We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved staying in the castle and thought it was excellent value on Travelzoo deal. We upgraded to turret room and the atmosphere of an old building was beautiful and as we expected. If you want a modern hotel without creaky floorboards don't stay here - but if you want helpful reception staff, historic building and amazing croissants we recommend! The dinner was good though charging for £1 for rolls is a little mean and possibly embarrassing for waiting staff.
We hope to return and would love to learn more about the history of the castle and the ghost that apparently frequented our room!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the building - there is no lift to this area so its not suitable for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear MaDKipling,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    151
    122
    110
    99
See reviews for
82
256
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Like many we took the Travelzoo deal. The hotel was full on Sunday night. As others have commented, the building is in need of substantial investment as are the grounds and the bone shaking but impressive driveway. The room was a good size and well appointed with a large bath in an adjoining turret. Bed not at comfortable. Breakfast was OK if a little disorganised but dinner was disappointing. The staff are helpful and friendly but could do with some basic training. The waiter who brought our wine didn't even remove the foil before drawing the cork and asked if we wanted fresh glasses when switching from white to red. Is that being picky? Don't think so, nobody had bothered to show him. So a mixed experience. Lovely setting and reasonable value but you're always expecting Basil Fawlty to stick his head round the door. It could be fantastic.

Room Tip: If on a special offer probably worth upgrading your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear David W,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent visit to Studley Castle.

Having read thoroughly your concerns, please accept my sincerest of apologies for the challenges that you faced during your visit and I can assure you that all the points you have raised have been shared with the respective managers and added to our training plan so that going forward, we ensure that similar events do not occur in the future.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion

Best Wishes
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a short stay there, the hotel is magnificent looking a bit tired here and there, the staff very pleasant.
The room we had we thought what a lovely room, on closer inspection the window had mould, the power was off and the bathroom radiator was not working, we duly reported faults to be told it would be passed on to maintainence how ever I do not think it was, so cold bathroom in morning.
So staff in that area was not helpful.
Good things there afternoon teas are to die for, beautiful cakes and the sandwiches were well presented it was a lovely tea.
The ceilings were a sight to behold every bit of decor was so tastefully done it was the best.
Would I go back yes but avoid ROOM 10

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Helen L,

Thank you very much for your comments and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. However, please be assured we will be taking appropriate actions to ensure that all of our clients and guests receive the level of service that they would expect whether it be for leisure of business.

Kind regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you want historic surroundings, peace and quiet, good food, attentive staff and great customer service (lost property received within a week!) then this is a value for money hotel worth going to for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisndjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear chrisndjak,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed on a Travelzoo deal which all things considered was great value. The castle itself is in need of some serious investment although there are signs of this but the location offers peace and quiet but as with the building it could be so much more.
Our room was dated and basic but clean and was a fair reflection of the price paid. The three course dinner was of a good standard and enjoyable. Shame about the wine list where only five of about thirty were in stock. Luckily the only red they had was well priced and very drinkable.
Breakfast could have been acceptable but one member of staff hadn't turned in so it was a rearguard action and guests were continually asking for cereal, plates etc. The staff did the best they could but were run off their feet.

Overall not bad value for money but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear ianboardman64,

We thank you for your feedback following your visit to Studley Castle and note that on this occasion we did not entirely meet your expectations.

The challenges you have referred to in your posting are noted and have been taken on board and where appropriate further training will be implemented or remedial actions will be taken. Please be assured that your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually and we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Best Wishes,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

saw the offer on travel zoo £128 2 nights, breakfast and evening meal.

Called up to get the offer due to our party has 2 small children

On arrival, they had a slight confusion as I booked directly through them rather than through travel zoo.
When I booked I told them I had 2 children, and would require a cot,
The room was small, with the cot inside there was no place to walk, it was late, and the kids were tired from a long journey.

Initially they mentioned the evening meal was at 930, they then changed it to 630 as we have small children. Which was nice?

The food was average, the dining room was very dark, I understand that the atmosphere was nice for some, but the dark room scared one of my children and made them uneasy.

The service was good, even when they made a mistake the error was rectified swiftly,

Beds were comfy, and would like to stay there again (make sure we have a bigger room next time) and when the weather is better so we can view the surroundings, it is in the middle of nowhere, but was a relaxing break

The breakfast on both days was nice.

There were workmen fixing the building, but they didn’t cause any issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zerowing182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Zerowing182 ,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My wife and myself booked 2 nights at the above, l night included an evening meal and two breakfasts. We arrived 6pm, very nice receptionist, went to our room, nice and tidy, we did pay extra to stay in the old part of the castle as we wanted to enjoy the atmosphere . We were told on arrival that the 1st sitting was fully booked and we could not eat until 8-30pm....no problem, went to the bar, is was not quite what we are used too, but quiet and pleasant just the same. Ordered 1 diet coke, 1 half of Grolsch and a double gin with 1 tonic.........£14-20. On a second visit to the bar, l questioned the first round and was told by the same bar person a mistake had been made, but as it was just £1-00, l let it go.
Went in for dinner, waited 30 mins for the crab cakes starter x2 then a further 30 minutes for the main. The 2 couples next to us were complaining of 1 meal missing and was so late, the lady just had soup and a dessert. Her husband was asking where the camera was, he said it was the worst place he had ever ate at. When our mains turned up, l can see why. I had roast pork which comprised of: 2 generous slices of pork, 2 nealy roasted potatoes, no veggies and no yorkshire puds. I assumed this was how they served roast dinners (naive perhaps) My wife had ordered chicken supreme, this came as two chunks of thick chicken and gravy on top, she could not eat the chicken served like that, l was so hungry as we had driven for 4 hours and not eaten since breakfast l eat it. It was shocking how poor the two meals were. The second night we took a 5 minute ride into Studley and eat at The Barley Mow. We had two well cooked meals and a round of drinks for less than our drinks at the castle. I have to say the breakfast was a little better, but not much. The Studley Castle is overpriced and we will not be going back.

Room Tip: If you want to pay the extra cost, the old part is nice, but l would not pay it again, Would sooner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evesy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear evesy45,

We thank you for your feedback following your visit to Studley Castle and note that on this occasion we did not entirely meet your expectations.

The challenges you have referred to in your posting are noted and have been taken on board and where appropriate further training will be implemented or remedial actions will be taken. Please be assured that your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually and we thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Best Wishes,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Studley
5.8 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,102 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
212 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: Hotel AND CONFERENCE Centre Castle Road, Studley B80 7AJ, England (Formerly De Vere)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Studley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Studley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studley Castle is a magnificent 57 bedroom grade II listed hotel that dates back to the 18th century. The hotel boasts a 28 ...acre estate, set in the heart of the beautiful Warwickshire countryside (near Stratford Upon Avon & Birmingham). The Oak Restaurant seats 80 people comfortably and plays host to a delicious lunch every Sunday. booking is essential. The Arrow bar has a wide variety of beers, spirits, wines, cocktails & speciality coffees. Studley Castle is an ideal environment for meetings, there's 11 fantastic conference rooms and lots of outdoor space for team building activities. If you are thinking of a perfect wedding venue, then we can make your day extra special from start to finish. Numbers are 90 guests for the ceremony & wedding breakfast, and up to 200 for your evening reception. Studley Castle also offers exclusive use, so you really can make the Castle your own. The dedicated and friendly staff at Studley Castle are always on hand to make your stay memorable, and will always go that extra mile to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Studley Castle Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Castle Hotel And Conference Centre Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing