We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Slow WiFi and Non-Functioning AC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want good wifi access and want to be sure your room's AC will work DON'T stay here. I was told the wifi was virtually unusable because "the hotel is full."

My AC did not work. With windows open I had road noise. With windows closed the room was too hot.

The front desk staff was unable to resolve either problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethaifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you found the AC system difficult use and wondered if you asked for anyone to check the settings for you as I have been told by my Maintenance Team and my Air Con Maintenance Company that we only have one room in the hotel at the moment that has a problem. I must apologise about the speed on the WiFi which has been an on-going issue in this part of the world. I am delighted to be able to inform you that we are currently installing a 30mb leased line into the hotel which I am told should cure WiFi speed throughout the building. This should be installed and running towards the end of June and will make a huge difference to the speed of any connection here at the hotel.
Howard Shields, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently had a business evening meal at this hotel and then the following day hired the York Suite (meeting room) the following morning. The food was good, although the service was a little tardy. The meeting room was spacious, and the WiFi good. I had to chase up the first lot of morning drinks, but when they eventually arrived there was a good provision of tea and coffee. I would certainly use this venue again for a business meeting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philster29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for using the hotel for your recent business evening meal and meeting the following day. I am pleased to read that the food was good but apologise for the tardy service. Next day I was pleased to hear that you found the meeting room spacious with good WiFi connection. Sorry that you had to chase up your refreshments but I'm delighted to read that you would certainly use us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here overnight before a crossing to France. Very well located fot Dover & Folkestone with easy access to motorway. Our room was spacious & clean with 2 double beds.

As it was a warm evening, we tried to get the air conditioing to work without success.

The poor Wifi has been mentioned before and this is an item that this Hotel must address in these times. The cost of wired internet use in the rooms is very high.

One niggle was that a morning newspaper ordered when checking in was not ordered by the staff. When I asked about it on checking out, the staff member just shrugged her shoulders!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanTizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Alan, I am pleased to read that you found the hotel well located for both Dover and Folkestone with easy access to the motorway. I am sorry that you were unable to get your air-conditioning system to work but pleased to hear that you had a spacious room with two double beds. I have spoken to reception to find out why your newspaper was not available in the morning and to try and ensure that something like this doesn't happen again. Just to advise you that since your stay we have replaced the existing WiFI system with a brand new 30mb leased line which is giving a much stronger reliable internet connection. Hopefully you will see the massive improvement during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In this day and age one expects to get free wifi from a major hotel chain and to be available in all areas.Sadly this is not the case at this hotel.Free wifi only available in the hotel lobby and a very slow connection.
Everything else there is fine,although the service at the last holiday inn I stayed at was better

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear simon r,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the internet connection. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely and friendly hotel. Double room was impeccably furnished and very comfortable. A couple of negative points was the fact that the room lighting was dull. No central light just lamps. Also there was a continuous rumbling. Not sure whether it was coming from inside or outside of the building. Went down for evening meal and enjoyed a special deal, competitively priced. An enjoyable stay and well recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosila010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm pleased that you found this a lovely friendly hotel, impeccably furnished and very comfortable. I am sorry that you found the level of lighting low in your room and hope that this didn't spoil your stay. It was good to hear that your evening meal was competitively priced and that you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night with work before an early start the next morning, never got chance to have breakfast as I had to be out of the hotel at 5.30am. The rooms were clean and so was the bathroom, if anything the room was very warm even with the heating on min and air con on, had to sleep with the window open wide (but it was quiet). Had the room service the food was hot and average for room service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear yorkscouple,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked our clean rooms. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. I am sorry that your room was to warm for your comfort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I regularly stay at this holiday inn, The rooms are comfortable clean and generally quiet. The check in staff are always friendly there are 2 resturants on site which have a good variety of food on offer and there is a beefeater along the road a short walk. My only criticism would be that at the breakfast sitting the tea and coffee are self service in flasks constantly being refreshed, these can be heavy and awkward for some. I would definatly recommend staying at this hotel if your visiting the area.
Note SAT NAV users, use the post code for the beefeater not the holiday in post code TomTom's especially take you back up ths A20. (TN26 1AP)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford North A20, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Firstly thank you for being a regular at the hotel and still continuing to stay. I am pleased to hear that you find the rooms comfortable, clean and quiet and the reception staff always friendly. It is good that you find both of our on-site restaurants have a good variety of food. I have taken on board your comments regarding the service of tea and coffee during the breakfast service and my operations team are looking as to how they can improve this. Thank you for advising future travellers of an alternative post code and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hothfield
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.1 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Ashford
Travelodge Ashford
#6 of 8 in Ashford
532 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford North A20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford North A20

Address: Garden Court Maidstone Road, Hothfield TN26 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hothfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hothfield
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the charming rural surroundings of the Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 hotel, with easy access to Ashford's Eurostar train terminal.A country setting and family-friendly atmosphere make Holiday Inn Ashford-North A20 a peaceful home from home. Your Guest room overlooks rolling countryside and it's just 10 minutes' drive to the Eurostar terminal at Ashford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford North a20 Hotel Hothfield
Holiday Inn Hothfield
Hothfield Holiday Inn
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20 Kent/Hothfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing