our fault it was allowed - there was plenty of room :-).

On leaving we managed to drop our euros in the car park as we left. The staff kindly retrieved them and kept them safe for us until we were able to pick then up a week later. Very much appreciated, very honest and friendly staff.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themonkey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad that we found your euros for you and that your trip wasn't ruined. Hopefully will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday inn,Ashford on 7th.July and found it to be quite a pleasant place to be.On the outskirts of Ashford in quite countryside.Very pleasant staff.Food very average but this is only rated as a 3*.The Hop Kiln pub is adjacent to the hotel a typical country pub with good staff.

Room Tip: Very handy place to stay for Dover/Eurotunnel and Ashford is only 4 miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HELGRA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
I'm pleased to read that you found our hotel a pleasant place to stay in quiet countryside on the outskirts of Ashford. It is good to read that you found our Hop Pickers Pub with good staff and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Instead of spending a night at a dreadful hotel near Calais, we chose this hotel by chance from the Holiday Inn website and were very pleased we did. For £67 we enjoyed a good night's bed and breakfast. On arrival Wendy the receptionist could not have been more helpful and check-in was swift. Our room was on the first floor overlooking an orchard and very comfortable. Travelling for pleasure, we didn't need to use the desk, but the chair was very relaxing. The bathroom was clean with even a safety mat for the bath provided. Hot water was very hot and plentiful. Lovely to use the bath after a fortnight of inadequate showers.

Beds were very comfortable and we slept well with the windows open, but were not subject to any noise. Even a chioce of soft and hard pillows.

We dined at the "Hop pickers" after Wendy reserved a table for us, and the food was excellent. Service was very good and when a lady at the adjacent table complained about her steak pie, it was replaced with a new meal of her choice without any fuss or argument. Truly a mark of good service. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was also good, but because there was so much choice, it took a little time to sort out what was available. Unlike a previous reveiwer, I thought that the bacon and eggs were excellent, and enjoyed the wide range on offer. Only sorry our stay was just one night, but wouldn't hesitate to stay again and longer if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
So pleased to read your review and receive 5/5. I'm glad that Wendy was helpful on reception and that your room was comfortable and clean with hot water hot and plentiful. I have passed on your comments to my staff regarding the excellent food at Hop Pickers. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to The Holiday Inn Ashford North in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hothfield
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Address: Garden Court Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent/Hothfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing